We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveler rating
51
64
17
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
51
64
17
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 133 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2017

I stayed here one night, as I have stayed here in the past. The staff are friendly and helpful. My room (a single) had a large single bed, TV, wardrobe with safe and bathroom with a shower over the bath, Free bottled water is available in the room. I had a comfortable night's sleep - I was on the top floor.

Breakfast was an extensive buffet with hot and cold offerings.

I would stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EU4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaetjeA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel du Bassin, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2017

Dear Guest, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I'm glad to read that you had a lovely experience with us. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2017

Every year we visit Ostend in February, combining sight- seeing with a good meal As hotel we always book Le Bassin and this year too we realized who good it is. Nice, well- kept rooms, quiet, although near the port of Ostend and a very good breakfast. What else do you want?

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudi91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaetjeA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel du Bassin, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2017

Thank you so much, Rudi, for your lovely words. We are glad to hear you enjoy staying with us yearly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2016

I stayed here for one night, i have stayed in Ostend many tmes but never this side of the town, the hote is situated right near the port entrance and the train and bus stations which are both great when travelling around.

The hotel room was on the small side but on a city break i dont ever plan on soending much time in the room anyway. The room was on the front and even with the traffic going past you couldnt hear when the window was closed. The bed was spacious and very comfortable the only thing i would change would be the pillow for better quality ones. The room had a decent bathroom the only downside to that was the shutter door connecting to the main room.

Check in/out was quick and very helpful in regards to local information, they have 24 hour reception so that no one can just walk into the hotel too. The breakfast was tasty with a good choice. There is also a lovely restaurant attached to the hotel unfortunately we didnt get chance to eat there and it smelt amazing.

Well worth a stay in this hotel when visiting Ostend.....

Room tip: If you have sensative hearing ask for a rear facing room.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moses1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaetjeA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel du Bassin, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2016

Dear Moses1985, thank you so much for taking the time to write a detailed review about your stay at Hotel du Bassin. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed it. Thank you, also, for your remarks. I do hope you'll stay with us again when you're next in Ostend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights. Staff were very friendly. Nice location just opposite train station. Rooms were nice and clean. Breakfast was good.Ate in the restaurant on last night .Food was very good. Caught train into Bruges 15 minutes away .only 11 euros for return for 2.Hotel has discounted car parking opposite. Would recommend and will stay again.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bustercaerphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaetjeA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel du Bassin, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel and our restaurant. Your feedback is extremely important to us, as we strive to offer excellent service to our guests.
It’s great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do indeed hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Fantastic rooms on the seafront almost. Easily accessible car park. We had a lovely dinner and the following day had a fantastic breakfast. A great hotel with very friendly staff. There are many restraints nearby if you fancy eating out but the food at the hotel was fantastic.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Punchingjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaetjeA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel du Bassin, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel and restaurant. Your feedback is extremely important to us, as we strive to offer excellent service to our guests.
It’s great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews