We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #14 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Central location in old palace, so lots of character and stunning features. Staff were helpful and our room was fantastic. Enormous bed and two amazing views both over courtyard of hotel with its amazing guild sculptures and out over the city centre. Swimming pool was lovely but the spa was not working which was disappointing. No tea and coffee facilities in room but we were brough fresh coffee and croissants free of charge each morning when we complained.

Room Tip: Top floor over looking the courtyard had huge bathroom and stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EMC200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,787
    539
    176
    55
    35
See reviews for
353
1,729
33
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

A fairytale-castle of a hotel with period features, lush décor and sumptuously kitted-out, Dukes' Palace is probably the best hotel I've ever visited. Starting with the room - a superior double - biggest bed I've ever slept in, L'Occataine toiletries, gorgeous furniture, large wet room/shower and separate bath, a charger in the safe (presumably for tablets etc), large TV with all major channels... it was difficult to leave! We did manage to drag ourselves away with high hopes for breakfast and weren't disappointed. Maybe we're not regular-enough visitors to 5* destinations, but the champagne and Belgian chocolate slabs were an unexpected delight - and the rest of the food (usual continental and cooked options, but add smoked salmon, many many juices and the generosity of it all) was just wonderful.

The hotel was decorated for Christmas and was simply lovely. We also liked the gardens with their sculpture and views of the surrounding landmarks.

The staff were really friendly, especially the gentlemen who served us in the bar in the evenings. They were also keen to help us find our way around the city, look after our luggage, call us taxis etc.

On the final morning we rushed down to the spa before breakfast and found wonderful facilities (entirely empty, so we had them to ourselves) which we wished we'd sampled sooner. A beautiful pool and steam and sauna rooms around the corner. Plus the showers down there had higher water pressure than our room, so I was able to wash my hair much quicker.

I have nothing but praise for this hotel and recommend it highly!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoeOfShalott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

A very nice hotel in a great location. Our Superior Room was large and comfortable but the glass-walled bathroom with a window into the room was slightly disconcerting even with the window blind closed. Room was extremely warm and adjusting the air conditioning didn't resolve the issue.

As the hotel has a five star rating was disappointed to find no tea/coffee making facilities in the room and no coffee shops close by to get an early morning cuppa or breakfast as most cafes don't open until 10 am or so. Hotel meals are very expensive but fortunately there are numerous restaurants within a five minute stroll. The local delicacies are tasty and well worth trying.

The bar opens into the hotel gardens which are beautiful and in summer this will be a superb area to have a leisurely drink and enjoy the surroundings.

Would certainly book this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J40ASH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent England
Level Contributor
184 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We loved this hotel. From the outside it has a kind of magical castle feel with it's turret. Inside it is tastefully decorated and has a luxurious feel. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful, giving directions to restaurants and train times. My partner used the gym, pool and sauna and was impressed with the facilities. Our room was large and had a lovely bathroom with bath and separate shower. The bed was huge and really comfy. The breakfast was great, with lots of choice. Fruit, pastries, pancakes, cereals, cold meats, salmon, cheeses, rolls and a large selection for those wanting a cooked breakfast. Those feeling particularly decadent could have champagne and Belgium chocolate! The bar had a nice atmosphere too. Lots of comfortable seating and a good choice of drinks. We thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Had a friends trip away and decided to treat ourselves and booked the Dukes Palace. On arrival greeted by a very grand impressive building, wow! promise of things to come. As the organiser of the trip, praises were bestowed on what a great choice of accomodation. Sadly, it stoped there. Reception was pleasant enough on check-in, delivering the standard lines they had been taught....."your rooms will not be ready until check in time - 3pm".....now it was not peak period and it was bvious from our stay that the hotel may have had only a quarter of its rooms full.....I cannot remember the last time I arrived at a hotel in low season and was not given a room....a petty attitude. We got back to the hotel after 6 and where assigned rooms. My superior room was fine although nothing special but my friends rooms had issues and they were moved into other rooms. However it did take 2 calls to reception to send someone to investigate.....a wasted 40 minutes of our time. Went out for dinner and on our return found that the heating in the new rooms did not work nor was the water in the shower hot. At 11pm they were offered another room but decided they were too tired to move and accepted a room heater. Unfortunately they had a very uncomfortable night since the heater had no thermosat. On checkout no apolgy was offered and the manager refused to discuss the room issues. I was charged for a breakfast I did not have and not taking my word for it the receptionist took 10 minutes to sort the issue out with the manager. So a 5 star hotel that does not provide a bottle of water, tea or coffee facilities and borders on surliness ....a sad reflection. Unfortunately they dont understand what customers expect from a 5 star hotel ....if they treated their guests as guests not an inconvenience they would do a lot better.....this could have been very memorable....sady it was but for the wrong reasons

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walpolepark11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in November. The hotel has recently (June) been taken over, it used to be a Kempinski hotel. The food and rooms are really good, however it does show signs of reducing quality due to loss of Kempinski brand. Be careful, this is a very expensive hotel, but the service (except front desk) is not as you would expect. Housekeeping not answering phone etc. also I made a mistake on my booking, and hotel refuses to do anything in the form of at least a partial refund. When the hotel is around €350 a night this is not good. Bed was really soft, feet seemed higher than head making our sleep not so good. The main staircase slopes from the wall alarmingly

Room Tip: As for room in Kastel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duckula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were bookked at Hotel Casselbergh and notified 2 days before check-in that we were being upgraded to Dukes Palace. I wasn't happy about this based on the reviews and ratings of both hotels on T.A. We had chosen what we wanted and I spent a while researching and debating whether to book somewhere else. We travelled with friends for a birthday treat and they opted to stick with Dukes Palace.
We took a taxi from the train station and were met by a doorman who warned us about the automatic doors closing on us but didn't help with luggage.
I had e-mailed and stated that we wanted tea and coffee-making facilities in our rooms, as we would have had these in the Casselbergh.
Upon check-in, I was told they were only provided in suites. However, when the receptionist checked, these had been put in our rooms.
The rooms were clean and furnished well, but nothing outstanding. Our bed was large and very comfortable but our friends had two singles with single quilts.
We tried out the pool and spa twice-just about adequate. We went last thing one evening to find wet towels spilling out of the baskets and no water or cups. Someone should be checking this throughout the day. I rang Reception and water and cups were refilled.
Breakfast had an excellent cold selection but what should have been hot never was-a great let-down. The lay-out could be seen as quirky with separate rooms and food and drink in different places, but I felt this was really impractical. Many items were constantly needing to be replaced and when asked the staff would bring them. We weren't ever asked if we wanted more tea and coffee and plates, dishes etc weren't cleared from the table as we ate. One morning, the milk urn nearly fell off the shelf as it was empty.
The first morning of our stay after a late night we were woken up by really loud music at 7am [two hours before we intended to get up]. This music stopped after a while but went off again at 7.30 and 8am. When I rang down to Reception they said it must have been an alarm call next door. I went to see the Receptionist after breakfast and was assured that if the T.V. was set as an alarm, they would check it out to ensure we wouldn't be disturbed again. However, next morning, the same again. This time I was told it wouldn't happen again as the guests had checked out.
We came back around 4.30 one day and our room had not been serviced. We went out again and upon our return, the bare minimum had been done in the room-bed not made up properly, no tea and coffee items replaced and no vacuuming.
The location of the hotel was excellent.
We really liked Bruges but after being woken up early two days running, the cold hot breakfasts and having to keep asking for things which at a five star hotel you shouldn't have to I would have been happier to stay at the Casselbergh.
AS we only paid roughly half the cost I am basing my stars on that, otherwise I would have rated it lower for value.

.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Property: Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing