We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faulty Towers”
Review of Andromeda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andromeda Hotel
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Having travelled around Belgium for the past few nights staying in Bruge, Brussels then Ostende, all in 4 star hotels. This was the final stop and I was very disappointed. The location right on the promenade, beach front is good and the lobby, restaurant area all looks very nice and well maintained -luring visitors into a false sense of security. Unfortunately that is where the positives end. The room was horrendous- clean but in a 70s time warp. Nothing matched, old bed, flat pillows and a fridge that looked like something from Argos in the corner with an extra single bed. Not the romantic trip I was hoping for. Overall, it's a bed for the evening, but at 130 euros and that does not include breakfast it's not cheap. I booked the hotel as my partner likes to use the pool and sauna which I believed would be free- an extra 13 euros to use the sauna and you have to pay a 25 euro deposit for a dressing gown. The pool area looked a bit dated and shabby so we didn't bother. The view- I had the back end of the hotel facing buildings and windows the worst view I have ever had. I spoke to reception and was bluntly told if you want a sea room, well it will cost you 250 euros ! I don't think so, save your money, pick one of the cheaper hotels around about £60 that include breakfast. You really are not missing out on much here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank worldwideuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 518 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is without a doubt the very worst "4" star hotel that we've ever had the misfortune to visit. I sincerely cannot understand how the inspectors could have thought this establishment even remotely worthy of four stars, even on a good day! Our stay, (of one night only!) on the night of March 24th 2013 was an absolute disaster from start to finish. My partner is severely disabled and totally dependent upon her wheel chair. Nobody bothered to open the door at the top of the ramp to let her in and she was left shivering in the cold. The room we were given had reasonable access to the bathroom but was severely old fashioned in decor and sadly lacking is such basic amenities as a shower, - it did have a bath, which of course my disabled partner could not use -, a chair or even furniture that matched. It was freezing cold and the heating had been turned off. It was, however, clean. I have honestly had better furniture, decor, service and more space in any number of really basic hotels - Formula 1, Days Inn etc. The reception staff, although Flemish, had managed to at least perfect the gallic shrug. The bar had no barman per se, and we had to seek somebody out to order drinks. When we asked fror a bar snack menu at 2145 we were informed that the kitchen closes at 2130 and there was absolutley no chance of anything to eat. This is meant to be a 4 star hotel in which one could expect to have 24 hr access to at least snacks. Again the gallic shrug was much in evidence. The garage, (€20.00 per night for the privilege of parking your car in an un-secured space), had no lift to the hotel proper and no staff to help with luggage. No porterage of luggage to the room and nobody to guide one to it.. When we asked for the manager to complain we were told that the (part time) barman was "too busy" and then we were sent a restaurant sub manager to deal with the "awkward" customers. The total cost of this utterly depressing single night's stay in a room reminiscent of Crossroads Motel in the early seventies was €153.00 and worth about one tenth of that. DO NOT BOOK INTO THIS HOTEL - IT IS SEVERELY OVERPRICED, INCAPABLE OF OFFERING EVEN BASIC LEVELS OF SERVICE, AND THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE HAS BEEN TAUGHT BY THE GENGHIS KHAN SCHOOL OF PUBLIC RELATIONS. If you are disabled, words fail me - there is unfortunately no button lower than "terrible" on the review rating - there should be one marked "minus 10"! You will be made to feel that you are personally responsible for causing an upstanding hotel employee, (or 2, 7, or however many you encounter), to have the single most difficult and trying day of his or her life! - SEE COMMENTS ABOVE IN RE ORDINARY GUESTS AND MULTIPY BY A FACTOR OF 10! Oh, and disabled friendly in this hotel means that you can get your wheelchair through the door - just be grateful they allow cripples in!

Room Tip: IT is on the sea front, although for us that was irrelevant, but the premium for a sea view room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cat8250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Very Nice hotel at THE coast in Belgium. Hen you wake up you see THE sea and THE beach. Good breakfast and restaurant also. THE rooms are very nice and comfortable. Personel is very kindly and it is very good for everyone there.

Room Tip: Sak for THE rooms on THE beachside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boomeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Room very clean and nice. Bathroom OK
Fridge empty
Breakfast OK, but for a 4 star Hotel, expecting more
Close to the casiono, in fact just near the Casino of Oostende
Nice underground garage, and possible to have a private garage, so very safely

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annievde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An EasyToBook.com traveler
1
Reviewed October 4, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here for a night end of August. Superb location, right on the beach/strip. The hotel seems to be renovated, and is pretty modern and elegant. The staff at the desk was very nice and helpful. Good service overall. The room was nice and clean, so was the bathroom. The only things that were a bit annoying were a lack of AC as well as some citrus scent that was sprayed in the room. Normally I don't have problems with stuff like that but this one was a bit too much in my opinion. Breakfast was great, loads of choices. Overall I was pleased with this hotel and I would come again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pierchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The location is perfect, at the beach and near restaurants, shops and next to the casino.
Breakfast buffet was good, large restaurant, not too crowded.
The rooms were big and comfy, nice and big bathroom. But there was no airconditioning. That was a shame.
There was a little noise in the morning, when the staff was busy with putting everything ready. But at night it was quit. We had no sea view (we didn't ask a room with a view).

The spa was very nice. A big pool, 2 saunas and a jacuzzi. Dressing rooms with lockers, towels, robes and flipflops were included.
The massages cost more, but it was worth it! The shiatsu massage was just great!!! I never felt more relaxed.

A good hotel!

Room Tip: I think that rooms on the top floor have less noise from the staff in the mornig. The seaview must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lvacation33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ostend hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bero
Hotel Bero
#1 of 47 in Ostend
597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Oostende
Hotel Mercure Oostende
#6 of 47 in Ostend
448 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Astrid Hotel
Royal Astrid Hotel
#13 of 47 in Ostend
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#12 of 47 in Ostend
246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thermae Palace Hotel
Thermae Palace Hotel
#27 of 47 in Ostend
602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leopold Hotel Ostend
Leopold Hotel Ostend
#10 of 47 in Ostend
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andromeda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andromeda Hotel

Address: Kursaal-Westhelling 5, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ostend
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ostend
Price Range: $132 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andromeda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Andromeda is a 4-star hotel in a superb location on the seafront adjacent to the Casino Kursaal. Situated in Ostend's bustling city centre, you are surrounded by many excellent restaurants and enticing shops. You can relax in our Pyramid Pool where all our guests can enjoy the swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and gym. Hotel Andromeda is also a perfect venue for your business meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Andromeda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andromeda Hotel Ostende
Andromeda Hotel Thalassa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing