We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Burlington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Burlington
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here for long weekend excellent location right near railway station and looking over the port,hotel very clean and tidy,room rooms newly furbished small but adequate so not a problem,breakfast excellent no dining facilities other than breakfast but tonnes of places to eat on door step ,staff welcoming and helpful only issues no smoking rooms which i agree with as a smoker but our floor reaked of cigarettes also very noisy hotel from midnight onwards room 19 which is above reception and first room you pass on stairs avoid it the noise is awful apart from that great place to stay

Room Tip: Not room 19
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairylove77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    88
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
29
95
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Hotel in nice location in Oostende: Close to shopping and right on waterfront.
Plus: Good breakfast, Internet connection and speed easy and good.
Minus: Rooms totally worn out: with things coming apart, dirty carpets and dirty looking bathroom floor, badly decorated.

I could tell that some of the rooms in the hotel might be renovated and better than the one I stayed in (61). With better rooms this hotel would deserve three stars. The kind of room I stayed in is not more than two stars and is very bad value.

Service was good: Speedy check-in and check-out and attentive at breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casperdenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We found this hotel very comfortable, however, lacked dining facilities (other than breakfast). Room was comfortable but we missed the tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The Burlington is right in the shopping mall precinct which is fine for shopping and lunches, but inconvenient at dinner time. Even the restaurant attached to the hotel (but not operated by the hotel) is not open for evening meals. Staff were very friendly and there was a great choice of options for breakfast. However, there was only one pillow supplied per person which was quite hard, so if you want a soft pillow - sorry!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayshirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

It's the third time I stayed here in this hotel, because it is so awesome!
The location is very good, at the beginning of a the most important shoppingstreet of Oostende. It's about 10 minutes walk to the beach (just walk out that shoppingstreet).

The staff is very friendly and the breakfast was a huge, delicious buffet. The hotel is very clean and bright.

My first visit was in the family room and that was the best of all stays. My other visits were in the smaller rooms. If you don't mind a very small room and no view, I'd definitely recommend the small, cheaper chambers.
If you want some more luxury these are to avoid.

There is an awesome roof top terrace, where you can relax on the couches. That is really recommended as well!!

Room Tip: My first visit was in the family room and that was the best of all stays. My other visits were in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amaryliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I love Burlington! We usually stay at one of the deluxe rooms. Lovely view, breakfast and staff. The view from the roof top is excellent!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eivor Mathilde R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel, and this time we decided to bring a friend and stay in the family room. Although the room was not quite what we expected in the form of the second bedroom, the other parts of the room were beautifully appointed and very comfortable.

Our friend is over 6ft, and so was a little amused to find himself sleeping in a bunk bed! However, he found it very comfortable, but maybe a bit awkward as he had to walk through our bedroom to reach the bathroom.

The staff are always friendly here, and can talk lots of languages. We love coming to Belgium because the people are always so helpful and courteous. However, after attending a local beer festival in Wenduine - we decided to find somewhere in the town to eat. We walked along the vast seafront and decided to try Rotonde restaurant.

Everything started well, until my partner received his moules frites. The mussels were over cooked and had shrunk to next to nothing. When he took them to the counter to complain, the young boy behind the bar invited him to talk to the chef in the kitchen.

The chef took exception to my partners complaint in an extreme fashion. In the UK, you would probably expect an apology and to be offered a replacement dish. Oh no! He verbally abused my partner and tried to run after him with a kitchen knife!!

The manageress came outside and demanded payment up front for our food! Two of us were happy with our meals, but she said that she didn't like us and so wanted HER money!

This made the two of us who were happy with our meals feel very uncomforable. She agreed to wait until we'd finished our meals - and proceeded to go to the next area to openly complain about us to other customers!

As soon as we had put our forks down, she appeared and demanded her money. Once she had it, she ordered us off her property - claiming that she had never had a complaint about mussels in the 20 years she had run the restaurant!

I would say, if you are British - AVOID this restaurant at all costs! And if you go there, woe betide you if you dare to complain if the food is not up to standards! I think the manageress needs to return to hospitality school (if she ever attended) and brush up on the art of customer service!

What made it worse was the fact that the chef told my partner that the bloody English don't know how to cook mussels properly - despite the fact that my partner used to be a chef himself and cooks them regularly for me at home!

Anyway, the hotel is fab - but avoid Rotonde restaurant in Wenduine!

Room Tip: Room 54 is amazing if you have a children and has a great view of the harbour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devondiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waasmunster, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We only stayed over for one night but it was a good choice. Close to the main shopping street. When you travel by car than you find free parking and free bike rental near at the Maria Hendrika Park If you come by train the station is only a few 100 meters. Room, bed or bathroom are comfortble and clean. very friendly staff. And the best thing was kept for the next morning : a perfect breakfast included eggs and bacon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ostend hotels
0.4 mi away
Andromeda Hotel
Andromeda Hotel
#2 of 47 in Ostend
405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Oostende
Hotel Mercure Oostende
#4 of 47 in Ostend
360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bero
Hotel Bero
#1 of 47 in Ostend
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Princess
Hotel Princess
#3 of 47 in Ostend
280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avenue Beach Hotel
Avenue Beach Hotel
#18 of 47 in Ostend
114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ostend Hotel
Ostend Hotel
#5 of 47 in Ostend
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burlington

Property: Hotel Burlington
Address: Kapellestraat 90, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ostend
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ostend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Burlington 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Ostende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing