We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome experience”
Review of Bajatzu

Bajatzu
Ranked #2 of 376 Restaurants in Ostend
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ramona, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

My wife and I went to Bajatzu last night (March 2014), and it lives up to all of the great reviews on here. The food was simply superb, and the owner treats you like his guest from start to finish. We enjoyed every bit of this restaurant!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkUSNA1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    127
    27
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous value, delicious food”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Quaint, cozy setting on a square in Ostend. Ducked in for dinner and was treated to a spectacular value - probably 1 lb of mussels with fresh made pasta and arrabiata sauce with wine for €20.

If you are coming from the States, bring Antonio a hat from your favorite NCAA basketball team!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“100 % Italian atmosphere”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Italian cuisine with a sympathic flavour. Fresh dishes and a perfect Price/quality ! The chief is a real italian, who makes you feel at home...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant Italian Food and Hospitality”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

One of the best Italian restaurants I have had the good fortune of eating at, Bajatzu is a must try for any travellers visiting Ostend.

We came in the big group, and the chef was happy to design a hearty 'family-style' menu for us with antipasti to start, a selection of three pastas and even gave us some homemade limoncello cream to end the meal.

The antipasti was great and filling, with a fine selection of hams, mushrooms, tomatoes and breads and the pasta (spaghetti vongole and farfalle with a tomato base with sausages and olives) was hearty and flavourful. If you visit during November, try seeing if they have the venison Ravioli, which was superb.

But what tops the food was the service. It was prompt for a big table of 11, but more importantly it was immensely warm.

The chef came over and spoke to us to know our preferences and to also crack a few friendly jokes to lighten the mood even more. He also spoke of his passion for quality cooking with fresh ingredients, which really showed in the food we had.

In total, we paid 36 Euro each for the meal with prosecco and red wine, well worth it for the quality we had.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chenzkbenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Probably one of the best Italians on the Belgian coast”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We have a knack for Italian food. And as we are regular visitors of the Belgian coast, we take every opportunity to check them out. There are loads of good ones, but Bajatzu is the one we keep coming back to.
Great atmosphere, great food and honest prices. The chef always makes you feel very welcome. Looking forward to our next visit.

Helpful?
Thank Anouk T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bajatzu also viewed

Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 
Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Bajatzu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing