We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great hotel with excellent service”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend break with my wife. Great hotel and excellent service. Breakfast was really good and a great way to start the day. The spa facilities were a great way of ending the day after spending all day walking around Bruge. The bar was really nice to come back to after dinner for a quiet drink although service wasn't the fastest, but still nice way to finish the day. Definitely recommend this hotel and only a short walk to main square. Hotel room we had on 5th floor was reasonable size with satellite tv and free wi-fi and good size bathroom with large walk in shower cubicle and very clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OracLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,812
    548
    176
    55
    35
See reviews for
357
1,751
35
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

On arrival struggled in to the reception with our bags, no concierge service. Checkin was relatively quick, struggled up to our room with our bags again no assistance, the first time I have stayed in a 5* hotel where they
Ointment you towards the luggage cart if you need assistance and where you are left to get on with it .

Got to our room, first impressions, very nice spacious and functional, however let down by the cleanliness of the bathroom! Hair still in shower, marks up the wall, pubes still in the bath!!!

Unfortunately this marred our stay. To be fair they did send a cleaner immediately.

Room Tip: Get a clean one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilgrim-Roamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The hotel is located close to everything in Brugge, but then again Brugge is a small cozy beautiful town. Rooms are very cozy, with nice thought out touches. The lobby and lounge areas are very welcoming. The service was very well tuned.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anoulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were transferred from the Casselburgh and the lady checking us in seemed to think she was doing us a great favour. There are two desks for check in which are not always manned. The room was fine. The air conditioning was dismal - we called the desk who told us to have it on the coldest temp and the highest fan - which made no difference at all. Reading other reviews the hotel have been aware of the awful air conditioning for some time. It isn't pleasant trying to sleep in a hot, stuffy, room.

The staff were functional rather than pleasant. The hotel itself seemed to lack a pleasant atmosphere. Breakfast was included in our room rate but after the first morning, when we encountered really bad service, we chose to walk into town and eat there. We attempted to have lunch in the hotel but were told that the single table that was occupied was for a business meeting (of four people) and so they were not doing lunch that day. Once more we were made to feel as if we were intruders and not guests.

Bruges was lovely. The hotel, however, was over priced and not welcoming. We will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Desertblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Classy hotel and ideal location. But twin beds, not double and no tea/coffee making in the room. It was also too hot, stuffy & seemingly heating couldn't be turned down. Decor, breakfast and leisure facilities very good.
We also were moved last minute from sister hotel castleburg.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The hotel is very central, high quality finish, royal feel with excellent rooms and service was unobtrusive, but perfect.
Will recommend this hotel strongly for someone that enjoys classic decor, peaceful surroundings, but very central.
We enjoyed the champange included in breakfast menu, good bar and lounge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilse137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed for one night last week to celebrate a birthday. This is a wonderful hotel. The staff are truly great and made our stay very relaxing. We had some confusion about our booking and were initially allocated twin beds but were moved to accommodate our request for a king/double despite the hotel being fully booked. Thank you Marie. The bar area is great over looking the lovely gardens and breakfast offered a good choice in a relaxing environment. The staff were happy to park our car and the 25euro for overnight parking was very good especially as we left the car until 14.00 on the day of checkout. The hotel has a small pool area and sauna which we had exclusive use of as very quiet. I can not recommend this hotel enough and we are already planning our next trip. Bruges is wonderful city with the most friendly people.

Room Tip: We had room 123. Very quiet and well layer out. Not a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
700 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Property: Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing