We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of things.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Spent two nights in this beautiful hotel in the centre of Bruges. You can't help but go 'wow' when you arrive with it's wonderful fairy tale tower. I very rarely give 5* but this place does deserve it. Beautiful guest areas, spacious rooms, plenty of big towels, robes, very soft beds and friendly staff. Never having stayed in Bruge before we thought the 25 euro charge for breakfast seemed excessive.

However Bruge must be one of the most expensive places to eat in Europe. 2 unremarkable salads with a beer and soft drink are about £50!!!! Compared to this breakfast is a bargain. One of the best I've had. Quality hot selection, excellent range of cheese, hams, bread etc. Vast blocks of Belgian chocolate, unlimited Cava and fresh juices. The orange was super and made an excellent bucks fizz. It really filled us up for the entire day so worth having so you can avoid the pricey eateries.

The spa area is wonderful with a small but beautiful and relaxing pool, sauna and steam room. All mostly deserted when we were there. Could happily spent my entire visit in there!

Being picky the shower does vary between tepid and hot. Also when I enquired at the desk about the boat trips I'd read about on here, the receptionist told me we need to take a taxi to the outskirts of the city. This really puzzled me so called in at the tourist office who then explained the town trips run from various places in the city within a five minute walk. Brought this up at the hotel later and was told they thought I'd wanted a long river trip to Damme. I have no idea where she got that idea from.

And the last niggle is that parking is about 25e per day, but again that is par for the town. However you simply turn up at the door of the hotel, you cases are carried in and the car is valet parked. Back at the front door again within 5mins of booking out and the cases loaded back in.

We got a very good deal on this hotel as we certainly couldn't afford to stay at normal prices so was a real treat. Also despite being in the city centre it has a lovely garden. It must be nice to sit there after walking miles but the weather was too bad during our trip. We love to go back and take the parents as they'd love it.

Room Tip: 419 was nice, looks over the garden but has 2 very large single beds pushed together instead of a do...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OsborneEmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,735)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,436 - 1,442 of 2,735 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

After a dreadful experience in Ostend Thermae Palace, the Dukes Palace was a welcome change. Personnel very friendly, helpful and at your attention. As there were only suites left I got a deluxe suite on the first floor. Some remarks: no turn down service (although I had dinner from 7 to 9 pm). Toiletries were scarce (none in the shower), but I remarked this is becoming a standard in more and more hotels of this category (a pity with respect to the price charged). Otherwise I had a short and pleasant stay.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Kuni07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Hotel is charming with the great location and very friendly staff. Also hotel restaurant can compete with the real good restaurants around, with good food and good service. The atmosphere of the hotel is very romantic, room and bathroom was very spacious.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

A very good Hotel and we found the service by the staff excellent throughout our two night stay which we had booked through shortbreaks.com We had requested a high floor with king bed and we were allocated this on the top floor (5th). I think if we were stopping longer then we would ask for a lower floor than the top as the rooms on the 5th being the top have two alcoves and a window half the normal size. It was still a very good room though and the bathroom excellent, plenty of space and extremely well fitted out and an excellent walk-in shower. The rooms was darker though due to the smaller window.
The Hotel is in one of the best locations in Brugge and has a very good historical ambience.
We used the swimming pool but not the spa. I would rate this more 4 star than 5.
Breakfast was very pleasant with a very good choice but laid out over a wide area and different rooms which was unusual, but fine when we got used to it. Belgian chocolate a nice touch!
Reception staff all very friendly and extremely good. Nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast staff did vary and I think a little more attention and training here to some of them required. On our first morning we were not asked if this was our first time with them and we had to enquire where was the food? On the 2nd day they did ask us if we had been before! The coffee was extremely good but arrived in a nice but small pot so it would be a good gesture if we were asked if we would like more, rather than us trying to get attention. A small point but this attention to detail is what a 5 star hotel must give.
A fridge and mini bar was in the room but No tea or coffee making facilities. This should be provided and also a complimentary bottle of water.
We were not offered a choice of pillows and again this should be.
Wi fi reception very good and complimentary. Worked very well in the room.
So overall very pleased and would certainly use this hotel again but on a lower floor.

Room Tip: We requested a Superior King Size Room on a high floor and we were allocated the top floor which is...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Went there as a party of eight. We arrived a little early to check in to our rooms and the staff was really helpful in giving us a room to put our luggage while the ours were readied. The rooms were worth the wait and the hotel had that little bit of special atmosphere that made a birthday weekend that little bit better. Highly recommend and a very romantic setting.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are very nice
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fancyapintortwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in July while visiting friends in Brugge. We were definitely happy with the all aspects of the hotel. Upon arrival someone was quick to take our hand luggage and check in was fast and smooth. We received a complimentary welcome glass of cava in the bar which has a nice terrace overlooking the large courtyard area. I was quite surprised to see so much open space in the heart of Brugge. Our room was lovely, very comfortable beds, complimentary robes and slippers added a nice touch. We also very much enjoyed the spa area. Everything at the hotel was impeccably clean and the historical touches were very nice. Breakfast was also a lovely surprise with many options for warm and cold dishes, as well as a Belgian Chocolate table and champagne. The only thing we didn't use was the parking garage as I found the public parking 2 blocks away cheaper and just as easily accessible to the hotel. Overall we were very happy with this hotel and will certainly stay here again the next time we are in Brugge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andonelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel (no more Kempinski) is located nicely in historical centre of Bruges, few steps from the Markt square. Set in a small yard off the main street provides for a bit of rest from the busy touristic centre. Hotel has its own garden, decorated with statues, a quiet place.
I got an upgrade to a larger room, while with historic decor, the room was practical and had a large bathroom with both shower and tub.
There was nothing special about the kitchen, but no complaints about food. For breakfast I initially got confused by the fact that only a small selection of food is in the restaurant and most of the stuff is in a room at the back - need to search for this.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Standa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $180 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing