We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Polaris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Polaris
Ranked #5 of 36 Ostend B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

See the review by Pauline R - I was one of the 20 from Australia - the manager David was very helpful and accomodating, the breakfast was extensive, the location is excellent. The Room I stayed in was fine but I would recommend staying in the rear rooms if you are a light sleeper (only on a Thursday morning, as they have a market setting up from 5.30am). Overall, nice place, no problem!

Room Tip: Rear room if staying on a Weds night as a Market is on Thursday morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    46
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
15
57
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 weeks with a group of 20 people from Australia. The rooms were clean and available as soon as we arrived. David the Manager had helped me organize rental vans before we had arrived. I cannot speak highly enough of the staff who were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great The breakfast area is nice and open, with a good buffet (fresh fruits, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, ham, different cheeses, danish pastries, different breads, etc.) fresh orange juice and they even served us 1 hour earlier to suit our early departures on a couple of days. Location was central and close to many restaurants, there is a small supermarket across the road.

Nothing was too much trouble, David recommended restaurants, gave advise on train departures even organised some train tickets for us (saving us 200 Euros in the process). it certainly made our stay very pleasant and the shuttle bus service to and from the Airport was wonderful.

The Market Place outside the doors 2 days a week is great. You get to visit a traditional market place without having to drive anywhere.

I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone visiting Oostend.

Room Tip: I would request a room at the back of the Hotel, only because they set up a market place 2 days a we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dessel, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

the location of this botique hotel is awesome. The staff very friendly and a nice breakfast. In the room was everything available what you needed. The rooms were rather small and clean. The only thing I can say about the room is that it needed a little paint.
I would go the again8

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hansdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel is in a very convenient location, short walk to the beach as well as to the shopping area and the nightlife area. There's a public parking just across the street (22,50 € /24 hours) Check-in was very easy, I told my name and was handed my keycard, 1 minute (room was booked over the net) check out the same, handed back my keycard and received the bill, 1 minute. The hotel is rather small, clean, our room was of good size, with a good size bathroom (shower) I liked the shampoo and shower gel. Bed was comfortable, there's a flat screen Tv with lots of channels. There's a market on thursdays and saturdays just in front of the hotel, the people start to build up their stands in the middle of the night and do this in a very noisy manner. The breakfast area is nice and light, with a good buffet (fresh fruits, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, ham, salami, different cheeses, even goat cheese, danish pastries, different breads, etc.) for this size of hotel, fresh orange juice and Cava are available, only the scrambled eggs were inedible. We have been in Ostend on a very busy weekend with 99% of the hotel rooms booked so we paid a quite high price for this hotel, but for a decent price (< 100 E) I would return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this boutique hotel for one night. The room ( number 402 ) is situated on the fourth floor. But it's a room which is connected to another room by a door that you can " luckily " close. We heard every word of our neighbours, which is very uncomfortable. Also the noises of the bathroom are heard!!!so very thin walls. The room was very dated, not a boutique hotel worthed. And the bathroom gave the impression not to be very clean. Hair in the shower and a dirty cloth laying on the floor ( probably forgotten by the cleaner ). So please avoid this room!!

The breakfast on the other hand was superb!!!!A large buffet with fresh juice, several choices of bread and cheese and meat, large selection of teas, jams,marmelades, eggs,....Not a bad word about this!

The reception host was at the beginning not very friendly. he gave us our keys without any introduction whatsoever,...But when we came downstairs and asked him for a map of Ostend he gave us everything we wanted. And he stayed like this for our whole staying. Afterwards we found out that the man is the owner of the hotel and we noticed that he ran the whole business by himself. So " chapeau".

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boneyardbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel was absolutely excellent, the proprietor could not do enough to make our short stay most memorable. Situated just a short walk from the sea & railway stn ideally placed for a city break as all bars & restaurants are close by.Rooms were well decorated and very clean.
Breakfast consisted of a buffet which even included champagne to make your "bucks fizz"
I can't recommend this hotel enough and if we return to Ostend this will definately be on our list to book a room.

Room Tip: worth the extra for a luxury room with a spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_and_Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Price/quality pefect hotel and a great luxury breakfast ! In the middle of Ostend near the shops and the sea. Very friendly and clean. The perfect hotel for a weekend at the seaside. Nice updated room.

Room Tip: ask front side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ostend hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bero
Hotel Bero
#1 of 47 in Ostend
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andromeda Hotel
Andromeda Hotel
#2 of 47 in Ostend
437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Acces
Hotel Acces
#11 of 47 in Ostend
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Oostende
Hotel Mercure Oostende
#5 of 47 in Ostend
386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#10 of 47 in Ostend
212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Parisien
Hotel Le Parisien
#30 of 47 in Ostend
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Polaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Polaris

Property: Hotel Polaris
Address: Groentemarkt 19, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Ostend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Polaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing