We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were very impressed with this hotel. The staff are very friendly and will do anything for you. They recommended a perfect restaurant for a romantic meal and booked it on our behalf. The room was modern and spacious with the most enormous king size bed. Really great location, just a short stroll down the road to the market square. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,732)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,525 - 1,531 of 2,732 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed during the first weekend in December and had travelled to Bruges for the Christmas market. After a delayed flight and rail journey (Bruges is not that easy to get to if your plans don't run to time and the Belgian rail system is nothing short of chaotic) we then waited 40 mins in the pouring rain to get a taxi. My first piece of advice is to book a taxi to pick you up from the station through the hotel to avoid the wait, cost is 7-10 euros.

Thankfully when we arrived at the hotel the staff couldn't have been more welcoming. The room was great with every amenity except tea/coffee which was my only disappointment and the bathroom was fabulous. We had a meal in the bar and a delicious mug of their own homemade gluhwien. After that the dreadful journey evaporated from our minds and we settled in.

The hotel is centrally located just off one of the main shopping streets and is walking distance to all the main attractions. It has a great bar and restaurant and the food is comparable pricewise to other restaurants in the city, all of which were incredibly busy so we went back to the hotel for a more relaxed meal. On our second evening our package included a 3 course dinner and this turned out to be a set menu. I asked to change the main course as I don't like pheasant and this was accommodated with ease and we were served venison instead. I wouldn't have chosen that either but it was very nice.

We also had a private walking tour included in our package and this was fantastic. It lasted 90 minutes which was perfect and took us slightly off the beaten track. If we hadn't done this we would have missed a lot of the wonderful architecture and history of the city. If you don't have this included, ask the hotel reception team to arrange one for you, it will make a big difference to your stay.

Also get recommendations from the lovely receptionists for restaurants, chocolate shops and places to go. They can help you pick out the highlights of Bruges if you don't have a lot of time to explore on your own.

I would certainly return to Bruges but I would consider driving as parking costs at the hotel outweigh the laborious journey from London for sure. There is so much lovely shopping that you can then easily fill the boot of your car without having to carefully cram everything into a suitcase and lug it on and off trains. The Christmas market did not add much to our visit, I thought it only added people with the main city shops being much more interesting. Next time I return, I will be going in January when the crowds have gone and I look forward to enjoying another luxurious stay at the Kempinski Dukes Palace. Thanks for a fabulous stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac7471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Beautiful hotel in the heart of Bruges. We had a well appointed room with everything you needed. Including Belgian chocolate on arrival. Very comfy bed. Shower wasnt great as the water temp changed very quickly and the pressure wasnt good. Very romantic though and very clean. Friendly hotel staff, receptionist and concierege very helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theanteater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in this hotel. Having never stayed in a 5* hotel before, I can't compare it to another hotel of its class, however when holding it up against 4* and maybe even 3*, I feel that it fell short in some areas. The positives are its great location and its impressive exterior. I saw non guests taking photos as it really does look beautiful. I also found the room to be very clean and well furnished. The hotel itself has a bit of a strange mix of artwork and I found it to be quite confusing. In some ways, they seemed to be going for an almost antique feel, with 16th Century style paintings and ornate clocks and furniture....with the other end of the spectrum being a modern enormous paint brush light installation, the huge colour splashed Manneken Pis and the strange, quite grotesque animal figures in the garden....but I guess modern art isn't really my thing. I still think they should have picked a style and stuck with it though!
The downsides that I experienced have all been commented on in previous reviews:
- the shower going from scolding hot to cold
- the room being far too hot
- the less than friendly staff who although advised us when we checked in that we should go back to the front desk once we were settled and they would make recommendations for us, when we did this we found that they gave us false information. He then clearly started to feel uncomfortable as he didn't know what he was talking about, so he just recommended that we go back to the station where they have a visitor centre and they would make recommendations....which was a bit disappointing.
In all, I was fairly happy with my stay, and find that there are normally a few niggly things that annoy me a bit whenever I stay at hotels, and I thought a first class 5* hotel would be seamless, but it wasn't.
Oh and 1 last thing, I was either completely scammed by the 5€ per night Bruges Tax or it is completely legitimate....either way it would have been nice to have been informed of this either when I booked or when I checked in, as opposed to coughing up another 20€ when checking out!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NWKentGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Pleasant suite and public rooms, comfortable bed, below average bathroom for hotel of this class. Drops 2 stars because on the middle day of our 3 day stay, (our anniversary when we had planned a light champagne lunch in the hotel), we were informed that all the hotel's public rooms were closed, to be given over to a conference for local Audi dealers. No prior notice, and a total refusal to offer compensation against the room rate for that day from inflexible management - "you had the room, why should we offer a discount?". Not really the point in a 5 star hotel in our view. Our first trip to a Kempinski, and as a result of this experience, also our last. Service levels generally way behind other luxury hotel groups. Would advise looking elsewhere.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank GeoffB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We booked a superior room only deal as part of a Eurostar trip. As a result we got a far better price than booking directly with the hotel. The hotel looks great and with lights and Xmas decorations looks like something from a fairy tale. Staff are pleasant although they could do with additional reception points to avoid queues on occasions. The room was comfortable with a large bed, nice bathroom, plenty of storage space and a safe. We had the pool, sauna and steam room to ourselves and these facilities were really enjoyable. Housekeeping was first class.
It's five minutes at most from the market square and as its just off the main road nice and quiet. Would recommend especially as part of a deal which makes it far more affordable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strolling8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I can fault this hotel in only one thing, which I'll come back to.

Location is excellent, right beside the old town - everything within easy walking distance.

Hotel is beautiful from the moment you set eyes on it, and stays that way throughout. The staff are exceptional and cannot do enough to help. The bar staff are knowledgeable and the bar is well stocked with a really interesting range of drinks. We only had breakfast in the hotel and ate out each night, but the breakfast buffet was wonderful.

The room (superior) was excellent - spacious and beautifully appointed, and the bathroom is the best we've ever had in Europe. Its' more like a Dubai standard bathroom.

Which leads me to my only criticism - the bed(s). Although very very comfortable, we had booked a superior room to get a large king sized bed as it was a special romantic weekend break. Very disappointed to find our "large double" was just 2 singles pushed together! And I mean 2 singles, fully made up as singles, just shoved together. Even a Premier Inn can provide a half decent double bed!

Room Tip: If you want a double bed, make sure you insist on one!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjg247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $181 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing