We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very enjoyable stay”
Review of Hotel Bero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bero
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 19, 2014

we had a very enjoyable stay,only wish it could have been longer,we could not fault the hotel.the staff are very friendly and helpful.the hotel was spotless, and could not be faulted,the bed, large and very comfortable,the location,verygood.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydney e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssl_11, Director of Sales at Hotel Bero, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Sydney

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our hotel. We really appreciate that you took the time to write this review. It sure motivates our staff to maintain a high level of guest satisfaction.

Thank you for staying with us, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Serge Slegers
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 597 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

Less than ten minutes from Oostend station and one block from the Promenade, the location can't be beat. Plenty of great restaurants and taverns within 5 minutes' or less walk as well.

Breakfast buffet is very good and convenient.

Bed is OK, not spectacular, but not worth complaining about. Queen is just two doubles pushed together, but comfortable enough on one. Only other complaint is freeze-dried in room coffee and tiny cups, but I am really reaching there...

Will definitely stay here again if I come back to Oostend.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank Kristin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssl_11, Director of Sales at Hotel Bero, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Kristin

Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel. We are always eager to hear what our guests like about us and how we might improve.

We are pleased to read that you appreciated our great location as well as the quality of our breakfast buffet. A room with a double bed can always be requested upon reservation. We will always try to take the preferences of our guests into account.

Thank you for staying with us, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Serge Slegers
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

My family and I wanted to stay for a night in this hotel. We just can't stay longer.
Instead of being happy to find new guests the Hotel Bero declined our reservation as they request a minimum of 2 days.
That is simply not a good service and we will go somewhere else.
They missed a chance.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Tcas787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssl_11, Director of Sales at Hotel Bero, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Sir

Of course guests can book for 1 night only at the Bero. This is even the case in more than 85% of the year. However, in busy periods (like bank-holidays, top weekends, ...) hotels have the chance to compensate a bit for the loss they took by selling rooms at discounted prices during the lower season. So then they can increase their rates and request a minimum lenght of stay. There is nothing wrong about that, it is common practice in the hotel business all over the world and guests can always decide for themselves if they want to take it or not.

We understand your disappointment of not being able to book for 1 night only at a specific date but this has nothing to do with service at all. Therefore we find it really unfair that you rate us (and our colleagues from the Princess hotel) with such a low score without even having put one foot in our hotel. We both work very hard every day to offer our guests the best service possible and to stay at the top of the TripAdvisor ranking. Thoughtless comments like this really distort the essence of TripAdvisor and put all the efforts of plenty of people simply in the bin.

Best regards

Serge Slegers
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed at the Bero from January 19th 2014 till January 25th and had the best experience since years. Everyone of this family run hotel is very helpful and friendly. The premisses are spotless and as being wheelchair dependent, it was a real relief that literally every part of this hotel is wheelchair accessible, even the gorgeous heated indoor pool , as well as the sauna complex. The saunas themselves have doors that are not wheelchair accessible but with a little assistance it only take two steps to be seated and enjoy. The breakfast has a huge selection of rolls, croissants, ham, yoghourt, cheeses, eggs,salads, fresh fruit salads, tea, coffee etc. All the tables are high enough for easy access. Even before I arrived, the friendly waiter already had some chairs removed and put the reserved sign on the table to make it as comfortable as possible. The bedroom is huge with lots of windows and plenty of room to roll around; the bed itself is at a comfortable height, though a bit too soft for my liking. It is also longer than usual, nice for a tall person. The doors are very wide and the very large bathroom not only has an inroll shower with a removable seat and two alarm buttons (one for the shower one for the toilet) but also disposes of a large bathtub with several handles. The toilet itself is at the right hight and has a large removable handle. One can easily position the wheelchair next to the toilet. The sink is also very well designed, one can ride under it and the very large mirror is practical. The bathroom has a very large window above the bathtub. The room is soundproof and tastefully furnished. The flatscreen tv is of superior quality and disposes of many channels in different languages. The large elevators have broad doors. The entrance is reached by an antislip non steep ramp, though a little assistance might be needed for those with weak arm muscles.
I hope to get the chance to get back to the Bero in the near future. All in all : excellent value for money!

Room Tip: room 402 is completely wheelchair accessible, huge and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank veronique56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssl_11, Director of Sales at Hotel Bero, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Veronique

Thank you very much for your positive and detailed feedback regarding our hotel. We are always eager to hear what our guests like about us and how we might improve.

We are very proud to read that the best experience you had since years was at the Bero. Indeed, we have a lot of wheelchair dependent returning guests because they know they can roll around through the hotel without obstacles and enjoy big special adapted bedrooms. So at the Bero they can really relax and enjoy their stay without being worried about accessibility. It also gives us great pleasure to hear that you also enjoyed our friendly staff as well as the huge selection of our buffet breakfast.

Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Serge Slegers
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I recently stayed at the hotel, and luckily for one night only. We booked one of the new rooms - which was given the size very reasonably priced. The hotel itself gave a clean and trendy impression and so were the rooms. Unfortunately sleeping was less of a pleasure. The mattress was very uncomfortable and I had a very tough night with and aching back to wake up with... Give that I travel a lot, I have a plenty of other experiences to compare to. And while this hotel is great by itself, they should do something about the beds.

Breakfast was traditional and OK.

I can recommend the hotel, though only for shorter stays - or longer in case it doesn't matter to you what mattress you sleep on :)

If it weren't for that I'd definitely give it a 4 out of 5 rating.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank mvanhorenbeeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssl_11, Director of Sales at Hotel Bero, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Mr and Mrs Vanhoorenbeeck

Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel. We are always eager to hear what our guests like about us and how we might improve.

We are very pleased to read that you found hotel Bero a great hotel and that you would recommend us. On the other hand we are sorry that you found the mattress uncomfortable. Mattresses are indeed always a difficult issue: some guests prefer them hard, others like them soft. Unfortunately it is impossible for us to answer to all the different needs for that matter. However, we pay attention to provide good quality mattresses and to renew them regularly. For instance, the mattress in your room is only 1,5 years old. In the past we sometimes received remarks about our extra sofa beds. Well, now they are all gone and replaced by decent and easy to handle cupboard pull out beds. We also invested in new baby cots. You see, we try our best to offer our guests (small and big) the best sleep possible.

Thank you for staying with us and we do hope to welcome you back (for a short stay ;-)) in the future.

Kind regards

Serge Slegers
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

A great hotel to stay when you visit Ostend, very good location, you can see all of Ostend by foot starting here. All staff is very friendly and helpfull and the owners are very likeable.
You can enjoy a nice pool, great breakfast, decent rooms, 24 hour bar with a good selection..
This is the place to be in Ostend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VanderEeckenPiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssl_11, Director of Sales at Hotel Bero, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear guest

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding our hotel. We are always eager to hear what our guests like about us and how we might improve.

We are very happy to read that you recommend hotel Bero as the place to be in Ostend. Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Serge Slegers
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Just spent a weekend here and really couldn't fault it. Centrally located for beach, casino, shops, cathedral and port. Rooms spacious and clean, and the breakfast scrumptious. Continental, of course, but with such a selection to choose from, you just didn't know where to start. We were disappointed in Ostend though. No Christmas market as we know it, the shopping wasn't exciting and no historic locations left (regrettably destroyed during the War). However, the Cathedral was awsome. Still, there were so many restaurants to choose from there was no problem eating out.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssl_11, Director of Sales at Hotel Bero, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Frances

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding our hotel. We are always eager to hear what our guests like about us and how we might improve.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our central location as well as our clean and spacious rooms and the wide selection of our breakfast buffet. However, we are sorry to hear that you were a bit disappionted in Ostend. The next time you are visiting Ostend I can also recommend visiting Walraversijde (15th century), Fort Napoleon (1810), the Three Master Mercator (1933) and the Atlantic Wall (1941). I'm sure you will find these historical locations very interesting.

Thank you again for staying with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back the next time when you are in the neighbourhood.

Kind regards

Serge Slegers
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ostend hotels
0.3 mi away
Andromeda Hotel
Andromeda Hotel
#3 of 47 in Ostend
518 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Astrid Hotel
Royal Astrid Hotel
#13 of 47 in Ostend
1,042 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Oostende
Hotel Mercure Oostende
#6 of 47 in Ostend
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Princess
Hotel Princess
#5 of 47 in Ostend
315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#11 of 47 in Ostend
246 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thermae Palace Hotel
Thermae Palace Hotel
#27 of 47 in Ostend
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bero

Address: Hofstraat 1A, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ostend
#1 Green Hotel in Ostend
#1 Family Hotel in Ostend
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ostend
#1 Spa Hotel in Ostend
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ostend
Price Range: $135 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bero 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bero in Ostend offers environmentally friendly 4-star rooms at the seaside and excellent assets for perfectly organized seminars at the Belgian coast. At the four star hotel Bero you will for sure enjoy your stay, induldge a complimentary breakfast buffet and the free use of the swimming pool and brand new "Ninfea" Wellness centre with the access to the sauna, biosauna, Hammam,and infra red heating chairs. WIFI is included in the price of the room, to stay up to date with friends and family. When exploring the bar and the whisky lounge you will discover about 80 different malt whiskeys that you can enjoy in front of the open fire in the Lindores Lounge on those chilly days. For our small guests there is a childrens' playing area. Our Executive and eco rooms are equipped with Daikin Air conditioning. 4 seminar rooms with daylight and air conditioning available for up to 80 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Ostende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing