We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choise”
Review of Hotel De Hofkamers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel De Hofkamers
Ranked #1 of 36 Ostend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good choise”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Friendly little hotel with nice staff, clean and quiet room, good bed, good service and good breakfast and everything for a nice price. The hotel is located on a sidestreet whoch means good sleep quality as there is no traffic disturbing during the night. I will definitely remember this hotel when coming again to Ostend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TreckerFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    97
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
136
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I travelled to this hotel on a business trip, and admittedly my budget (company limit) allowed me to book an Executive room, but everything about this hotel was quality.
I travel quite often and have stayed in all sorts of hotels from 5* big name chains to budget rooms and to gauge, and rate, how good the hotel is i always rate on the following items - Bed / room comfort, quietness, cleanliness, shower and breakfast. All of these items lead to what we book a room for, a good nights sleep and freshness for the next day ahead. Here is how this hotel rated:

Bed / room comfort 5 out of 5.
This room was stylishly furnished. It was decked out with quality antique effect (maybe it really was antique i'm not an expert) furniture. Everything was clean and fresh and oozed quality. The bed was really comfy and even the pillows, which i often find too soft, were nice and firm. I had a great nights sleep due to the bed comfort, which doesn't happen that often when i am away from home.

Quietness 5 out of 5.
This was a very quiet hotel! It is not the biggest i have ever stayed in (only 4 rooms on my floor) but it certainly the quietest. I had zero corridor noise and also the hotel in in a side road that gets very little traffic due to it being one way and also bigger wider roads nearby so the only reason you would drive down the road is if you had to go to a premise in that road. I heard no traffic noise at night until the morning.

Cleanliness 5 out of 5.
This room was very clean in both terms of hygiene and also new and there were no scruffy marks on furniture and walls.

Shower 5 out of 5.
This room had the ultimate shower experience. It had 3 types of shower in 1. It had the fixed, big diameter, head a moveable hand held and also the wall mounted jets (6 in total). These could be used at the same time and given the good water pressure and piping hot water this gave an excellent shower. I loved this as it was really invigorating and got me up and ready for the day ahead.

Breakfast 4 out of 5.
I feel a bit harsh only giving the breakfast a mark or 4 but can i really give a 5 mark for everything?? I think not.
The breakfast was good with nice real fresh juices (not from concentrate types usually found) nice fresh bread (i actually woke to the smell coming up the stairs). Good selection of meats and cheese (about 5 of each type) and great coffee. The only slight draw back was the lack of the "cooked breakfast". It did offer scrambled eggs, bacon and hard boiled eggs, but that was it. Better than some hotels though. I know the cooked breakfast is an English thing and a continental breakfast should be expected on the continent.

It is only a 2 minute stroll into the centre for all the local bars and restaurants.

As you can probably tell i loved staying here and would definitely come back here if ever i am back in Ostende.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mitch C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This a charming little hotel with a good price. Officially it's three stars, but it might as well be a four-star hotel, at least in some aspects.

Plus sides:

- It's in a quiet street only minutes walking from the beach, shops and restaurants. Perfect.

- Friendly and helpful staff and owners.

- It's cozy with a cute little lounge area and a tiny bar.

- Stylishly decorated and furnished rooms and bathrooms.

- Good beds with a choice of pillows.

- Comfortable rooms with everything you need, including wifi, safe and minibar. The tv has an enormous amount of channels from all over the world.

- Fantastic breakfast. They staff said they are famous for it and I believe them. Everything is absolutely fresh, ample choice in breads and sweet options. There's a lot of good cheeses, charcuterie, jams and even fish. Etc.

Room for improvement:

- The lighting in the bathroom is not good for shaving. You need the light to come more from the front.

- The elevator is slightly scary the way it abruptly starts and stops.

- My colleague was overbooked which they solved quit well by providing a room in a nearby hotel. But this is something that just should not happen.

- For the ICT-business traveler it's annoying that some protocols (VPN and RDP to be exact) to reach remote computers do not work on the wifi. The owner said they would have their it-person look at it. So hopefully this will be resolved soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Renevdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I booked this place spontaneously without knowing what to expect and found a lovely little hotel with extremely nice staff and owners. They serve an opulent breakfast buffet, you'll even find champagne on it. Even though everything is a little bit small, the interior decoration is lovely and charming. A beautiful little place where I'd go back anytime again when in Ostende.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
528 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Small but cosy hotel. Remarkable breakfast, with fresh local products and good variety. We had a family room, with two separate bedrooms and a big bathroom. Hotel is well situated, near the commercial streets and the seaside, yet in a very peaceful street of the town. Family owned, which adds a personal touch. The only downside was some noise coming from the kitchen in the early morning, as we were on the first floor.

Room Tip: Go for one of the higher floors, as on the first floor one hears the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank delagioventu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was my second trip to Oostende. The first it was cold, colder than I had ever felt. Somehow the Eurotunnel has problems whenever I travel, so fatigue adds to the weariness. This time it was even colder. The Eurotunnel was even more delayed. We arrived at 2.30 am. Finding somewhere to park is always a problem in Europe. Not helped by being in West Flanders where English is spoken, but not well by everyone, and certainly not by the night porter on this occasion.
The car park machines are in Flemish. But it's cheap to park in Oostende. 3 Euros for 4 hours and "refilling" the machine is OK (apparently). The night porter showed us in great detail how to work the TV remote, at 3am, as if we wanted to watch TV all night. Mind you when it's that cold, TV indoors is a good choice.
The bed was OK, pillows terrible-foam lumps. We take our own. The room was cold. There is a radiator in the room which we'd have used if we'd known (instead of the TV remote instruction).
No blanket in the cupboard.
The bathroom was clean and modern. The toilet was jammed between the shower and the wall, so a bigger person than either of us would have had to remove the fixed shower screen.
Breakfast is good, and service is friendly (but it should be- it's a hotel).
We had to check out at 11 which Belgian friends thought was outrageous, since we'd got in so late. Worth mentioning, since it would have been nice not to rush. But I had to get out early to move the car.
All hotel rooms in Oostende are small, space is at a premium, but as rooms go, it was tidy, but small, oh and there's no door on the bathroom, may not mean much to some...

Room Tip: Ask about heating if the room feels cold, and ask about late checkout if you've arrived later th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I took my wife for a long weekend shopping for our wedding anniversary and her birthday. What can I say - breakfast was great. Plentiful and including bucks fizz. Nice touch was a little birthday card waiting for my wife.

Rooms very clean although a little tired. Lift a bit clanky and quirky. Centrally located parking was a bit difficult and we chose to book in a nearby underground car park via the hotel but could have used my disabled parking badge at a pinch if I wanted. Great base for shopping and trips to Brussels and Brugges. I chose to leave the car and use the train.

Would I go back -- most definately

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ostend hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bero
Hotel Bero
#1 of 47 in Ostend
573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andromeda Hotel
Andromeda Hotel
#3 of 47 in Ostend
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Oostende
Hotel Mercure Oostende
#5 of 47 in Ostend
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Leopold Hotel Ostend
Leopold Hotel Ostend
#12 of 47 in Ostend
189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Astrid Hotel
Royal Astrid Hotel
#9 of 47 in Ostend
937 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Princess
Hotel Princess
#4 of 47 in Ostend
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Hofkamers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Hofkamers

Property: Hotel De Hofkamers
Address: IJzerstraat 5, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Ostend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Hofkamers 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with only 27 rooms all decorated individualy in a romatic way. The hotel is situated in a quiet street in the hart of Oostende.Within 150 meter you will find : Casino - Kursaal, beach, sea, promenade, museums, Leopold Park, shopping streets, bars, restaurants, ...The breakfast buffet is the speciality of the house.You will arrive as a guest .... .... you will leave as a friend... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel De Hofkamers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing