We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ristorante Marina

Ristorante Marina
Ranked #25 of 371 Restaurants in Ostend
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Above standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

You can have very disagreeable surprises in restaurants on the belgian coast. Tourist traps are legion. This one is NOT one of them. And yes, it's not cheap. If you want cheap (but sometimes very good) food, go to a friterie. The quality of the food here is very good. The setting maybe a bit old fashioned, but that's okay. Real flowers on the table and nice cutlery make the difference. Go there if you want something different as the usual moules/frites.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shakzbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    45
    15
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good old-fashioned Italian charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Family lunch on a Saturday. Everyone (ages varied from 9 to 70) was thrilled with the food and charming, friendly service. So very Italian, warm and funny and accommodating our every wish. I loved my seafood pasta starter, bursting with flavours, and ossobucco for main. Beautiful wine list with an abundance of Italian wines. A tad on the pricey side, but great wines.
The maitre d' has owned this place for 41 years and will be retiring soon which is a real shame, because I have a feeling they don't make them like this anymore! Also in Oostende I've always found it difficult to find good restaurants and this is one of the only ones as far as I'm aware. Hope someone great takes over, it would be sad to see this place go!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spoiltbrat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good but.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

The food was good and the decor pleasant but €10.00 for a bottle of water tells you everything about about the value for money. Wine list extensive but overpriced.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DJFGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zemst, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Where to go when in Ostend.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Chance encounters are always good fun... To start the month on the right foot we went to Ristorante Marina on December 1st. We had the special menu for the 40 years of Marina and it was super. Marina definitely is one of the better addresses in Ostend and we heartily recommend to try them out. Italian wine lovers, beware! The excellent wine list holds several of my favourites and has references (400!) from almost all Italian regions (and good ones!). We had an excellent Sauvignon Blanc from Jermann (Friuli Venezia Guilia) at 40€. If you're in for red, I recommend the Ronchedone from Cà dei Frati. If you're not on a budget ask the expert advice of Domenico. The 4-course menu was delicious. We had carpaccio of deer, ravioli stuffed with sweetbread (so good I forgot to take a picture!), delicious sea bass and a marvelous dessert. During dessert and coffee we enjoyed Domenico's show as he prepared the zabaglione in the dining room. A spectacle to enjoy! One little remark though: on Sunday lunch time the place was fully booked and this resulted in some waiting between courses. But we weren't in a hurry and didn't mind too much. Total bill: 134,50€. Good value for money.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philippe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwevegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
282 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“food is simply excellent - one of the best places in Ostend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The interior is a little bit over the top ("kitsch") but the food (fish and italian cuisine) was simply excellent. We had limited time for this business lunch and didn't look at the menu. Just asked Mr Domenico what we should have. Antipasti and fish suggestions were outstanding. Timing was respected.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Filip V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Marina also viewed

Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 
Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Ristorante Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing