We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, but expensive and poor ambience”
Review of Visscherie

Visscherie
Ranked #197 of 716 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $147
Cuisines: Belgian, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food, but expensive and poor ambience”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

In summary: the food was excellent, but this was let down by poor timing and front of house. The price was also rather alarming.

Plus points:
-excellent main courses. I tried gurnard for the first time, and it was beautiful.

Minus points:
-the price (over the odds, but not a rip-off)
-timing (about 30-40 mins from main course to desert)
-desert (overly fussy and not very good)
-front of house management (see below)

The general atmosphere of the restaurant was pretty clinical, but the waiting staff did nothing to help this, not at all warm or friendly. Even when they were showing us to our (booked) table, he stopped to deal with another table en route, which I wouldn't expect in a restaurant of this standard. It didn't help the mood that the waiter obviously had a cold and wasn't being at all subtle about it. It also didn't help that one of the other tables appeared to be difficult, so maybe we just saw an unfortunate day.

I wouldn't negatively recommend the restaurant as we might just have seen a bad day (hence 4/5 and not lower), but I won't be planning on returning soon.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SomeBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    70
    20
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
“Pricey but well worth it with excellent food and service”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Arriving somewhat late, we were somewhat rudely turned away from a restaurant across the street due to their kitchen closing soon, and having heard good things about the Visccherie and wanting a nice seafood meal, decided to give it a try.

The waiter was incredibly friendly and had no issues seating us while politely noting that the kitchen was closing in about 30 minutes. He even brought us each a delicious oyster on the house. We had grilled cod and it was truly excellent. For us, the price was rather high but it really matched the quality of the food and the service and we had no regrets whatsoever afterwards.

The waiter even brought us some complimentary desserts to finish off the meal, still very friendly even 30 minutes after the restaurant had closed. It is a nice experience when you can tell the employees enjoy their jobs and have pride in their service and meals.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic fish restaurant”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We had dinner at one of the most romantic restaurant in Bruges. We went to De Visscherie and it was marvelous! From the start we received a warm welcome to our table. The waiter took very well care of us during the whole dinner. We were 6 of us and we decided to go a la carte. We had lobster, oysters and poached turbot! The Somelier recommended some wines and they matched perfectly. I highly recommend this restaurant if you love fresh seafood that is taking care by a Chef that knows his products. The restaurant was also full, to me this means that it's a well known restaurant in Bruges!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank alex459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zedelgem
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“delicassy of fish”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

gastronomical fish restaurant of high quality, vaste choice of fresh fish, professional staff and a great choice of wines

Helpful?
Thank local_resident1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent Sole but very expensive”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

As we were not charmed by the set menu we chose to dine à la carte otherwise you can choose a set menu with wine for 100€. The sole was excellent but as my Partner pointed out you can get a as good sole in a lot of small and cheap restaurants at the Belgium coast.

I would not recommend the restaurant to a friend who would choose to eat à la carte as the prices do not reflect the quality (30€, 40€ for the sole and 14 € for the

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jules_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Visscherie also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Visscherie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing