We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure to ask for double bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Hotel is located in a great central location, very close to the the Gross Markt and nice neighborhood. The breakfast buffer has a very good selection and is delicious, definitely recommended. The free wifi is also a good bonus. The garden view is nice but not much to see during the winter I would say. Otherwise, the hotel is quite nice but the price is also quite full for what you get.

On the negative side, the hotel couldn't give us a double bed even though we had booked a "twin or double bed" in booking.com, they said the default is two separate twin beds and if you want a double bed you have to specify and they had no double bed rooms free at the moment. Never had any problem with this in any other hotel and thought this was not acceptable. Plus if this is the case, you should really have separate bookings for twin and double rooms.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a double bed if you want one, the hotel seems to think two twin beds is default...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpax1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,732)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,342 - 1,348 of 2,732 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

Inside and out this hotel is amazing. Friendly helpful staff, gorgeous spacious rooms and wonderful breakfasts. In the heart of Bruges so easy to find. We stayed for 2 nights and wished it was more!! Only 5 minute taxi journey from station so cheap taxi fare

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Each year I escape with my other half for a break in January for my birthday. This year was Bruges. This amazing hotel was exactly what was needed. The room was beautiful, the toiletries l'occitane, amongst other things there was chocolate and sparkling wine at breakfast, there was a wonderful spa and the public areas were comfortable and afforded me the chance of some chess lessons from my man. The staff could not have been more attentive and helpful if they tried. But this is what we found throughout our trip to Belgium. We are looking for another excuse to visit Belgium as the whole experience was wonderful. We did not dine in the restaurant at the hotel but it looked beautiful and another couple we were speaking to at the bar said theirs had been lovely. Perhaps that's reason enough for our return visit.....

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Lollaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in late November, and were not disappointed.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. When we arrived we had twin beds in our room rather than the double that we had requested, and the staff were quick to apologise for this and happily made our twin beds into a double. The room was big, the bar was lovely and had a great range of drinks avaliable, great location and within easy reach of the Market.


The Spa was a lovely touch, being able to use the swimming pool and sauna.
Would recommend the hotel and would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roo1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in a suite overlooking gardens and Bruge rooftops!!
Very impressed with room and staff. Had afternoon tea one day , great !!
My wife and myself took advantage of the spa one day and came out feeling very relaxed .
Great central location 5 mins from station.
Bruge , chocolate heaven :) :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and the experience was fantastic! From the second we arrived the service was wonderful! We had a lovely room in the old part of the building, which was beautifully furnished. We were given complimentary chocolates, a nice touch.
Location was perfect for the Markt.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old building, we had 211 and it was lovely.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

As we got intake our taxi at Brugge station we were told that the hotel dukes place was the only 5 star hotel in Bruges, this was made incredibly apparent on our stay as the staff were so accommodating. Restaurant suggestions and bar suggestions were all fantastic and they supplied us with extras such as forgotten pillows and toothpaste within moments if asking. The spa was under refurbishment on our stay but we could and did use one of the sister hotels across town. I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to spoil themselves or a loved one.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $181 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing