We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that bad”
Review of New-Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New-Astoria Hotel
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Reviewed August 5, 2011

I stayed for 4 nights and despite being charged a £50 supplement as a single traveller by Harry Shaw, I was put into what must have been the smallest single room in the hotel. Whether this was the fault of the hotel or Harry Shaw I don't know. I have to question what the extra £50 was for?? As I no doubt paid the most for my trip within the group, shouldn't I have been given a decent double room? The view from my room window on the second floor (508) was of four brick walls clad in scaffolding. It was so dark that that the light had to be on at all times of the day. Situated next to the lift shaft, I had the pleasure of listening to the mechanics of the lift whirring day & night. Yes, the towels were changed daily but the overall cleanliness of the room was poor with ages old dust on fittings and furniture. On a more positive note, the staff were friendly and helpful, the food basic but plentiful and the hotel certainly did not smell of cigarette smoke. By all means stay at this hotel for a budget break, just avoid room 508 like the plague!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuvBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
There are newer reviews for New-Astoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 366 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2011

Small Hotel, decent rooms, nicely furnished. I was there for a weekend trip to belgium and it was very pleasing in terms of being small yet quiet. Location is great with the sea on the otherside of the opposite row of bulidings. Breakfast buffet was very basic and was enough to cater to everyone's needs. The room however was towards the back of the building with a view of the fire escape. Very little natural light which is something I don't appreciate much but since it was a short trip and we were only in the room to sleep, it didn't matter much. Staff ranged from cheerful to the usual mundane people but all requests were attended to promptly.
Not my first choice to return to if visiting Ostend again. But not off the list either.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ankur2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed 2 nights. The room was basic but a good size & was clean. Have stayed in a lot worse. There were lots of previous comment about smell of smoke but Belgium now has a smoking ban so smoking is not allowed in the hotel. The food was basic but, again, we have had lots worse. In fact, in April, we stayed in a 4 star hotel in Fuengirola and their food was a lot worse than New Astoria Hotel. The hotel was in a good position for shopping, the front etc. The only complaint we had was that we had a bottle of wine with dinner each night. It was poured from a tap into a bottle and cost 15 euros a bottle. Drinks prices were generally very high although we did get free drinks (not spirits) between 8:30 & 9:30 pm.
Overall, we were quite satisfied

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ossettbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Like most people stayed here with national holidays for a 5 day break, the hotel is looking a bit tired but don't let this put you off. My room 507 was a single room and must say its the smallest room that i have ever stayed in,but it was clean,fresh towels every day,there was a small tv which had bbc1,2 and itv1 as well as a host of other stations. The bathroom was compact also, there was no bath,but a shower cubicle and there was always plenty of hot water,the room itself needed a new coat of paint plus the carpet was abit threadbare, but to be honest the room was only used for sleeping in, the only thing was there is no kettle in the room. The buffet stye breakfast is continental with the usual meats,cheese,bread etc plus cereals and as much tea and coffee as you want.The evening meal was ok with either a salad bar where you helped yourself or the set meal whitch was soup, meat with veg and potatoes plus a desert , i dont think the chef would win many awards for his cooking but it was'nt as bad as made out by some other reviews and there was always extra if you wanted any. The hotels location is fantastic you only have to cross the road and your on the large beach ( though there seems to be allot of construction work at the moment ) there are plenty of bars etc very close as are the shops ( nothing as cheap as the uk apart from cigarettes and tobacco) This hotel wont suit everybody but if like me you only use the hotel for sleeping in then its ok. Must say there didnt seem to be that many staff at this hotel but the ones i met were all very friendley,spoke good english and worked very hard indeed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oatesyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a short coach trip to Ostend and we stayed here for 6 nights. Contrary to what previoous reviewers wrote on here I have to say that the staff weren't rude though the hotel owner had what few staff there were doing everything! Granted , one of the bar/reception staff was a little gruff but he wasn't rude.There are two lifts here though one of them is minuscule and I managed to get stuck between floors on the three times I used it for several minutes!
Don't expect a choice of food here. If you can't defrost it or open a tin then it probably won't be served here. Some of the desserts were actually palatable and the soups were hilarious in that they looked the same each evening but were called different names... with a little seasoning they weren't too bad.
Most floors stunk of tobacco and we took our own air frehener with us though we scarcely had need of it because we asked for a high room which we got. We also asked for a twin room and we were very fortunate in that compared to our fellow travellers we had a large room with french doors and a balcony with a side sea view except we didn't venture onto the balcony because frankly it looked in a dangerous state of disrepair.
On a plus note this hotel is a two star and is centrally located to Ostend and not far from the railway station which provides easy access to the beautiful town of Bruges... so for those hungry travellers on a budget who don't expect 5 star treatment when paying for two star accommodation this place is better than a cardboard box on Langestraat!! After all " You pays for what you gets".

Room Tip: Ask for Room 605
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciaran32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

basic rooms but had clean towels every day food plentiful 2nd helping every night staff v friendly & helpful.For what we paid with the coach company with our trips on the whole good value

Room Tip: our 3rd floor room was big
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tilly0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

we stayed here for 4 nights with national coach holidays, the room was big and spacious the double bed was very comfy and the bedding spotlessly clean, towels where changed daily ,the bathroom also was large, plenty of hot water although we had no bathroom door just a curtain to pull across!!. Other members of our coach said they had a bathroom door but no head board !, we all had a good laugh exchanging opinions of our room facilities. the breakfast was good nice fresh breads cheese meats eggs & cereals. Evening meals where plentiful and although nothing fancy we had soup, a meat &veg follwed by a sweet, you where always offered seconds and it was hot & fresh . Staff where friendly & helpful. All told i would stay here again its nothing great but like i said cheap n cheerful.

Room Tip: all rooms seemed to have good n bad points
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackcatpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ostend hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Astor Hotel
Royal Astor Hotel
#32 of 47 in Ostend
436 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avenue Beach Hotel
Avenue Beach Hotel
#22 of 47 in Ostend
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassadeur
Ambassadeur
#33 of 47 in Ostend
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Louisa
Hotel Louisa
#15 of 47 in Ostend
200 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Astrid Hotel
Royal Astrid Hotel
#11 of 47 in Ostend
989 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Oostende
Hotel Mercure Oostende
#6 of 47 in Ostend
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New-Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New-Astoria Hotel

Address: Van Iseghemlaan 38a, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Hotel Class:2 star — New-Astoria Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your New-Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Astoria Hotel
New Astoria Ostende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing