We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but misses some details”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Jodoigne, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice but misses some details”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

I had a room with view on the garden. Room and bathroom were very clean. I didn't like the carpet in the room because of allergy. Toiletries: quite a few and a very good brand (L'Occitane en Provence). Minibar was ridiculously expensive (3.50€ for a small bottle of water) i went to the nightshop to get a 2 ltr bottle at 2 €. This kind of hotel (5*) should offer a free bottle of water. Also there were no coffee or tea making facilities which was disappointing. The bed was good however the pillows were way too thick. Woke up in the middle of the night with neck pain. Switched my pillow with a smaller, decorative pillow. Free laptop safe however not suitable for 17 inch laptop. I appreciated that the windows could open. Staff was very friendly however my person checking me in was very young and unexperienced because she didn't give me a full explanation where the restaurant was, timing of breakfast etc. Whilst the person next to her checking in my colleague did. Luckily i could pick up some info.
I was there wirh 7 colleagues and we had booked a meeting room for a 2 day meeting. The meetingroom became very hot although airco was constantly on. The room had big windows capturing sun as of noon so warming up the room. Staff was so friendly to provide us with a fan. We had 2 lunches at the hotel. Small portions of a la carte menu but was very good. We also had 2 coffebreaks and that was very well done: coffee, juices, fruit, sweets, actimel. A real treat! All served in the beautiful garden. The breakfast was great. Although less clear that it was served in 2 areas. bread, cheese, meat etc was served in the seating area whilst the rest of the splendid breakfast was served elsewhere. Luckily my colleagues found out before I arrived. There was a lot of choice. Really very nice. We had drinks at the bar before going for dinner and service was top! We asked for a restaurant recommendation. Hotel took care of the booking of the resto. It was a very good choice (Brasserie Raymond). Meeting room was very well organized (2 flipcharts, screen, projector, writing pads, pens, water) After our coffee break on day 2 staff had put chocolates as a farewell gift in the meeting room. Nice! Staff was very flexible too. Due to time constraint we asked to serve the dessert after lunch in the meeting room. No issues at all.
Proximity to city centre is a big advantage. Parking in the garage is pretty expensive.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tineke07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,761
    530
    174
    55
    34
See reviews for
347
1,706
32
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

The locations is excellent near the center of Brugge
The Gardens are not to be missed--serenity in the middle of a busy city
The staff could be a little friendlier and the room that we were in was clean but very barren-could have used a magazine on the table or maybe even a few fresh flowers to brighten up the place

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sijboukje13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

stayed for a weekend in july at the hotel dukes palace. It is a lovely hotel in the heart of bruges which itself is lovely.The décor is good, the staff are mainly excellent though there was one breakfast server that was indifferent vs the rest and breakfast quality was very good including plenty of chocolate and cava if you fancy it at breakfast though fresh fruit salad was somewhat basic. bedroom was well furnished though a bit difficult getting out of the high sided bath after showering and we are fit and healthy. The only downside which was a major issue was the bathroom ventilation came on at 7am automatically and was loud which prevented having a lie in at the weekend - really unacceptable and staff state wont override it -otherwise i would have rated hotel as excellent

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulinDorridge87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My expectation were very high upon arrival and they were quickly deflated. Check-in was rather unsettling- too many people crowded around a very small check-in area, but this is not really a big problem. The problem was that we were given a room that had not been cleaned from the previous customers! I was shocked to see upon entrance that the blankets were all over the place, towels on the ground... I went down to the reception, and they said a computer bug may have been the reason. I accepted the explanation, grudgingly. I came back a few hours later and was given access to the same room, it was clean, but with two major problems: I had insisted upon check-in and in my reservation that we have two separate beds, and it was one... I called the reception desk and the person said..."impossible, there are two rooms.." There was one! In about 15 minutes the beds were redone and problem solved. Two so far in what was supposed to be a special weekend in Brugges. Third problem: TV did not work.. and they had to come up and fix it. I was at this point regretting my choice of hotel!
So why 4 stars on Tripadvisor and not 3 or 2? Two reasons, the hotel is really beautiful and full of history, and the restaurant was very good although not cheap.
Breakfast was great, but here again, the lack of communication seemed to be problematic, no one actually tells you there is a second buffet in a room nearby! And for the coffee, I had to almost stand up and run after the attendants to get their attention since very few people seemed to be working in a very large room.
I think the only reason I am not putting a poor score overall is the location and the grand and beautiful nature of this historic hotel. Will i stay there again? Not sure... A very special event was disappointing.

Room Tip: The view from the rooms is fantastic if you get a higher floor... It is great to get one of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flying M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here back in February for 3 night/4 day stay at Hotel Dukes' Palace Brugge, and what a amazing time we had! Every single member of staff was delightful; they were polite, courteous and bent over backwards to ensure we were happy. The hotel was very clean inside and outside. Our rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels left daily. The food was amazing especially the breakfast OMG the selection is just gobsmacking. I did not want to leave. The staff are very friendly and delightful. The front desk are also very helpful. Thank you for all your delicious restaurants options nearby.I wouldn't hesitate to a) recommend this hotel to others and b) return for another visit! I think the value for money is outstanding. I will be coming back next year with my girls again and this time 10 of us.
This place deserves a yearly visit.

Also thank you for the special upgrade for a special occasion. ( one year anniversary).
Beauitful touch to the break.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tare U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The location was excellent and the beds were superb. The rooms were very spacious with huge bathrooms and houskeeping did an excellent job cleaning. Where the hotel fell short was the service - we sat in the bar one night for 30 minutes before we left because no one came over. Another night we wanted dessert and they said we could only have dessert if we sat down for dinner. Huh? The hotel is an older hotel and had a sewage smell in the hallway - luckily it wasn't in the room. Next time we go, we'll try another hotel. Wasn't bad, just not special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a nice view - it was one of the highlights of our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DSMTravel91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is the only 5* hotel in Bruges and well worth a visit. It is located in an ideal spot for all the attractions bruges has to offer. The staff are all polite, helpful and efficient. We stayed for two nights in a superior garden room. It was clean and very comfortable, beautifully decorated with a huge comfy bed. The bathroom was gorgeous. We had a lovely view of the beautiful gardens. It was peaceful. The breakfast provided a huge selection of quality food which set you up for the day in a lovely dining room. We loved sitting in the bar for a drink before going out for a meal and going back afterwards for a night cap. Highly recommend for your visit to Bruges.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking garden very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshbird22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Property: Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing