We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like a prince and princess in this palace hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #14 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We spent 3 nights in a garden view room. Spacious, well appointed and very large room ( for a European hotel). Front desk staff doubles as concierges could not be more helpful. Wonderful location that allowed us to walk to all the shops and sites, including the train station.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,321 - 1,327 of 2,769 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is a lovely place to stay. Formerly the dukes palace and renovated to be a hotel it is full of turns and levels with windows to give you the old world feel with all the comforts of the present. The location is perfect. It is quiet but only a couple of blocks away from the main places you want to see and enjoy. Breakfast is a bit of a fun treasure hunt to locate all the food but it just adds to the charm. The beds are great and the rooms have windows that open two ways to accommodate ventilation if you wish, however the rooms are air conditioned.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhotographVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Facilities are great, rooms with a good size for Europe standards and a great location in walking distance from all historic places and stores plus great places to eat.Service was helpful with everything we needed, directions, restaurant recommendation, etc...When in Brugge stay at the Dukes Palace.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Jp1728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We visited Bruges in springtime and stayed in Duke's Palace for three night's in the middle of a week. Location is absolutely perfect because hotel is situating around the corner away from street noise but only 100 meters from Grote Markt. Sleeping quality is fantastic due to quiet room, good air conditioning and a very comfortable and clean bed. From a 4th floor we had a very nice view to the Belfry, Church of Our Lady and Saint Salvator’s Cathedral which look amazing in night when they are being lid from below. Very helpful staff gave us many good recommendations about restaurants where to eat and taste beers. The room was very clean overall but we did find a cigarett stub in the floor. There was also a dark stain in the lampshade. Wiring of the old looking TV was clearly visible and it’s remote control wasn’t working all of the time . We didn’t eat in the hotel and we didn’t use the spa so no comments there.

Duke’s Palace isn’t quite worth of five stars, more like a four, but however, it has a very good overall quality and value for the money (93€ / night / person).

+ Location
+ Very helpful staff
+ Quiet room (4th floor)
+ Sleeping quality
+ View (4th floor, southeast window)
+ Overall stylish surrounding in an historical building

- There was something wrong with shower's plumbing as the water didn't drained off as quickly as it normally does
- Cigaret stub in the floor, stain in the lampshade
- Old looking TV with a remote control that only worked most of the time

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jurahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed here at Dukes Palace for a weekend visiting Brugge. This is one of the nicest hotels you can treat yourself with. You feel special from the time you check-in.
Location is fantastic, although our GPS had trouble to find it.

We slept fantastic, breakfast although expensive, was lovely. The hotel is set up with all the main level rooms being used for different purposes. The bar/lounge is great!

I would have liked to see some water in the rooms for the guests.

Room Tip: Try NOT to get a room that has a connecting room. The noise from our neighbours was irritating even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daschielover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Very comfortable, great location, decent breakfast but hopeless service: room service bought tea with cold water, bar staff produced shrimp croquettes with no shrimps in them, and we had to wait almost 30 minutes for front desk staff to produce an accurate bill on check out.

Spa was well appointed but no sign of the swimming pool shown in the various brochures and publicity material.

Could be a really great hotel if management got a better grip.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Toby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The Dukes Palace is a beautiful hotel with stylish decor & furnishings. We stayed in room 209 (only half a garden view, the left half was a rather drab view of roofs)
Our bed was very comfy and room was immaculate. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a perfect break in Brugge.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $178 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing