We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location”
Review of Hotel Bero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bero
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Came for business one year's ago before the renovation. Back this weekend for 3 nights. I really liked the new rooms. The facilities (Swimming pool, sauna, steam bath) were just perfect for me to relax. The breakfast buffet is excellent. Staff is friendly. Excellent bar if you like whiskies, with a fine selection. In the end, great location near the sea and the centre of the city. Will be back !!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmanuel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssl_11, Director of Sales at Hotel Bero, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Emmanuel

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding our hotel. We are always eager to hear what our guests like about us and how we might improve.

We are very pleased to read that you liked our new Ecology rooms and that you enjoyed the facilities of our new leisure center as well as our breakfast buffet.

Great to hear that you will be back. We are already looking forward to it.

Kind regards

Serge Slegers
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 597 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

We had a great time at this hotel. There were 4 of us and the children (9 & 12) had a separate room in the family suite. The staff were excellent and the breakfast was good. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Interrailers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssl_11, Director of Sales at Hotel Bero, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear guest

Thank you very much for your review. We are always eager to hear what our guests like about us and how we might improve.

We are very pleased to read that you and your family had a great time with us. Our family suites are indeed very spacious and the seperate bedroom for the children is always very much appreciated because it offers the parents more privacy.

Thank you for staying with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit.

Kind regards

Serge Slegers
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The hotel Bero is a great hotel it is well run with a lovely pool, the rooms and all of the bars in the hotel were clean and really nicely set out a lot of thought has gone into how the hotel is decorated,this family run hotel is friendly and welcoming. I have 2 children and we were made to feel very welcome. The breakfast was wonderful I don't think there was anything that they hadn't thought of. We would definately stay there again. I shared a family room with my children there was lots of space and a big bathroom with a seperate toilet. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarannels13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssl_11, Director of Sales at Hotel Bero, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear guest

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding our hotel. We are always eager to hear what our guests like about us and how we might improve.

We are very pleased to read that you found hotel Bero an excellent and welcoming hotel and our staff friendly and helpful. Comments like this really motivate our staff to continue to strive for the best possible guest satisfaction every day.

So thank you again and we are looking forward to welcome you back the next time you are visiting Ostend.

Best regards

Serge Slegers
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

friendly staff... always ready for help when we have a question
nice pool and wellness... 2 sauna's , hamman, relaxing room
ideal for children... playground in the hotel for the little ones
choice for breakfast , beautiful spacious breakfast room
There is parking at the hotel which you have to pay ...staff drive your car away in the garage and parking him for the hotel if you need to leave.
you can hear upstairs neighbors walking around their room ... what is annoying as the one get up very early

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carla b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssl_11, Director of Sales at Hotel Bero, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Carla

Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel. We are always eager to hear what our guests like about us and how we might improve. We are pleased to read that you found our staff friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed our breakfast as well as our leisure facilities.

Thank you for staying with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back the next time you are visiting Ostend.

Best regards

Serge Slegers
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have stayed here many times over the past twenty years;it's location being one of the best for getting around Ostend.Near to the centre and to the seafront.This time we payed the extra 10 Euros for a refurbished Ecology room.Well worth the extra .A very large and comfortable bed
a good bathroom with a large shower.All in all a big improvement.( even a sea view in room 411) The breakfast is of a good standard;even bacon and scrambled eggs unusal in a dutch run hotel..Much appreciated is the addition of coffee and teamaking facility in the room.Not appreciated is the exorbitant charge of 25 euros per night for parking in the hotel garage and the threat of a 250 euro penalty for smoking in the room.Surely a no smoking sign should suffice!.All in all a comfortable well run hotel, certainly not cheap at 130 euros per night but you could do a lot worse elsewhere

Room Tip: Try 411 a sea view (in the distanace)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigmalcKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssl_11, Director of Sales at Hotel Bero, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding our hotel. We are always eager to hear what our guests like about us and how we might improve.

We are pleased to read that you decided to go for an upgrade in one of our refurbished Ecology rooms and that you found it well worth the extra. Some Ecology rooms offer indeed a nice sea view and the best thing is that you can get it at no extra charge. We understand that you don't appreciate the threat of a penalty for smoking in the room but unfortunately in the past we noticed on several occasions that some guests didn't refrain from smoking because of just a no smoking sign. We really want to spare our other guests from having the nasty smell of cigarettes when arriving in their room. That is why we regretfully had to take that extra measure.

Thank you very much for staying with us again. We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit.

Kind regards
Serge Slegers
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We are a group of 8 friends who stayed for 1 night in this hotel. Rather share a room with 4 people than to pay € 70 each (wich i think is way overpriced for the outdated rooms they offer!), 4 of us did not have a good sleep that night. Something i was expecting -to be honest- because if you read "double bed + sofabank" you know what you're into... But that the couch-sofabank would be THAT awful, i didn't expect... :( Lucky it was just for 1 night...
That said, hotel is clean, it offers a nice wellness/swimmingpool, the breakfast is ok (fresh orangejuice in the morning and fresh made coffee instead of instant is what you expect in a 4 star hotel but that you won't get...) and the location is the best of all. That is also the main reason why we booked this hotel: it is near the sea and close to casino/restaurants/pubs.
We had a nice weekend out with the girls but it's not a place i will return to.

Room Tip: Looking at the pictures of the rooms there is an obvious difference so ask for the more updated room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hetty1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssl_11, Director of Sales at Hotel Bero, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Hetty

Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel. We are always eager to hear what our guests like about us and how we might improve.

We are pleased to hear that you had a nice weekend out with your friends thanks to our ideal location. We are also pleased that you appreciated the cleanliness of our hotel as well as our nice wellness/swimmingpool facilities. On the other hand we feel sorry for your friends who chose to sleep on the sofabank to save some Euros despite the info on our website and at the reception. No wonder that they didn't had a good night's sleep when sleeping with 2 adults on a sofabank suitable for children up to 12 years. Choosing for double rooms or our spacious Family Suites with a seperate bedroom would have been a much more comfortable option.

Thank you again for your feedback and for staying with us.

Best regards
Serge Slegers
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Location was key for me during my stay, since I was attending a conference in the Kursaal Oostende. I had a pleasant stay, though the (very large) classic room was a bit outdated. It was weird that the room had two bathrooms: one with a toilet and a shower and one with a bath and a sink. So when you wanted to wash your hands after using the toilet, you had to go to the other bathroom. The room was very clean, which is always nice.

The bed wasn't as comfortable as should be expected from such an expensive hotel and the pillow wasn't that great either. I slept fairly well, though. I was sorry I hadn't the opportunity to dive into the lovely pool or use the wellness. Next time perhaps? The selection of drinks from the bar are also excellent.

Breakfast was nice. Expecting a little bit more perhaps (I don't like my juice to come out of a machine), but enjoyed the scrambled eggs and fresh fruit salad.

Staff was professional and welcoming.

I would stay here again, but not in the classic room. I do think the rooms are a bit overpriced if you don't use the pool or wellness facilities, but I guess the good location close to the beach makes up for that.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolienBAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssl_11, Director of Sales at Hotel Bero, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Carolien

Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel. We are always eager to hear what our guests like about us and how we might improve.

Because we are only a 6 minutes' walk from the Casino-Kursaal, conference participants often choose hotel Bero for their accommodations. We are pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you appreciated the cleanliness of your room and our professional and welcoming staff. We offer indeed over 45 great single malt whiskies in our bar with "Lindores" whisky lounge and are thus one of the best whisky bars in the Benelux countries.

Thank you again for staying with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back in one of our new Ecology rooms the next time you are visiting Ostend and hope that you will have some time to enjoy our pool and wellness facilities.

Best regards
Serge Slegers
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ostend hotels
0.3 mi away
Andromeda Hotel
Andromeda Hotel
#3 of 47 in Ostend
518 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Astrid Hotel
Royal Astrid Hotel
#13 of 47 in Ostend
1,044 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Oostende
Hotel Mercure Oostende
#6 of 47 in Ostend
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Princess
Hotel Princess
#5 of 47 in Ostend
315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#11 of 47 in Ostend
246 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thermae Palace Hotel
Thermae Palace Hotel
#27 of 47 in Ostend
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bero

Address: Hofstraat 1A, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ostend
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ostend
#1 Green Hotel in Ostend
#1 Family Hotel in Ostend
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ostend
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ostend
Price Range: $135 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bero 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bero in Ostend offers environmentally friendly 4-star rooms at the seaside and excellent assets for perfectly organized seminars at the Belgian coast. At the four star hotel Bero you will for sure enjoy your stay, induldge a complimentary breakfast buffet and the free use of the swimming pool and brand new "Ninfea" Wellness centre with the access to the sauna, biosauna, Hammam,and infra red heating chairs. WIFI is included in the price of the room, to stay up to date with friends and family. When exploring the bar and the whisky lounge you will discover about 80 different malt whiskeys that you can enjoy in front of the open fire in the Lindores Lounge on those chilly days. For our small guests there is a childrens' playing area. Our Executive and eco rooms are equipped with Daikin Air conditioning. 4 seminar rooms with daylight and air conditioning available for up to 80 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Ostende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing