We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place once you've found it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #14 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place once you've found it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2009

I read a review on this site before booking and it mentioned being difficult to find by car so took the precaution of asking for directions from the hotel, printing off a detailed street map and programming the sat nav. Ha, not good enough, We had reception on the phone three of four times as we completed maybe 6 circles of the one way system but they were just too vague. It actually took longer to find the hotel than it did to get to Bruge from Calais.

Bit of a whiff of drains on the way up to the room but not IN the room happily which was big, comfortable with a great view of The Belfry of Bruge and very central. Had a word with Bart - the young duty manager on Sunday because a plug wasn't working that drained my blackberry - luckily not there on business, the shower fluctautes in temperature - this is a problem with all the rooms reception said, though Bart made a big play of checking it. We found a hairclip when searching for a working plug and there were a few paint marks on the wall paper. Bart is teflon smooth - you'd be hard pushed to make anything stick for a discount.
Breakfast is very good, though buffet style so you have to have your wits about you in the chaos of sleepy, hungry people blundering in all directions.
We climbed the old tower one night which was fun and saw the listed Otis lift (yes it's true).
So pretty good all round, though next time I'm going to stay at The Relais, which looked very special.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,723
    526
    170
    55
    34
See reviews for
340
1,675
32
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

I booked a twin room as a special treat for two nights at the end of a 10-day holiday in France and Belgium. It is in a quiet spot in the heart of the city, and has a pleasant garden and terrace.
We were greeted at the door as valued guests, and although we were not able to access the room until the stroke of 3pm the member of staff (Martyn) showed us on a map the best places to go and some of the recommended restaurants, while our car was taken to the underground car park ( €30 a night!!). He eventually showed us to the room at 3pm on the dot and explained some of its features.

On the way to the room on the third floor we had noticed a distinct smell of bad drains, which was also present to a lesser extent in our room. After opening the windows it cleared but was still present on the landing throughout our stay.

The two duvets gave the impression that it was a twin room, but later in the evening we realised it was a double and at our request it was changed promptly by the receptionist and the "turn-down" lady.
On returning to the room the next afternoon we noticed that the beds had been re-made as a double, and that there was a large cleaning cloth left on the floor of the bathroom. The receptionist sent the same "turn-down" lady to correct it, and she did so while huffing and puffing objectionably as we sat in the room.
The hotel has been beautifully restored and furnished, and the staff (with this one exception) couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful. The room was very comfortable and extremely quiet.
When I asked to see the manager before settling our bill she listened to my complaints and patronisingly sympathised with us and thanked us for bringing them to her attention. She tried to explain away the smell by blaming occasional problems in the street three floors below! When I asked if she would perhaps consider just reducing the parking fee of €60 as some sort of compensation for the inconveniences and shortcomings in this supposedly 5 Star hotel she refused and offered instead a grotesque furry "Kempinski Mouse"! Others may have kicked up more of a stink (to match that of the drains), but we called it a day and vowed not to return.
5 Stars? 5 Star price maybe, but not 5 Star quality in our experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed here for three nights over a weekend (Friday to Sunday night inclusive). Hotel is absolutely stunning. Very central in Bruges, within 5 minutes walk of the main square and less than a minutes walk from the main shopping street.
The hotel is spotlessly clean, the staff friendly and the food excellant (although we only ate in for breakfast).
An expensive hotel but really worth the extra.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Failureandfat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

I booked a gourmet package for two nights; standard twin, champagne breakfasts and one dinner. The public areas in this hotel are beautifully decorated. The bedrooms are fine. They have spacious and very stylish bathrooms. We were not satisfied with our corner room which looked directly at a wall and were moved immediately to a garden view room which was much more pleasant. Breakfast was lovely. Dinner was something quite wonderful; a seven course tasting menu. The hotel was very quiet and the dining room almost empty. This was a shame as the chef cooks like an angel! I checked out the leisure centre and it looked very nice.
This is an expensive hotel. I was disappointed with the bedrooms, impressed by the public rooms and blown away by the wonderful food.
I would recommend it as a treat.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

We had four magical dys in Bruges - in part due to out staying in this hotel. Ideally situated very central but remarkably quiet. Excellent service and beautiful surroundings. I would recommend this hotel completely

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

Beautiful, elegant hotel, check-in was quick and easy and we were treated like royalty. We were greeted by name every time we walked by the front desk. Fitness center is magnificent. Beautiful but small indoor pool but such a gorgeous setting. I forgot to bring headphones and when I asked the front desk later if they had a spare pair, brand new headphones were brought to our room. Everything is done with a smile and every request is granted. Lovely area to sit outdoors but alas it rained the entire time, so we couldn't use it. We were sad to leave!

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank babcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2009

A night in Brugge was a splurge and the hotel was definitely worth it. Service was immediate, competent, and attentive. Rooms were a very good size and the bathroom was fabulous. The hotel bar is very welcoming and comfortable place to relax and mingle after dinner out. Location was walking distance to the market square.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Property: Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing