We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group Trip to Ostend”
Review of Hotel Europe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Europe
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed at the Europe Hotel with a large group from 29 June to 2 July. Overall we had a very positive experience at the hotel. Very well located in Ostend, comfortable rooms and a plentiful breakfast. Only downsides were no tea/coffee facilities in room and no iron available in hotel.

Great bar down the street called Cosy Corner where you can party late into the night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roy_Belfast1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann V, Owner at Hotel Europe, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear ,
Thank you for your comment and the time you have taken for this review ! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again .
Best regards, Ann Van Haverbeke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 410 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

Left Grantham early Fri am 9th Nov, travelling via ferry to Calais and then on to Ostend. Brilliant hotel in a fabulous central location. Close to centre and seafront. Plenty of bars and restaurants nearby too. Lovely large rooms - only down side, no tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast excellent and plenty of it!!! Found all the lovely chocolate shops and a great market on Saturday morning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann V, Owner at Hotel Europe, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear ,

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with and to take the time to write this comment ! We hope to welcome you and your party again next year!
Best regards,
Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Very nice hotel, lovely rooms, friendly staff, nice swimmingpool. Good location in the center of town, close to the beach and shoppingstreets. I'm coming back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cvdso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann V, Owner at Hotel Europe, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear , We want to thank you for the time you have taken to write your comments on this site and are pleased to read you have enjoyed your stay. We hope we can welcome you again at the Europe Hotel. Thank you. Best regards, Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

The hotel is currently finishing its total refurbishment of its bedrooms and all are to a very good standard. We stayed as part of a coach party and our rooms were large and very comfortable, the only thing that uk guests miss istea and coffee making facilities in the bedrooms. The hotel serves a good buffet breakfast with hot and cold items and also has a lovely indoor swimming pool. The location is good also being close to both the shops and the seafront and we look forward to returning again

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wayahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann V, Owner at Hotel Europe, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Dear ,

We want to thank you for the time you have taken to write your comments on this site and are pleased to read you have enjoyed your stay. We hope we can welcome you again at the Europe Hotel.
Thank you.
Best regards,
Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

I stayed at this hotel in late April 2011 as part of a coach tour, and found the location to be perfect as it allowed quick and easy access to both the town centre, and the sea front. The room i had was the lower tarriff standard accomodation, and although it obviously was not as posh as the more expensive part of the building, i found the bed to be nice and comfy, the TV worked fine, the bathroom was clean, and i had a very pleasant stay. The staff were friendly and helpful too, and i would happily visit the hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David_Jordan_Hawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann V, Owner at Hotel Europe, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

Dear ,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your comments .

We do hope we can welcome you again at the Europe Hotel.

Best regards,
Ann Van Haverbeke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Just had a long weekend at the Europe, we were with a coch outing ,the hotel is in an excellent spot fot the beach,town centre and all th bars,cafes and restaurants .The hotel was clean spacious well laid out and very quiet.I think we were in a premier room which was huge.
We would certainly return again.One downside is that whilst the breakfast is varied and ample the self service area is very cramped and hectic especailly Monday mornings.
If you are looking for a place to eat in the evening try Le Basque restaurant it is about 4 past the theatre looking over the North sea .Food servive and waitresses all excellent we ate there every night.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat06_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann V, Owner at Hotel Europe, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

Dear ,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback .
We are looking fowardto welcoming you again at the Europe hotel.

Best regards,
Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in August. It's an ideal location! Just off of the boardwalk and a short walk into the center of town. Whatever you're looking for: bars, restaurants, arcade, casino, marina, --everything was in walking distance. There was even a beautiful park with a play ground and putt-putt golf course for the kids about a 10-15 minute walk away. The hotel staff was nice, but be warned, the front desk has "hours". It's not a 24-hour service. Also, parking was a bit of an issue. You have to reserve parking with them when you book your room, or you are on your own. We ended up in a carpark a few blocks away and for the two days it cost us 45€. The pool was nice but a little small, and there were vending machines in the lobby. We were pleased that they had news and a movie channel in the room that was in English with Flemish subtitles. Overall, we had a good stay. We were rarely in the room though. Mostly we were out and about in town.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JessyMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ostend hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Bero
Hotel Bero
#1 of 47 in Ostend
597 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Astrid Hotel
Royal Astrid Hotel
#13 of 47 in Ostend
1,044 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Oostende
Hotel Mercure Oostende
#6 of 47 in Ostend
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Andromeda Hotel
Andromeda Hotel
#3 of 47 in Ostend
518 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thermae Palace Hotel
Thermae Palace Hotel
#27 of 47 in Ostend
602 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leopold Hotel Ostend
Leopold Hotel Ostend
#10 of 47 in Ostend
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europe

Address: Kapucijnenstraat 52, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ostend
Price Range: $116 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europe 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europe Hotel Ostende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing