We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellence”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had one night in a junior suite at Hotel Dukes Palace on 13 October repeating a similar stay last January, prior to returning to the UK on the Zeebrugge to Hull ferry crossing. On arrival, the porter who had valet parked our car in January recognised us immediately - impressive. We had a beautiful room with the most comfortable hotel bed ever. Service and breakfast were impeccable. I have stayed in hotels with more efficient receptions, but we ourselves didn't suffer any of the reception based problems I have read in other reviews of this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,767
    533
    174
    55
    34
See reviews for
349
1,712
32
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have just returned home from an incredible weekend in Bruges. The hotel was spot on, we wanted somewhere for a romantic weekend away that also had a modern feel and we were not disappointed. We stayed in a Superior Room with Garden View and we were really pleased with the cleanliness, standard and size of the room. The bed was huge. The staff were at all times friendly, assisting us with the few queries we had. The breakfast was good, not my most memorable breakfast experience (apart from the slabs of chocolate!); we wanted to enjoy the food in the city so we deliberately limited our breakfast so we had space for chocolates, waffles and then lunch! The spa was good, it is not the most incredible spa in terms of the facilities but the quality of the spa and gym was high. The only trick they missed is that they didn't put a chocolate on our pillow when the came to turn down the room... I thought that would be a quality touch in this chocolate centred location!

Room Tip: Garden room probably makes for a quieter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank An_objective_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

I was REALLY disappointed with this hotel! My friend and i booked in for a back massage and when i returned home, i found out they had charged me on my debit card and charged me again for my friend and i on my credit card. I thought a hotel with this rating would sort it out swiftly. I logged my complaint end of september and it has only just been sorted out. I had to chase many times for an update. Despite them being in the wrong, they appeared totally unconcerned. Glad it has now been sorted, i would never go to this hotel again.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank 255sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This magnificently well kept place makes you feel like you have gone back in time. It has the most wonderful renovated bathrooms, great amenities and decoration for a very reasonable price. It is well located, near the train station and the marvelous center of the city. Breakfast is a dream come true, with champagne and belgium chocolate to choose... Would return any time.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ileanarw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We went to Bruges for a short weekend break and stayed here for two nights. The hotel was very full and we got the last room available to us on lastminute.com. The hotel is stunning on the outside but surprisingly bland on the inside. It is, however, very central and we didn't need our car the whole time.

The room was quite large and very clean with a wall mounted TV with BBC1 and BBC 2 which was a nice change, we don't go on holiday to watch telly but it is nice background noise when you're in the room. The bathroom was large and very clean. The shower and the bath were a disappointment; The shower was a dribble, you had to run around to get wet and the bath was slow to fill and lukewarm. There were plenty of toiletries made by L'Occitane, but no shower cap.

We ate at the restaurant the first evening. The food was very good and well presented, but we discovered that Belgium desserts are very limited in all restaurants. In the morning, the hot breakfast food was cold, which was a disappointment and the plates weren't warmed either which didn't help. There was plenty of choice, however, the cheese and fish selection was extensive and, of course, there was the Chocolate Bar, which made a very good "dessert".

The staff were all very friendly, all spoke excellent English (as did most people in the City who deal with the public).

All in all, the niggles were minor and this was a perfect weekend break, highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roz1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here for one night and would have been happy to stay for more nights if the hotel hadnt been fully booked. Great location, friendly helpful staff and great room. The place had a lovely feel to it, real luxury...recommended!!

Room Tip: We got an upgrade upon arrival...what a start!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Really good breakfasts catering to all tastes. Generally a top hotel and perfectly located in a quiet courtyard not far from the main square. Drink beer, eat chocolate, eat waffles, eat more chocolate, be happy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeandroUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Property: Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing