We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than just a diner !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of De Mosselbeurs

De Mosselbeurs
Ranked #46 of 371 Restaurants in Ostend
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $38
Cuisines: Belgian, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Ostend, Belgium
1 review
“More than just a diner !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Time after time, diner after diner, they always serve us excellent tasting food, but more important are all the extra touches related to personal care and attention that make this such a excellent place to come! Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, even when you come in group.
It's always good to be back !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanenKevin, Owner at De Mosselbeurs, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks Matthiew! We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    74
    19
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Mossel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Fantastic mussel or mossel in the town! It was so delicious, fresh and tasty! We had ordered 3 pots of different mossel ... the best is pot is the typical mossel cooked with white wine and garlic ... super yummy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanenKevin, Owner at De Mosselbeurs, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much..!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keul
1 review
“More than just an excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Since many years now De Mosselbeurs is our favourite place to enjoy excellent "soul"food, unforgettable and laid-back moments. Distance we drive many times during the year:
345km from Cologne to Oostende. But every km and every minute we have to wait for another evening at this beautiful place is worth it.
Thank you De Mosselbeurs!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roterkoenig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanenKevin, Owner at De Mosselbeurs, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you sooo much for these incredible sweet words!
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So much more than "moules frites"...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Delicious, perfectly cooked mussels and frites. Exquisite chocolate fondant (moelleux) and lavender creme brulee to follow. Really good house white. Prompt, friendly service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I am looking for reasons to return to Ostend to visit this great restaurant again & again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Our hors d'oeuvres, Saint-Jacques & mushroom caps stuffed w/ricotta cheese, perfectly seasoned, were Crème de la Crème. The steamy Cod fillet w/mozzarella, cherry tomatoes and basil was so good and my husband, who I describe as a Mussels indulging Connoisseur while we are here living in Belgium, says that they were exceptional. On a good side note, the bread the server brought out with our first course was the best bread ever; he told us that it is made for the restaurant at a Bakery located right around the corner; we need to visit that Bakery. The server was amazing & super attentive and the atmosphere is extremely relaxing & pleasant. If only they had a nice, cold, crisp, Alsatian Riesling available on their wine menu . . .P.S. The nine photos on the web site and repeated again on the walls in the restaurant are, I believe, photos of the anglers who live in a fishermen retirement community near Ostend called Walraversijde.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ives_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Mosselbeurs also viewed

Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 
Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 
Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 

Been to De Mosselbeurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing