We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five excellent days although very cold outside”
Review of Royal Astor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Astor Hotel
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Five excellent days although very cold outside”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just returned from a five day break with National Holidays. Our room was spotlessly clean and quiet. We were on the second floor which was well served by two lifts.The food was very good although there might have been a little more choice. The hotel is a mere twenty five metres from the lovely promenade and easy walking distance from the many shops,resturaunts and cafe`s in the town. I think the hotel has recently undergone refurbishment. The dining room was well layed out and spotless at all times. The bar (overlooking the indoor pool) was well stocked and well served. We particularly enjoyed the background music played during the early evening. We can`t comment on the evening entertainment, we were always too tired to stay up. Far too much to see and do in Ostend over four days to stay up late at night.
Thoughly enjoyed

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonP719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    160
    117
    45
    46
See reviews for
83
198
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Hull
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We went as a party with National Holidays and you tend to pay for what you get and I was not dissapointed. The Royal Astor Hotel is nicely positioned with the town close to the centre and next to the very large seafront, free from traffic and in summer I bet is thronging with people using the vast and clean beaches. This was early April and the north wind was extra chilly good job the hotels heating was a working well.

The hotel was clean and the rooms large enough, there where two good 8 person lifts that served the seven floors. The evening meal was served at 18:30 prompt and it was either soup or salad, a main course with vegetables and a sweet all served. We where ok with the both the portions and the meals, but I do think that the one choice or salad was right for some people. Breakfast was the continental style self service with the old favourites of ham, salami, chicken , cheese, boiled eggs, bread and toast. The breakfast times where a bit more flexible of 07:00 - 10:00 which is a bonus of you have over indulged in the drinks package.
We will go again and venture a lot more into the first world war sites which are close by and well worth a visit.

Ostend is littered with loads of themed pubs and restaurants all with local beers of a high quality, the Belgians have done well in sustaining there traditional and varied brewing heritage.

Shame we have not



We went on the super deal package which does not include the drinks package and the drinks package does not include spirits anymore.

The hotel is ok overall and the staff where overall helpful and polite

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

just got home after a fab 5 days in ostend and the royal astor very nice hotel! staff good and rooms very clean, b/fast was fine, evening meal was very good but not much choice, soup or salad, only 1 main and 2 afters, only problem was u have to eat at 6 30 sharp so if u go out for the day u r rushing around, overall a good place to stay

Room Tip: rooms on the front or side looked better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ali m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Oostende is a fabulous place to spend a weekend with a lovely seafront, great harbour with plenty of boats to dream on. Wonderful beach and plenty for the children. There are also many many restaurants, cafes, bars to suit all tastes and some great shopping on the doorstep.
The hotel location makes a great base, not only for exploring Oostende but travelling further afield to maybe Ghent, Ypres, Brugge etc.
Yes the hotel could do with a bit of a revamp but there's nothing terrible about staying there and I would certainly use it again. The evening meal was on the plain side but you can always eat out with the abundance of numerous restaurants. Breakfast was good including bacon, eggs, cooked meats, cheese etc etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steveharris616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candolim
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had a long weekend at this hotel. Happy to say it was clean and comfatable. the evening meals were "plain fare" but hot and tasty. Breakfast continental but enough to carry you through until lunch time.Plenty to do around the city. Go and enjoy yourselves like we did.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeds2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Nice location close to the beach and the center of oostende.
Swimming pool needs a good refresh and new furniture , but still a good + for the hotel.
Like most hotels the taps an WC leak , need to bee look at.
Price quality is still good.

Room Tip: Check the pluming before you install your self.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walrus05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just had a weekend at the Royal Astor, and it was clean comfortable and overall very good value for money. Breakfasts were ok and beer in the bar was ok as well
certainly better than the New Astoria where we normally stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ostend hotels
0.1 mi away
New-Astoria Hotel
New-Astoria Hotel
#29 of 47 in Ostend
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bero
Hotel Bero
#1 of 47 in Ostend
573 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Astrid Hotel
Royal Astrid Hotel
#9 of 47 in Ostend
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Andromeda Hotel
Andromeda Hotel
#3 of 47 in Ostend
450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leopold Hotel Ostend
Leopold Hotel Ostend
#12 of 47 in Ostend
189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avenue Beach Hotel
Avenue Beach Hotel
#18 of 47 in Ostend
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Astor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Astor Hotel

Property: Royal Astor Hotel
Address: Hertstraat 15, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Astor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel 300 metres from the center of Oostende, 50 meters from the town’s sandy beach and one block from the casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Astor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Astor Ostende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing