We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, central hotel”
Review of New-Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
New-Astoria Hotel
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The rooms here seem to vary greatly. We were in room 212, which was very roomy with a good sized bathroom ( with shower over a bath). But the windows looked out onto an "internal" fire escape - fitted between our room and the next - which went up to the sixth floor so that very little daylight came into the room, and of course there was no view. We kept the curtains closed all the time, otherwise the room across the fire-escape could look into ours! As the fire escape went up to the sixth floor I assume that there will be 12 rooms in a similar situation. I did ask for a different room but was told that none were available - although two hours later we saw another coach party just arriving, so if we had known we may have made more fuss and been offered another room.
However, as we were out most of the day, and only there for 4 nights, we made the best of it! The food was good, both at breakfast and the evening meal. And the hotel is in a good position - the seafront just minutes away in one direction and the main shopping area is very close in another. Rooms do not have tea-making facilties but we took a travel kettle for morning tea. The driver said that we should not drink the water from the tap, so we went to the local Spar supermarket and bought large bottles - much cheaper than the hotel.
We were on a National Holidays tour to World War 1 Battlefields and the tour was very good. But there was not enough time to see all that the Ypres Cloth Hall museum offered - you could easily spend a whole afternoon there. If you have a free day you can get a train to Bruges - just 10 minutes away on a train that goes on to Antwerp.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
There are newer reviews for New-Astoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 366 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

Went with National Holidays, should have known what to expect.
Plus points...Hotel in good location, sheets and towels clean and it had BBC1. Free wifi..but
The hotel is Art Deco and has cracks in wall which let in damp. Our friends had a room that smelled so much of damp they had to buy an air freshened spray. The corridor on floor five stank of trench foot, we held our breath as we walked along the corridor. The bathroom was dated, old lino and cracked tiles, carpet had stains on it.
The food was barely adequate, eg two slices of beef, tinned mushy veg and always potatoes in one guise or another. Soup watery but always offered more. We were never offered more or alternatives for anything else. If it was not for the buffet salad we would have starved. Dessert ice cream, frozen profiteroles or tinned fruit with squirts cream. Food always served in glass bowls to help yourself and share with strangers on your fixed table. Breakfast was ok for continental, staff were friendly but only saw receptionist on day we arrived. This is really run on a shoestring
This hotel must only cater for coach parties.
I will never travel with NH again unless the hotel is a known chain or has good Tripadvisor reviews.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank d b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Second time at this hotel on a coach trip with Majestic. Coincidentally, we had the same room as last time (404) - a front facing room on 4th floor which was big enough for a short stay. All areas clean, especially dining room. Food adequate and the staff will always get you something else if you don't like what's on offer. All the staff are lovely and really helpful. Our holiday included accommodation, DB&B with free drinks (except spirits) on three nights. We were given a tour of the WWII cemeteries and some of the battlefields around Ypres and had an excellent, knowledgeable guide for this part of the trip. Enough time in Ypres for a meal and left after the last post. Also included, trip to Bruges and Ghent but if you don't want to go on all of the trips the hotel is right beside the main shopping street which leads down to the marina. Ostend has a beautiful beach and promenade - just go up the gentle slope opposite the hotel, or you can walk to the station and take a tram or even a train to Brussels for the day! A really good location. One thing I don't agree with, the hotel charges a supplement for a single room but as there is only enough room for a single bed I don't think this warrants it. Yes, there are minus points in the hotel but for the money they aren't worth mentioning - but just ask if you need anything sorted! We would go there again but would likely ring to ask for the same room the week before we travel.

Room Tip: Ask for room ending in 4-7 (we had 404 so presumably 304, 504 same size) as these are at the front a...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaureenW673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Nice and good location. Hotel not far from shopping area and beach. Rooms a bit small but clean except shower area was too difficult to take a shower. Breakfast and dinner not too bad. Should get 2 and a half stars for New-Astoria Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duangmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We went to Ostend and stayed at the New Astoria with National Holidays on a Great War getaeway. What we payed for the trip and what we got was more than acceptable . It was moving seeing the true extent of WW1 on the Somme and Ypres and been at the Last Post at the Menin Gate . We had guides on these trips who could tell you stories about their families from the war which made it special . This is the 4th time we have stayed at the New Astoria . We had a large room as there was 3 of us and more than enough wardrobe space . The bathroom was rather small but was acceptable . The toilet lid came off , we reported it and was sorted by the time we got back . Food is basic but edible and if you want seconds , you just ask .When we were there it was a bank holiday and there was a regatta type event on .. Fresh food stalls , music , Navy things and boat trips out .This hotel is central to the town and prom . We hired bikes and rode for miles along the prom, an enjoyable day . This hotel is basic but serves us well . We have booked to go for New Year and hope it as enjoyable as previous years .

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chriseasby2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Started 4 15 am on 12May for 5 days were still in Bristol at 9 25amDid at least 3 tours of the city by this time .Consequence of this we lost the Ferry. Arrived at hotel by approximately 8pm.Shatererd.The meal was then served up.Greasy new potatoe fritres with 2 slices of a pork medallion you nearly could read through with a gravy and carrots that had been reheated until they were practically inedible.The sweet was 1940 style tinned peaches with spray cream as topping.These culinary delights were served all week with a soup that could be described as watery as well .You had chips or spud with one veg every day..I have had better meals with army cooks who had to work in extreme conditions and served tasty food that you could taste. Do not travel with Majestic or go to this hotel

Room Tip: Take your own cat ,you might not touch the walls,They are small but the bed was ok..Many people fell...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Willliam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Just arrived back home from another great holiday at the New Astoria Hotel which i found very homely and friendly. The rooms although not very large are sufficient for sleeping in because we were out most days, the beds are very comfortable and spotlessly clean bedding. The towels in the bathroom are changed every day. The bar area is also very nice and welcoming and the bar staff are all very nice aswell. The hotel is in an ideal situation for the promenade and also the very large shopping area. This was my second stay at this hotel and i will probably be going again for the christmas markets. The food although basic is very nice and as others have stated you always get asked if you want second helpings of the soup and the meat course but i found having what was served to you was sufficient. Hope this review helps anyone looking for a reasonably priced hotel for a few days break.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ostend hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Astor Hotel
Royal Astor Hotel
#32 of 47 in Ostend
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassadeur
Ambassadeur
#33 of 47 in Ostend
23 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avenue Beach Hotel
Avenue Beach Hotel
#22 of 47 in Ostend
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Louisa
Hotel Louisa
#15 of 47 in Ostend
200 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Astrid Hotel
Royal Astrid Hotel
#11 of 47 in Ostend
985 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Oostende
Hotel Mercure Oostende
#6 of 47 in Ostend
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New-Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New-Astoria Hotel

Address: Van Iseghemlaan 38a, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Hotel Class:2 star — New-Astoria Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your New-Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Astoria Hotel
New Astoria Ostende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing