We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Central Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Andromeda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Andromeda Hotel
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good Central Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Excellent position on the beachfront and right in the town centre, and for me even better in that the entrance is about 20 metres away from the stage door of the Kursaal Theatre where I was working.

The building wouldn’t win any prizes for architecture – it is a great slab like concrete monolith probably built in the 1970s … and getting decidedly shabby.

I booked a sea facing room – describe as a ‘junior suite’ but it was a large room rather than what I would describe as a ‘suite’. It was on the 8th floor, and the décor and furnishings are a bit like the building – tired and lacking style or finesse.

Aside from that, the room yielded plenty of space and was nice and light, with floor to celling windows and sliding doors out onto a balcony – which I didn’t take advantage of as the wind was blowing a Force 9 gale for both days!

I soon spread myself out all over the place and felt quite at home. I didn’t work at the desk area which was facing the wall, instead I worked on the circular table at the end of the room as I could look straight out onto the beach. Seagulls kept air-surfing on the thermal currents just centimetres away from the balcony and kept glancing sideways right into the room … which amused me for a while.

Although basic, the room was clean. It had a small fridge (empty) but the temperature was just perfect for cooling water, Red Bulls, etc.

The bathroom was Ok as well – a bath tub and a shower and enough space for everything including stretching

I had to go down to reception and manually log on to connect my main laptop to the WIFI for the first time, but once on, it stayed that way. Although the signal in my room was not the strongest, they must’ve had a super-fat pipe because there was plenty of bandwidth, and the speed for photo uploads was blisteringly fast!

Staff were friendly in the restaurant and bar on the ground floor, although a little stiff at first but they soon chilled out! The first night I went downstairs for a drink at the bar which was potentially quite nice but it really lacked any atmosphere. The second day I had lunch in the restaurant – the food was very tasty!

The parking just next door was also convenient.

I really enjoyed the view, but I would not have wanted to stay there any longer than the two nights, and I didn’t think my room was quite up to the 186 Euros a night price tag. I would stay there again if working at the Kursaal, but there are some other central Oostende hotel options that I would also look at next time I am there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    156
    63
    21
    14
See reviews for
88
196
19
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
96 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Great location, stunning view from the balcony. The room was very big and so the beds, very nice. Overall we had a nice stay, but the room was smelling badly like someone had been smoking a million cigars in the room. It was not nice!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

After the busy city of Paris, it was refreshing to head for the coast to the little town of Oostende, where chocolate, the Green Party, and Lingerie rule supreme. My room, facing the long white sand beach, had a huge rotating window for ocean air to enter. The pounding Channel Sea (North Sea) continually churned the air off the coast into a fine mist. I saw all moods of the hotel from a busy Easter Weekend to a rainy weekday. The outdoor patio dining area was not the only one along the beach. The town is quaint with many boutiques and a town square for music. The hotel has all services and the concierge always made sure guests were happy. If you love a beach and shopping visit this modern (currently 4-star hotel). Shopkeepers honour the mid-day break so shop early or later in the afternoon to avoid the 11:00 shutdown. Room Service is memorable with silver service and excellent cafe latte. Evening gives way to clubs within the town. Just a short hop to Calais and to the hovercraft to England.

Room Tip: Ocean view is key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fireflyBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldegem, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were in this hotel for a seminar with my work. Great place for a seminar with view (from our seminar-room) @ the sea. The view would even greater if the windows would be cleaned more often. Rooms were ok ... All the comfort I needed was present. One major disappointment !!! There was a bar/fridge in my room but it was empty !!! No soda during the night !?! strange ...
Breakfast was good but I regret that bread, croissants are situated at the other side of the restaurant and not at the buffet.
Like in lots of hotels orange-juice is more water than juice !!
Lunch was fine as well. A (big) cold plate together with vegetables and french fries. Tasty and more than enough !!!
Little disappointment in the bar. Great place but The waiter was not in his best mood and showed it very clear.
He had to get our drinks in another room and was not happy with that. Strange ...
Conclusion : all by all a positive evaluation and (at the correct price) a hotel were I would go back for f.e. a (romantic) weekend ....

Room Tip: As room with sea-view (more expensive ofcourse)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rik0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed a couple of days at the Andromeda. The room was ok (no sea-view, though). The place is not cheap and what unfortunately really stood out was the complete lack of service.

I have never stayed in a 4 star ("Hotel & Thalassa"), where upon arrival you get to hear: "here is the key, the elevators are over there". Not a single friendly word, no explanations provided about the facilities and amenities. Same attitude at departure.

The location is great on the seafront but also very noisy at night. The restaurant was also soso. So overall, not to good value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anak789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

The hotel is located strategically in this beach town. However, hotel's furniture are ages. Is like we are living in 70-80s ... I believe we can get a better hotel with the price we had paid if we have book in advance.

The best part is the services. Many thanks to the "gentlemen"- who work in front desk, he gave us 50 euro discount as we lack of budget and it was 3am, we couldn't get any room.

Room Tip: Stay higher floor with sea view to reduce/minimize any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

There are pluses to the hotel - it is located adjacent to the seafront and the Casino and the public areas are well kept. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful.
The minuses outweigh the pluses. We were two single men occupying rooms on the first floor. Some reviews extol the virtues of the sea views and being able to people watch - don't expect this if you have booked a single room. Our rooms overlooked an "inner courtyard" - a polite description of the roofs below, a blank concrete wall and two walls of other rooms / apartments. The room itself was small (a bit smaller than the size of a typical budget hotel room). Furniture and fittings were OK but nothing more. I have stayed in much better hotels for the price throughout Europe, the US and New Zealand - definitely overpriced.
Unless you are made of money do not park at the hotel - 25 Euros a night for a covered place (Central London prices!!). I would also suggest that you avoid the breakfast (16 Euros) and go to one of the small bars / bakeries nearby.
Overall not a 4 star experience - and not worth the price.
My travelling companion used the swimming pool and said it was OK (but a bit dowdy). We both commented on the high price of the Spa treatments (and hence did not use them).

Room Tip: Don't use the hotel if they offer you an inner courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wren104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ostend hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bero
Hotel Bero
#1 of 47 in Ostend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Oostende
Hotel Mercure Oostende
#5 of 47 in Ostend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Princess
Hotel Princess
#3 of 47 in Ostend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel die Prince
Hotel die Prince
#6 of 47 in Ostend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thermae Palace Hotel
Thermae Palace Hotel
#22 of 47 in Ostend
3.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avenue Beach Hotel
Avenue Beach Hotel
#18 of 47 in Ostend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andromeda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andromeda Hotel

Property: Andromeda Hotel
Address: Kursaal-Westhelling 5, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ostend
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ostend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andromeda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Andromeda is a 4-star hotel in a superb location on the seafront adjacent to the Casino Kursaal. Situated in Ostend's bustling city centre, you are surrounded by many excellent restaurants and enticing shops. You can relax in our Pyramid Pool where all our guests can enjoy the swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and gym. Hotel Andromeda is also a perfect venue for your business meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Andromeda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andromeda Hotel Ostende
Andromeda Hotel Thalassa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing