We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good small hotel”
Review of Hotel Prado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Prado
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A really good small hotel”
Reviewed October 28, 2008

The first thing that strikes you about the Prado is the high standard of cleanliness, match this with a friendly staff and good size modern rooms all at a reasonable price and you cant go wrong.
The hotel is located near the seafront and casino and is also close to a large selection of restaurants.
There is no evening catering at the Prado but there is a bar on the first floor which unfortunately does not open until 08.30. The breakfast however is excellent with cooked items and cold meats, yogurts, cereals and juices with the addition of champagne on a Sunday.
Our room was on the seventh floor overlooking the small park. The room was well equipped containing a fridge along with television including English channels. No tea or coffee making facilities are available. The beds are comfortable and covered with good quality bed linen and pillows. The room is double glazed which keeps out the majority of noise from the occasional drunk at midnight and traffic. As a light sleeper I had little trouble with disturbance.
The bathrooms are large and extremely well fitted however the shower is a bit of a weak affair.
Well done Prado, I will come again

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    75
    16
    6
    8
See reviews for
35
88
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
145 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2008

We've always liked the Prado but the changes made by the new owners have improved it even more.
The reception area & breakfast room are updated but the best part is the stylish new first floor bar looking out over the square.
The rooms are ok and bathrooms are good. If you are driving to Ostend arrange parking through the hotel, which is half the price in the local car park than if you turn up & pay.
It's only 5 mins walk from the beach & shops so it's in a great location.
There's a lot of small hotels in Ostend but we would be surprised if many are better.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank SUPERNELLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire , Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2007

We were let down by another hotel in Oostende who told us when we arrived to check in that they had no booking for us and the hotel was full. We had used their own central booking service who confirmed that they had taken a booking. The hotel organised another hotel, Prado Hotel, next door to them.
We were angry and disappointed and so we were quite critical. However we had a lovely welcome, the room was clean, the bathroom was exceptionally clean. Disappointed that there was no tea and coffee facilities in room but the breakfast made up for that and including hot food. All the staff were helpful.
Good value too.

  • Liked — Very clean, easy to park outside
  • Disliked — No tea or coffee facilities in room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Towniegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southend on sea
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2007

we stayed at the prado from 22nd march to 26th march the hotel is spotlessly clean bathrooms as good as most four star hotels.The owners were on site and very welcoming .The breakfast selection is great and a complimentary glass of champagne on sunday with breakfast is a lovely touch we had a front facing room overlooking a square with taxis trams and buses right outsideThe hotel is a two minute walk to the seafront and main shopping areas.For the price this hotel is a steal especially to be looked after by the wonderful staff and owners they even opened the breakfast room half hour early for us on our final day because we had an early eurostar train

  • Liked — the bathroom
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank breakawayboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 3, 2006

Very welcoming and clean hotel. Spacious, modern and warm bathroom and bedroom, comfortable beds.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ostend hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mercure Oostende
Hotel Mercure Oostende
#5 of 47 in Ostend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bero
Hotel Bero
#1 of 47 in Ostend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andromeda Hotel
Andromeda Hotel
#2 of 47 in Ostend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Leopold Hotel Ostend
Leopold Hotel Ostend
#11 of 47 in Ostend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avenue Beach Hotel
Avenue Beach Hotel
#18 of 47 in Ostend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Princess
Hotel Princess
#3 of 47 in Ostend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prado

Property: Hotel Prado
Address: Leopold II-laan 22, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Prado 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Prado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prado Hotel Ostende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing