We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall!”
Review of Hotel Burlington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Burlington
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good overall!”
Reviewed May 14, 2011

My wife, baby and I stayed for two nights in one of the luxury (= refurbished) rooms.
We were happy to be able to check in early and the requested baby bed was already installed. The room was spacious enough and clean. However the refurbishment showed some flaws. I believe it is a pitty they used good quality materials for the refurbishment, but they were clearly not done by professionals.
Staff was very friendly and breakfast buffet was good!
I read a lot of remarks about the elevator and yes it is small, but it can easily fit 4 people. The baby bed was an extra 12,00 which I knew in advance, but most hotels offer this for free. It showed some stains, which could be expected, but since we paid for it, I found it disappointing.
Location was perfect for us. Right on the corner of the main shopping street and the marina.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WIH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    97
    26
    9
    7
See reviews for
37
109
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walmer, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Well located in adjacent to the main shopping street. The rooms have been upgraded and are smart and functional. The staff were friendly and the breakfast good. Parking near the hotel can be a problem especially on Thursday the local market day. Free wifi.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrscoml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

The hotel is situated 300 meters from the station, if you have heavy bags, taxi doesn't drive there, it's too close. But it is in the opposite direction from the sea. We stayed in a standard room, 4 floor. The room and bathroom were of a normal size. The furniture was old, the bathtub and toilet were extremely old with untidy bathroom curtain. Hot water ran surprisingly very slowly. The wardrobe was smelly, we didn't risk to put our clothes in it. We were lucky with hot weather. It was 33 degrees outside. The room was very hot and there was no conditioner. Windows face closely located opposite building (in case you open windows wide). Burlington restaurant was pretty loud, woke us up early in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irenedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilson
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2009

Went to the Burlington for a weekend break.Two couples check in was easy the lift to the rooms was very small but we all got in the rooms were right outside the lift no long corridor the room was very clean ,warm and comfy with a decent sized en suite with a bath with shower over.The water was always hot when we needed it.The twin beds were adequate for a short stay as was the room.The only thing missing was tea making equipment which really ought to be rectified even if the price has to rise slightly to offset the cost of setting it up in the rooms. We came in on the Saturday night and the cafe/bar downstairs was closed this is not good when you need a nightcap.The breakfast was very nice better than we expected with cheerful staff making sure you had what you need.There was loads of choice to suit everybody unless you must have full English and all in the price of the room. All in all a good Hotel we would definitely use again for a short stay.Although if we were going for a week we would look for more luxuries.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilsonmonkey-spanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Lancashire, Great Britain
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2009

As part of a group of 20+ people we recently stayed at the Hotel Burlington in Ostend. Our coach is normally greeted by one of the hotel staff where we stay but this did not happen at this hotel. Our group organiser sorted the rooms and the VERY SMALL lift made it a long job to take yourselves and your luggage up to the rooms (NO PORTERAGE AVAILABLE). The rooms vary in size and amenities and people who asked especially for twin rooms were given double rooms and as the hotel was full no other rooms were available until the following day. The temperature in Ostend varied from 20C on the first day to 12C on the last day but the rooms were uncomfortably HOT, the window couldn`t be left open during the night as the binmen make very early collections in the morning. The breakfast is OK with a reasonable amount of choice (the small pieces of madeira cake are especially nice). The evening meal was too expensive at £23.50 but beware of the prices at the restaurants in the main square, we paid nearly 40 euros for 2 omelettes and 3 drinks, a large beer was well overpriced at 6 euros. Ostend is a place for touring the battlefields and the cities in Belgium as the tram and the train stations are very near to the hotel and the fares are very reasonable in a very expensive country.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Europeexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2009

After much searching on websites for good quality hotels in Ostend we picked this one. We only stayed one night as a stopover on a trip to Germany. Normally I like to find a four or five star hotel and one that has either some history, well located or one of the best in the town, but the two that fitted this brief in Ostend had mixed reviews so I searched for others. We wanted to be near the harbour and restaurants and wanted to make sure that the cleanliness and quality of the rooms would be good. The Burlington Hotel was an excellent choice - we booked a junior suite at 110 euros - room 26 with a corner aspect. Although not large and not really a suite the location - double aspect window views of the harbour - was more beneficial. The room and hotel was very clean, and for the 3 star rating very good. There was a buffet breakfast which was enjoyable and this choice of hotel was great for our needs. Located on the corner of the main shopping street and the harbour it is well located for strolling around the town and nearby to the restaurants on the harbour side.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexmichaelbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2009

Hotel Burlington is located at the beginning of the biggest shopping street of Ostende. Distance to the railwaystation: 4 minute walk. Distance to the sea: 10 minutes. Distance to the casino 15 minutes.
The breakfast at this hotel consists of a very good buffet. (Pistolets, sandwiches, croissants, eggs, orange juice, fresh fruit, etc..) The restaurantarea is very modern and cosy.
The staff at the reception is very friendly.
The only negative point: the elevator is very small and makes lots of noise if you're room is located near it.
Our room was located on the 10th floor. It was an old appartment that was a little bit redecorated into a suite. We had a sitting room, a big bedroom, a bathroom and lots of storing space. The furniture in the bedroom was not so modern, but the fact that we received a suite while we didn't even order one, made up for that. The view was very impressive. (We had an overview over the port of Oostende.)
Moreover there is a sun-terrace on the 10th floor as well, which is very nice if the weather's fine.
Great hotel for a short stay at the Belgian coast.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerintheu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ostend hotels
0.4 mi away
Andromeda Hotel
Andromeda Hotel
#3 of 47 in Ostend
450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Oostende
Hotel Mercure Oostende
#5 of 47 in Ostend
400 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Astrid Hotel
Royal Astrid Hotel
#9 of 47 in Ostend
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Leopold Hotel Ostend
Leopold Hotel Ostend
#12 of 47 in Ostend
189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bero
Hotel Bero
#1 of 47 in Ostend
573 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avenue Beach Hotel
Avenue Beach Hotel
#18 of 47 in Ostend
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burlington

Property: Hotel Burlington
Address: Kapellestraat 90, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Ostend
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ostend
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ostend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Burlington 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Ostende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing