We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“old fashioned charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cardiff Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
sidcup,kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“old fashioned charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Having stayed four nights between xmas and the new year I can recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to be treated with courtesy,friendliness and old world charm.Rooms cleaned and towels changed daily.Nothing to much trouble for the kindly hosts.Restaurant well attended by locals and tourists alike.
I was so impressed that I immediatley booked for the Ostend at anchor festival in May.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank riddlerSidcup_kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    24
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
8
33
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I've been a customer of "De Cardiff" for many years, but only as restaurant guest (not hotel guest). Their restaurant have been serving more or less the same menu for literally tens of years.. but it's a formula that works. Their steak is first class, their cod is first class. The set menus are great value for money. The owner of the Cardiff is very professional, and adds to the pleasant atmosphere.
The Cardiff is also right in the heart of Oostende, so very practical after a day of sightseeing and shopping !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LaurenceFromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

We have been staying at the Hotel Cardiff for many years now , every time we travel to Ostende to visit Family we stay there . My mother is now 86 years old and a 'real ostende ' lady. I am 57 years of age and I was in my 30's when we first started staying there. We have always found the Hotel Cardiff to be Excellent . The food is delicious , we like to order in advance to be polite and the owner and staff are always very gracious and accommodating . I have stayed in many hotels in a great variety of countries . We have found that Hotel Cardiff has a special atmosphere . They go out of their way to welcome you and make your stay as pleasant as possible. Well done Hotel Cardiff !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We have stayed in the hotel a couple of times. It offers updated, en-suite rooms with TV at competitive prices. The location is good. We did find it rather odd that residents pay for the room before staying, but beyond that all is good. Last week while staying elsewhere, we visited the Hotel Cardiff restaurant for a set menu meal having heard excellent reports of the beef carbonnade. We popped in during the morning and booked a table also checking that the carbonnade would be on the menu as we had also heard that it is not always available. The owner asked us how many people would be wanting the carbonnade as it is a lot of effort to cook freshly and would cook according to our order.
On arrival in the evening we were treated to formal and good quality service. The whole meal was excellent, in particular the infamous carbonnade which beyond a doubt is the best and freshest in Ostend. The three course set menu cost 12.80 euros and in addition we had a beer and a coffee. Highly recommended – but book ahead, checking the availability of the beef.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

Found this Hotel several years ago when we ate in the restaurant, the food was fabulous. Since then we have stayed several times and have found the experience very relaxing. Free car parking is available some 15 minutes away.

Room Tip: Superb Hotel/Restaurant very close to the centre of Ostend. Room on the south side are quieter, less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ostend hotels
0.6 mi away
Avenue Beach Hotel
Avenue Beach Hotel
#18 of 47 in Ostend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#8 of 47 in Ostend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leopold Hotel Ostend
Leopold Hotel Ostend
#10 of 47 in Ostend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Parisien
Hotel Le Parisien
#33 of 47 in Ostend
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Louisa
Hotel Louisa
#14 of 47 in Ostend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Princess
Hotel Princess
#3 of 47 in Ostend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardiff Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardiff Hotel Restaurant

Property: Cardiff Hotel Restaurant
Address: Sint-Sebastiaansstraat 4, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cardiff Hotel Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cardiff Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing