We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, ambient and attention” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Stoepa

De Stoepa
Ranked #112 of 702 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Bar, European, Asian, Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food, ambient and attention”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Bruges is just beautiful, this restaurant has an inner patio with lights during the night creating a special ambient. Since is so good I recommend to make reservations in order to find a table. Food is wonderful such as the staff, helpful and friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomafito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    198
    30
    21
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Revisited”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Visited again with, and by the request of, friends.

My review from last year still holds. Nice terrace. Decent cocktail. Good ambience. Terrible service.

The big change is in the loss of their licence to serve food. The rumours about problems in the kitchen have floated around for the past 10 years. But this time around the health inspection took offence in a more official way.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, shame about the management ...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

The problem was not warning us that there was going to be an hour's delay in getting the food. They were clearly very busy so we waited 40 mins befor even asking - in fairness the waitresses were very polite and came back with an apology, but if they had said from the outset when we asked for the table (they clearly knew there was a problem) that there would be a delay we probably would have stayed and taken some responsibility for that decision. I should have guessed, the woman who seemed to be the manageress, who I spoke to on arrival, had a facial expression like a wet weekend and seemed only keen to tell me that yes I could have a courtyard table but if I got cold it was my own problem. When the food arrived it was good - I had prawn and chicken stir fry - I just wish they'd been more honest about the wait. Can't recommend it - shame.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Eccletic Mix of Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

EVERYTHING on their menu looks amazing! We went with friends and ended up eating here 2 different times during our stay. We all ordered completely different things and each time we were amazed. This place is ridiculously awesome!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank siftarkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
249 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This restaurant seemed very busy when we were there, but we had a reservation so no wait. We both had cocktails (a whiskey sour and a Long Island iced tea) and Italian food for dinner (spaghetti bolognese and fettucine with meatballs). Everything was very good. The atmosphere was jovial and service was excellent. This place is very close to the train station, which might be useful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LexiV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Stoepa also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to De Stoepa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing