We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding restaurant”
Review of Lusitania

Lusitania
Ranked #15 of 448 Restaurants in Ostend
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $79
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed October 17, 2018 via mobile

I am a third generation in the family to visit this outstanding restaurant in Ostend, on the wharf. Service is excellent, fish is fresh, prices reasonable. Reserve one of the three tables along the window long in advance. Dover sole is a classic as is the Ostend bouillabaisse.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 469 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2018

Service was very good
Seating a bit hard, old fashioned, tables close to each other
classic fish orientated restaurant, where the menu s offering excellent value for money.
Food is fresh and plenty
tastes are not exceptionnal, bit more balanced seasoning needed maybe
but overall where can you eat for 28 euro an amuse, shrimp crockets, a fresh sole and a dessert.
reservations needed though

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WingWingOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2018

Ostend was a big disappointment. It was grey and overcast, in spite of excellent weather on the days either side. My memories of Ostend had been based on earlier times. To make it up to my husband and to make the journey worthwhile we decided to stay for lunch. We found the Lusitania. Small number of covers, perhaps 30, lovely welcoming atmosphere and friendly trilingual staff - Flemish, French, and English. The wine list was excellent, and the food was stunning. Tasty, well prepared and very reasonably priced. We intend to revisit as we were both blown away by the standard of food, ambiance, and the lovely staff. Keep it up!

Date of visit: June 2018
2  Thank gillworrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2018

We made a reservation for dinner in this restaurant named after the big ocean steamer that was sunk by a German submarine during the first world war. The interior is nicely decorated with some marine touches and an aquarium. The reception and service are very good and professional. Waiters are attentive. The menu focuses mostly on seafood but alternatives are available. I had oysters for starter. They were of an excellent quality. It was followed by a grilled turbot. A very nice Irish coffee concluded the meal. Overall a good experience.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Maurits V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2018 via mobile

Lovely place, very friendly attentive staff.
No English menu but staff were more than happy to help .
Seafood was fresh and well prepared.
Sides were ok.

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank Creag D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lusitania also viewed

Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 
Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 
Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Lusitania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing