We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This could be special....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“This could be special....”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Had a friends trip away and decided to treat ourselves and booked the Dukes Palace. On arrival greeted by a very grand impressive building, wow! promise of things to come. As the organiser of the trip, praises were bestowed on what a great choice of accomodation. Sadly, it stoped there. Reception was pleasant enough on check-in, delivering the standard lines they had been taught....."your rooms will not be ready until check in time - 3pm".....now it was not peak period and it was bvious from our stay that the hotel may have had only a quarter of its rooms full.....I cannot remember the last time I arrived at a hotel in low season and was not given a room....a petty attitude. We got back to the hotel after 6 and where assigned rooms. My superior room was fine although nothing special but my friends rooms had issues and they were moved into other rooms. However it did take 2 calls to reception to send someone to investigate.....a wasted 40 minutes of our time. Went out for dinner and on our return found that the heating in the new rooms did not work nor was the water in the shower hot. At 11pm they were offered another room but decided they were too tired to move and accepted a room heater. Unfortunately they had a very uncomfortable night since the heater had no thermosat. On checkout no apolgy was offered and the manager refused to discuss the room issues. I was charged for a breakfast I did not have and not taking my word for it the receptionist took 10 minutes to sort the issue out with the manager. So a 5 star hotel that does not provide a bottle of water, tea or coffee facilities and borders on surliness ....a sad reflection. Unfortunately they dont understand what customers expect from a 5 star hotel ....if they treated their guests as guests not an inconvenience they would do a lot better.....this could have been very memorable....sady it was but for the wrong reasons

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walpolepark11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,758
    530
    174
    55
    34
See reviews for
347
1,703
32
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in November. The hotel has recently (June) been taken over, it used to be a Kempinski hotel. The food and rooms are really good, however it does show signs of reducing quality due to loss of Kempinski brand. Be careful, this is a very expensive hotel, but the service (except front desk) is not as you would expect. Housekeeping not answering phone etc. also I made a mistake on my booking, and hotel refuses to do anything in the form of at least a partial refund. When the hotel is around €350 a night this is not good. Bed was really soft, feet seemed higher than head making our sleep not so good. The main staircase slopes from the wall alarmingly

Room Tip: As for room in Kastel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duckula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were bookked at Hotel Casselbergh and notified 2 days before check-in that we were being upgraded to Dukes Palace. I wasn't happy about this based on the reviews and ratings of both hotels on T.A. We had chosen what we wanted and I spent a while researching and debating whether to book somewhere else. We travelled with friends for a birthday treat and they opted to stick with Dukes Palace.
We took a taxi from the train station and were met by a doorman who warned us about the automatic doors closing on us but didn't help with luggage.
I had e-mailed and stated that we wanted tea and coffee-making facilities in our rooms, as we would have had these in the Casselbergh.
Upon check-in, I was told they were only provided in suites. However, when the receptionist checked, these had been put in our rooms.
The rooms were clean and furnished well, but nothing outstanding. Our bed was large and very comfortable but our friends had two singles with single quilts.
We tried out the pool and spa twice-just about adequate. We went last thing one evening to find wet towels spilling out of the baskets and no water or cups. Someone should be checking this throughout the day. I rang Reception and water and cups were refilled.
Breakfast had an excellent cold selection but what should have been hot never was-a great let-down. The lay-out could be seen as quirky with separate rooms and food and drink in different places, but I felt this was really impractical. Many items were constantly needing to be replaced and when asked the staff would bring them. We weren't ever asked if we wanted more tea and coffee and plates, dishes etc weren't cleared from the table as we ate. One morning, the milk urn nearly fell off the shelf as it was empty.
The first morning of our stay after a late night we were woken up by really loud music at 7am [two hours before we intended to get up]. This music stopped after a while but went off again at 7.30 and 8am. When I rang down to Reception they said it must have been an alarm call next door. I went to see the Receptionist after breakfast and was assured that if the T.V. was set as an alarm, they would check it out to ensure we wouldn't be disturbed again. However, next morning, the same again. This time I was told it wouldn't happen again as the guests had checked out.
We came back around 4.30 one day and our room had not been serviced. We went out again and upon our return, the bare minimum had been done in the room-bed not made up properly, no tea and coffee items replaced and no vacuuming.
The location of the hotel was excellent.
We really liked Bruges but after being woken up early two days running, the cold hot breakfasts and having to keep asking for things which at a five star hotel you shouldn't have to I would have been happier to stay at the Casselbergh.
AS we only paid roughly half the cost I am basing my stars on that, otherwise I would have rated it lower for value.

.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival at Duke's Palace I was amazed by the structure and it's interiors. Lovely place to stay in and it's location is perfect for those that would love to explore Brugge. The breakfast buffet is very reasonable and good. And their staff is very courteous and helpful to tourist .

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Wencerom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed in the Dukes Palace hotel for two nights in mid November.

We had a lovely warm welcome from the hotel staff and after a quick beer in the bar we were shown to our room, which was lovely and spacious with extremely comfy beds.

The hotel is in a great location for exploring the town, market place and canals.

Make sure you take some time out and explore the hotel; there are some amazing views of Bruges from the top of the steeple.

The breakfast is also a must, which includes Prosecco and Belgian chocolate, a great way to start the day!

The only slight downside was that the Sauna and Steam room were not working during our stay.

However this is a lovely hotel and we will be returning on our next trip to Bruges.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmangan91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

When you take a fair lady to a city like Bruges you hope to enchant her with more than your aftershave and book of jokes. To this end and having navigated the multiple room options (a junior, superior suite was where the finger landed) I booked the Hotel Dukes Palace with high hopes of marital success given its 5 star status and THOSE towers. Walt Disney continues to guide my path.
Having trailed the 15 minute walk from the station while carrying the 20kg suitcase (cobbles and wheels make a headache inducing sound; that of the fair lady complaining of the noise) I was exhausted but welcomed with smiles when entering the Dukes. Having been provided with two room keys we entered our impressive bedroom which brought the first smile of the trip from the fair lady. Eveything was in working order and the bathroom contained both a shower and a bath. The toiletries, I was informed, were excellent. Good job I paid extra for them, I said, with a wink.
Upon exiting the building and close by, were restaurants and bars of great order. The city square was a stones throw away (though you'd have to be pretty good at it and able to throw high). The city was lovely. All restaurants I used to enchant my fair lady were of great success, showing that capitalism does have its merits. The following day breakfast was also lovely. I loved the idea that Champagne was included and helped myself to 8 bottles. This is untrue. I doubt anyone ever has any, which is a shame as it just sits there looking lonely. On the downside the sneeky IT manager has put TWO wifi signals in the hotel, one "free" and the other one fast and expensive. Hence they give you slow 'free' wifi with an upgrade option. Shame on them for the price they charge. The Spa was also a bit tired - the steam room reminded me of my old school swimming pool. All the staff were very friendly. They gave you a free chocolate at night. The pillows were the worst I have experienced. There was a choice of an oversized rock hard cushion or a lifeless huge empty one. Though I have taken my personal pillow with me in the past, so fussiness is an issue that I must confess too. Good news - Nice place, great city. Bad news - she said no and told me I can try harder to impress. Thats all folks!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jimmykurt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend break with my wife. Great hotel and excellent service. Breakfast was really good and a great way to start the day. The spa facilities were a great way of ending the day after spending all day walking around Bruge. The bar was really nice to come back to after dinner for a quiet drink although service wasn't the fastest, but still nice way to finish the day. Definitely recommend this hotel and only a short walk to main square. Hotel room we had on 5th floor was reasonable size with satellite tv and free wi-fi and good size bathroom with large walk in shower cubicle and very clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OracLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Property: Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing