We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Enjoyable .. Could have more guidance

Some classics in their exhibition and special exhibition on display. Some interesting pieces. Teens... read more

Reviewed August 21, 2018
yvesvd
,
Zwalm, Belgium
via mobile
A good place to spend a Sunday afternoon

I will warn you that the building does not have a giant sign with its name. You have to know... read more

Reviewed August 13, 2018
Kathy K
,
Oviedo, Florida
Read all 196 reviews
  
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveler rating
10
13
4
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
13
4
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews permanent collection belgian art special exhibition on display wing paintings century james housed visitors shop exhibits sea
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 31 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2018 via mobile

Some classics in their exhibition and special exhibition on display. Some interesting pieces. Teens struggled Some times to find a bit of guidance

Thank yvesvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018

The old supermarket (co-op) has been repurposed as a top quality modern art museum. The architecture and the exhibits combine to offer the visitor a memorable excursion. The selection of art works spans a century of Belgian art. On our visit, there were few other visitors, giving us a wonderful, quiet and free-roaming experience. The museum also has the obligatory shop selling lots of art books and other souvenirs.

Thank LaurenceFromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018

I will warn you that the building does not have a giant sign with its name. You have to know exactly where it is and recognize it from pictures. It is only when you get up to the door that you see the name.
Both the ticket seller and the shop clerk speak English. You cannot take photographs. So, put your bags in a locker and roam around. There is a bit of a guide to the museum in English, but expect most labels to be in Flemish or Dutch.
The museum is not well air-conditioned and the upper floor was quite warm on a summer afternoon. There are floors marked 2 and 2a and 2b and they are not all connected to each other, so follow your map.
There were some very good temporary exhibits when I was there. They had papers or signs in English. From the permanent collection, there was a good representation of Ensor and Spilliaert. I really enjoyed a special exhibition on the Belgian animation filmmaker Servais.

Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2018 via mobile

Many nice pieces of Ensor, not only his famous masks but all periods, in this museum.
You should not miss it if you spend a weekend in Oostende.

Thank LeMorse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017

Go and see this exhibition in Mu.zee where the chief point of the
-THE RAFT- venues..

Also other locations in Ostend show ( contemporary) art relating The Raft.
A good chance to see important and interesting points of view in this city upon the sea .

Thank 984joka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017

The museum supposedly holds a great collection of Belgian art of the late 19th early 20th century, however, very little of that is on display. There is a wing specific to Ensor and Spillaert, but a lot of the works by Ensor are atypical and certainly not his better work. The Spillaert collection is better in that respect, but not very large. The rest of the permanent collection can be quickly walked through. However, the museum does have some good exhibitions, so have a look at that before going.

Thank Katrien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2017

Muzee is in a dingy neighborhood of Ostend, housed in a former department store (huge) from the thirties. We visited on a sunday afternoon and it was practically empty. It was very difficult to find our way to the nice Belgian paintings we knew they have, and when we found them there were very few on show. Muzee puts a heavy emphasis on contemporary art. There are some really interesting paintings by Leon Spilliaert, and they are the reason I didn't totally think our visit was a waste of time.

Thank Ida737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2016

When we went there was an exhibition of modern art, but the museum also has its permanent collection, with legendary Belgian painters such as James Ensor (of whom I recently saw a painting at the Getty in L.A.:)). There's a little bit for everyone.

Thank Stefaan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2016

When you are found of Ensor or Spiliaert or if you want to have an impression about modern Belgian art, this is the place to be.
Impresionism, expresionism and even surrealism are part of the museum collections and above that, there are regularly interesting exhibitions.

Thank walterdelarbre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2016

I can only recommend this museum if you care about Ensor or Spillaert which they did well to represent both those two great painters. Besides this not much point and especially at 9 EUR entrance fee, this is quite steep. It also feels this museum is a bit out of touch with other museums in the world or that it hasn't move on with its time. Overall quite depressing and very much dated.

Thank avLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews