We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Hotel !” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Serge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Serge
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor Hotel !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Very small room with a Mini Television !
First day had to make a complaint about our Icecold room : NO Heating ! After one icecold night the heating was installed !
Very poor breakfast !
Were promised a welcome drink and a bottle of Cava but NOTHING received !
First and definitely last stay in this hotel !
On the blacklist of OstendHotels !

Room Tip: prefer a room on the streetside !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joannes0473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    19
    18
    40
See reviews for
31
42
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Hotel is rubbish, and the idea the it projects on the website is nothing like the reality. The bar shown was never open. Very few rooms are ensuite, we were given a double and a single, the single was not ensuite, the loo was on the same floor, the shower 2 floors down, there was no bedside light or drawers. My double, which was ensuite, had no shelves or drawers, the 2 wardrobes were provided with 6 hangers on 2 rails 60cm from the bottom. The socket in the bathroom did not work, there was no socket near to a mirror to dry hair. The loo roll was stuck on a sticking out bit of pipe, out of reach when in situ! The shower hose was not attached to the wall, just to the taps. Wifi was erratic. Breakfast was disasppointing, nothing hot, except the croissants which were burnt most mornings. The coffe machine sometimes only had hot water in it. You had to ask for yoghurts some mornings. The lift was tiny and cramped, the stairs narrow and not well lit.

Room Tip: Probably any hotel chosen at random would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canonjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ostend hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here in March 2013. On arrival it was locked up - and when we phoned the number on the door, the manager turned up, gave us the keys and walked off. After that he would not answer the phone at all - or reply to text messages or voicemail. We needed advice on how to get in if we went out - because a sign on the door gave the impression it would be locked at 10pm. Hence, our evening out was ruined by having to return before 10 in order to be sure of getting in. Oh, and don't be fooled by the advertised cosy looking bar - it's never open!
The hotel is VERY basic - but in fairness it is clean and in good repair.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulandCarol2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke On Trent
Level Contributor
214 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel is located on a small side street near to the sea front and shops but there is no parking apart from onstreet, we dropped lucky but if not you may be searching for somewhere to park.

From the outside it didnt look great, when we got there at about 5pm we had to call a number to get the details of how to get our key as they only have check in staff available for a few hours during the day. We got our key from a safe box and headed to our room via the worlds smallest lift - no good if your claustrophobic and it didnt seem the safest thing either.

On leaving the lift the landing area outside our room smelled badly of cigarette smoke, our room was slightly better but it may be a problem to some people who are more sensitive or dont have stinking colds like we did!

The room was a good size and recently refurbished but apart from the window sill there was nowhere to put things like desk or dressing table. There was a small balcony which looked onto other apartments however the door did not close properly and as such there was quite a draft from it.

The bathroom was more than adequate although the shower was pretty much either scalding hot or freezing cold.

Breakfast in the morning was a basic selection of croissants, rolls and the usual meat and cheese with tea/coffee and juice.

Overall it wasnt a bad hotel but there was a lot that could be improved upon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blue_haddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoor
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is absolutely a hotel to avoid! Arrived there on the 29th March to find our rooms had been cancelled! Nobody was available to ask why? We managed to find another hotel eventually and every hotel we spoke to stated that rooms being cancelled was a regular problem with Hotel Serge. All the hotels stated that the Hotel Serge was 'bad' for Ostend. The following day we managed to contact someone at the hotel and the reasons for the cancellation kept changing. They did not seem capable of telling the truth at any time but were very quick to take the money. We have been promised a refund but will have to wait and see if they honour that promise. I doubt it therefore further action will be taken.

Room Tip: I wouldn't rate this hotel at all. It is to be avoided at all costs. I have only clicked on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterjmciver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Serge for 3 nights in March. Generally its alright but there were some things that weren't brilliant.
Firstly, the owner is great. Very friendly, accommodating and full of local knowledge. And the price was crazily cheap, less than £40 a night for 2 people b and b. Location wise its hard to beat, a few minutes walk from the town centre but quiet as its on a back street.

The owner is currently doing the hotel up but its not finished yet. The breakfast room is very nice and the bedrooms are being done too

We were given a double room on the top floor which was very large. It's been recently refurbished and is actually a pretty nice room. It had a little balcony on the side and a large bathroom off the entrance hall. There were plenty radiators and the room warmed up quickly.

Ok, so where does it go wrong? Firstly the hotel smelt very strongly of smoke all the time. I don't just mean a bit. We might as well have smoked in our room. I suspect the previous occupier did just that as the room stunk, including the bed and all our clothes have had to be washed upon return, even the clean ones, due to the smell. The bathroom also smelt pretty bad, like drains, for the while trip. We lit scented candles to try to overcome it but without much luck.

The shower was very old and we found that it was a hairline between cold and boiling hot, and it wasn't so powerful either. I was pleased we had taken all the toiletries required as none were provided at all.

Something else concerning was having to leave the key if you wanted the room cleaning. I know this used to be common practice but its just not safe anymore, plus there is no safe in the room. If you don't leave your key the room is not cleaned.

Breakfast is very simple fare indeed, literally just ham, cheese, yoghurt, tea and coffee and bread rolls. The croissants were badly burnt on all 3 mornings.

My main concern was the lift. It was one of the old old ones where the door 'does not travel with you' and it was tiny. As an adult I hate these as I've heard several horror stories about injuries suffered from them, but couldn't imagine taking a small child in one. Bare in mind the hotel the hotel has family rooms so people will do.

Would I go back? Yes - to Oostend, as its a lovely town with excellent restaurants, bars and shopping I would be unlikely to stay at the Serge unless the issues we had were rectified.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madison_Stargate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tremelo
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked the "5 person room" for our family (2 adults, 2 kids) and were surprised by the size of it (not a cramped room full of beds without any free space).
There was a full bed, a bunk bed end a pull-out sofabed available in the room.
The bathroom was small but had a tub with shower and a sink.
Since we didn't spend much time inside our room, this was the perfect price/accomodation.
The breakfast was good and at a very decent price (croissants, pistolets, cold meats, cheese, yoghurts, orange juice, cofee and tea).
The owner was a very friendly guy as well...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ostend hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Louisa
Hotel Louisa
#14 of 47 in Ostend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avenue Beach Hotel
Avenue Beach Hotel
#17 of 47 in Ostend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.3 mi away
New-Astoria Hotel
New-Astoria Hotel
#26 of 47 in Ostend
3.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Parisien
Hotel Le Parisien
#32 of 47 in Ostend
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#34 of 47 in Ostend
3.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leopold Hotel Ostend
Leopold Hotel Ostend
#9 of 47 in Ostend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Serge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Serge

Property: Hotel Serge
Address: Brusselstraat 15, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Serge 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Serge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing