We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Comfortable Hotel”
Review of Hotel Burlington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Burlington
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I stay here when on NATO business in Ostend. Hotel is clean, comfortable, with good WiFi and excellent breakfast. Staff speak good English and are very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinJane2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 233 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

Had been booked into a different hotel, but booking got changed before visit. So pleased it was changed. Hotel was in a great location, right at one end of the main shopping street. We had a room overlooking main street and harbour. Noise was minimal, although street cleaner does come along early in the morning. 10 mins stroll to the seafront and casino. Rooms were clean, not overly large but big enough for us and all our Christmas purchases. Didn't eat in hotel of an evening, but breakfast was plentiful. Hotel has it's own cafe bar attached and is ideally situated to sit and watch the world go by while enjoying a cup of delicious hot chocolate. Ostend was a lovely suprise. Be aware that there are building works going on along the sea wall, but this didn't stop us walking along there. 5 mins from train station and ferry terminal. Plenty of nice places to eat that won't break your budget. Bruges is within easy reach for a day out, also Lille is a very pretty town. Liked Ostend so much have been back again this year and we going again in December.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking main street or harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

My wife, baby and I stayed for two nights in one of the luxury (= refurbished) rooms.
We were happy to be able to check in early and the requested baby bed was already installed. The room was spacious enough and clean. However the refurbishment showed some flaws. I believe it is a pitty they used good quality materials for the refurbishment, but they were clearly not done by professionals.
Staff was very friendly and breakfast buffet was good!
I read a lot of remarks about the elevator and yes it is small, but it can easily fit 4 people. The baby bed was an extra 12,00 which I knew in advance, but most hotels offer this for free. It showed some stains, which could be expected, but since we paid for it, I found it disappointing.
Location was perfect for us. Right on the corner of the main shopping street and the marina.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WIH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Well located in adjacent to the main shopping street. The rooms have been upgraded and are smart and functional. The staff were friendly and the breakfast good. Parking near the hotel can be a problem especially on Thursday the local market day. Free wifi.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrscoml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

The hotel is situated 300 meters from the station, if you have heavy bags, taxi doesn't drive there, it's too close. But it is in the opposite direction from the sea. We stayed in a standard room, 4 floor. The room and bathroom were of a normal size. The furniture was old, the bathtub and toilet were extremely old with untidy bathroom curtain. Hot water ran surprisingly very slowly. The wardrobe was smelly, we didn't risk to put our clothes in it. We were lucky with hot weather. It was 33 degrees outside. The room was very hot and there was no conditioner. Windows face closely located opposite building (in case you open windows wide). Burlington restaurant was pretty loud, woke us up early in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irenedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

Went to the Burlington for a weekend break.Two couples check in was easy the lift to the rooms was very small but we all got in the rooms were right outside the lift no long corridor the room was very clean ,warm and comfy with a decent sized en suite with a bath with shower over.The water was always hot when we needed it.The twin beds were adequate for a short stay as was the room.The only thing missing was tea making equipment which really ought to be rectified even if the price has to rise slightly to offset the cost of setting it up in the rooms. We came in on the Saturday night and the cafe/bar downstairs was closed this is not good when you need a nightcap.The breakfast was very nice better than we expected with cheerful staff making sure you had what you need.There was loads of choice to suit everybody unless you must have full English and all in the price of the room. All in all a good Hotel we would definitely use again for a short stay.Although if we were going for a week we would look for more luxuries.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilsonmonkey-spanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

As part of a group of 20+ people we recently stayed at the Hotel Burlington in Ostend. Our coach is normally greeted by one of the hotel staff where we stay but this did not happen at this hotel. Our group organiser sorted the rooms and the VERY SMALL lift made it a long job to take yourselves and your luggage up to the rooms (NO PORTERAGE AVAILABLE). The rooms vary in size and amenities and people who asked especially for twin rooms were given double rooms and as the hotel was full no other rooms were available until the following day. The temperature in Ostend varied from 20C on the first day to 12C on the last day but the rooms were uncomfortably HOT, the window couldn`t be left open during the night as the binmen make very early collections in the morning. The breakfast is OK with a reasonable amount of choice (the small pieces of madeira cake are especially nice). The evening meal was too expensive at £23.50 but beware of the prices at the restaurants in the main square, we paid nearly 40 euros for 2 omelettes and 3 drinks, a large beer was well overpriced at 6 euros. Ostend is a place for touring the battlefields and the cities in Belgium as the tram and the train stations are very near to the hotel and the fares are very reasonable in a very expensive country.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Europeexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ostend hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Oostende
Hotel Mercure Oostende
#6 of 47 in Ostend
428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andromeda Hotel
Andromeda Hotel
#3 of 47 in Ostend
491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bero
Hotel Bero
#1 of 47 in Ostend
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Astrid Hotel
Royal Astrid Hotel
#11 of 47 in Ostend
1,000 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avenue Beach Hotel
Avenue Beach Hotel
#24 of 47 in Ostend
132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leopold Hotel Ostend
Leopold Hotel Ostend
#12 of 47 in Ostend
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burlington

Address: Kapellestraat 90, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ostend
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ostend
Price Range: $87 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Burlington 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Ostende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing