We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a meal or a drink. ”
Review of 't Waterhuis

't Waterhuis
Ranked #31 of 452 Restaurants in Ostend
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed February 6, 2017 via mobile

t'Waterhuis is a fabulous brasserie that is always a joy to go to.
If you fancy a really tasty meal they offer a great menu which leans heavily to great seafood dishes as you would expect in Ostend and they also offer a fantastic beer menu on both draught and in bottles.
The brasserie itself is superb with a really nice interior with great furnishings and superb decor and plenty of seating options both inside and outside looking out across to the massive Ostend train station.
We were here on a freezing cold and foggy Monday January night and still this restaurant was packed,so much so that we could only get sears sitting at the bar but no matter as this place was roasting hot and very cosy indeed.
After a quick study of the beer's on offer my twin brother Stephen and I decided to go for their draught beer and opted for Filou Tripel Belgium ale and this strong beer was served in absolutely perfect condition and accompanied with a tasty bowl of crisps which were replenished as soon as the bowl was empty.
We just relaxed and warmed up and soaked up the great lively vibe in here.
The beer we had was absolutely delicious and if we weren't meeting friends we would have stayed here a lot longer but we reluctantly moved on after our beer's.
Very easy to locate on Vindickivelaan .
Opening hours are;
Monday to Sunday,10am till midnight.
A great brasserie and one I highly recommend you visit if your in the area.

Date of visit: January 2017
1  Thank 293neilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 374 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2017 via mobile

Brasserie t'Waterhuis is a superb Brasserie which is a few minutes walk from Ostends main train station.Brasserie t'Waterhuis is one of Ostends oldest Brasseries which is housed in a building that dates from 1632 and was the supplier of drinkable water to ships in the port.Since 1832 it has been an excellent bar with an excellent refurbished interior that has interesting features which are Maritime related.They have a fantastic all weather covered seating area were you can relax with a few drinks or a meal from there excellent food menu.We visited here after visiting Brasserie Maritime and went in here as it looked very inviting.We visited Brasserie t'Waterhuis in the Afternoon and this Brasserie was very busy'it was so full we could only get a seat at the main bar in here.When here we had a few glasses of a beer we haven't had before which is called Filou Tripel Belgium ale which was superb and well priced.Brasserie t'Waterhuis is an excellent Brasserie in a great location and is a Brasserie well worth visiting when you are in Ostend.Located on a street which is called Vindictivelaan.
Opening hours are.
Monday-Sunday-11.00-23.00.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2017 via mobile

A very nice place to have a good beer, some easy snacks or even a lunch or dinner. Can be a little crowdy but just because more people know this is the place to be. Just join and enjoy

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank oldpapaatje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2017

Ideal for dinner when you just want to have something not to complicated. Bu be aware you can not book the table ( First come first serve )

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Filippus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2016

Nice food, nice wine and beer, nice helpful and friendly staff. A nice place to watch the world go by.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank Les D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 't Waterhuis also viewed

Ostend, West Flanders Province
 
Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 
Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 

Been to 't Waterhuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing