We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-situated and with an efficient member of staff”
Review of Hotel Burlington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Burlington
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The ferry [terrible it was – full of smoking lorry drivers] from Ramsgate to Ostend was a good way to travel to Krefeld, Köln and Aachen and a useful stopping-off point on the way back before the morning sailing was the Hotel Burlington in Ostend. A good boutique hotel with potentially good views [but not from our room] and although we’d arrived back from Köln after midnight we were greeted warmly and efficiently. Our room was small and we had everything we needed late at night except for in-room tea or coffee making facilities. There was ample hot water for a shower, however, and the breakfast was excellent. The wide selection of food was beautifully presented and with, unbelievably, the same capable member of the hotel staff that had booked us in. Our disappointment is that the ferry company we used has now ceased trading so we are unlikely to use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the marina - if there is one - towards the Zeilschip Mercator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EximiousTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 233 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stopped here for two nights at the end of October, check in was efficient quick. The room we were given was on the third floor room no 31. The room was clean and pleasant overlooking the main shopping street and the hotel entrance. The bed was very comfortable and the room was nice and warm. Breakfast was good with nice coffee and lovely fresh breads along with a good selection of items. The only down side to the whole stay here was the noise at night from the street outside. Due to the temperature being around 20deg c we had to have the Window open slightly as we were that hot at night sleeping on top of the duvet was not enough. My other half did not find this a problem as she is a heavy sleeper but I was awoken several times due to shouting and the setting up of the market on the Saturday morning.

If you have a car you can park near the hotel on the side of the street but space is limited. I would recommend parking a short walk away near the hotel Melinda where there is plenty of free car parking.
In summary it's a nice small hotel that is very clean and serves a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

polite and friendly staff.room not ready but we were early, when we entered the room it was cold window left wide open and the radiators not turned on.Wife fancied a bath which took ages to fill with warm water NOT hot.Breakfast was from 7 till 11 went down at 10 all of the hot selection had gone coffee was weak and orange juice not fresh.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank easton37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 9 September for three nights. We were allocated a room at the very top of the hotel which was quite awkward to get to with our cases. The room was quite small and hard to move once the cases were inside, but the room itself was clean and pleasant. Tea and coffee making facilities would have been helpful. Breakfast was very good, with a lovely view out of the window. The hotel is in a very good location in regard to the train station and although on the edge of the 'CBD', it was easy walking around the town and to the waterfront.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandBTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I booked a twin bedded room here 3 weeks before arrival, but the hotel allocated us a double room and could not change rooms because they were full. The receptionist was unhelpful resolving the issue but did eventually find a fold-up bed for me to sleep on. I have since spoken to the manager by phone advising him I was about to leave a poor report and giving him the chance to make amends but he hung up on me saying 'I am so scared, goodbye'. If you have problems here, do not expect them to be resolved. The management and staff's attitude towards their customers is appalling!!

Room Tip: Why bother stating what you want - you get what is allocated to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Terryglos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vercaemst, Eigenaar at Hotel Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review and we're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately, the selection between a twin bedded and a double bed is a preference, a request and is never guaranteed. We always do our best to meet all requests, but it isn't always possible. The moment you've called me I was prepared to give a kind of compensation with your next stay, for example a free upgrade, but then you said : No I will never come back to your hotel, and if you do not compensate me financial I will leave a poor review. That, dear Sir, is blackmail and I cannot accept such an attitude.

Sincerely yours

Vercaemst Xavier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very clean and nice hotel. Located next to the port and close to the train station. Close to free parking. Good restaurant with an interesting view. Very tasty and hearty breakfast. Friendly staff. The rooms are newly renovated. The beds are comfortable.
The town itself is very pleasant to visit. Many fish restaurants. The beach, the sea and close to Brugge.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Usagimimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vercaemst, Eigenaar at Hotel Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear SIr;

Thank you for your positive review !! It's always a pleasure to here that you had a good stay with us.

We're looking forward welcoming you again in our Hotel.

Thank you,

Annelise, Inge & Xavier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and was very impressed. Roof top relaxation on supplied sun loungers. Rooms were immaculate and the bed was so comfortable. Shower was great and breakfast buffet was outstanding. Staff very helpful, especially when my girlfriend decided to leave a bag of souvenirs in a restaurant the staff rang though and helped recover it. Would highly recommend and would definitely stay again. Views are good and train station is around the corner in case you choose to travel out for the day

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 187AndyH187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ostend hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Oostende
Hotel Mercure Oostende
#6 of 47 in Ostend
428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andromeda Hotel
Andromeda Hotel
#3 of 47 in Ostend
491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bero
Hotel Bero
#1 of 47 in Ostend
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Astrid Hotel
Royal Astrid Hotel
#11 of 47 in Ostend
1,002 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avenue Beach Hotel
Avenue Beach Hotel
#24 of 47 in Ostend
132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leopold Hotel Ostend
Leopold Hotel Ostend
#12 of 47 in Ostend
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burlington

Address: Kapellestraat 90, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ostend
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ostend
Price Range: $87 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Burlington 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Ostende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing