We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious accomodation - superb service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #14 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Looking for that really special stay in Bruges (Brugge) and NOT on a budget? Then this hotel is for you. We spent the weekend of 24th-25th November there and what a fantastic magical weekend it was. OK, we did book a suite (as opposed to a double room) but the cost was absolutely worth it. Everything was spotless and luxuriously appointed. They let us check in at midday (insteasd of 3.00pm) without a murmur. "Your suite is ready for you now sir" was the immediate response, rather than some jobsworth reciting 'our policy on checking in is......' etc etc.
Start with a warm friendly greeting on arrival - they will park your car in their underground garage and retrieve it if you want them to. You don't need to ask - they offer. Booking is easy; checking in is even easier. Nothing is too much trouble for them. For example, if you want some additional coffee and milk in your room, they will whizz it up to you. Running low on towels? No probelm - within minutes more are delivered with no fuss, no quibble.
If you want some pointers as to what to see or where to go, they have a detailed (free) map and will show you.
Set in what was formerly a 'castle' (hence the name Duke's Palace) the setting is really magical. Lovely garden in which to stroll; relaxing bar to sit and have a drink; a coffee; or a meal. This hotel offers absolutely everything you could wish for.
I took my wife and teenage daughter to Bruges for the weekend. OK it wasn't cheap - but then a touch of luxury never is. We had a simply marvellous time - thanks to choosing the Kempinski Hotel as our base. We didn't eat in their restuarant - there are so many restuarants in Bruges that we wanted to explore a bit and not simply stay in the hotel. They have a 'Spa' with swimming pool and a sauna etc and on arrival from England, what better way to unwind from the journey than to have a swim and a sauna? It sets you up for the rest of the weekend.
The hotel is located about three streets away (5 minutes walk) from the Market Square - where the Christmas Market is held - and this is the 'centre' of old Bruges. From here you can explore to your heart's content. If you want to do your own thing (which we did) then fine, or the hotel can arrange tours, taxis and all the usual stuff that makes being pampered a reality.

If I'm going to be picky - and if this is the only slight criticism, then they aren't doing too badly - the pepper and salt were in the wrong pots at breakfast (salt in the pepper pot and pepper in the salt cellar). Maybe this ridiculous level of nitpicking will serve to underline what a superb hotel this is and encourage you to stay there. Would I go back again? - absolutely definitely yes. Would I reccomend them? - try and stop me!

Room Tip: If you have the budget for it - try to book a suite. They are simply marvellous and really well wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,984)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,700 - 1,706 of 2,984 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

Very comfortable beds. Great that windows open to a pretty courtyard. Lovely old home of a duchess, the hotel is relatively small and quaint. I did feel the bathroom did not match the richness of the rest of the hotel. High quality amenities becoming of a Kempinski

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cstuart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Visited for a long weekend as a couple. It's fair to say that the Dukes Palace is an absolutely stunning place with tons of history. The decor is excellent and it has all of the little things you may (or may not) expect from a 5* hotel (e.g. high quality umbrellas, free water and chocolates delivered randomly to the door, interconnected sound system to multiple rooms etc).

The service when we first arrived was fine, but the lady behind the desk was quite cold in comparison to what we would expect here. We were asked if we needed help with our luggage, which I declined, but I would have preferred that the concierge insisted.

When we reached the room (a Deluxe Room), we were extremely surprised at how spacious it was. Everything was in it's place and we were really pleased. However, because of the time of year, the hotel was extremely empty and in the real world, I would have expected a complimentary upgrade. At one point, I heard there was only 8 rooms occupied in the whole hotel, so it wouldn't have hurt to boost us into a more prestigious room. Regardless, the Deluxe room is plentiful and sufficient.

As the hotel was so quiet, we were often only one of a few people in the bar area at any time, which was slightly disappointing but equally, quite refreshing on the basis we were escaping London. The female bar staff are a little cold and un-personable but efficient. However, the barman, Alexandre, is an absolute credit to the Hotel and the the world of hospitality. He made our stay extremely warm, friendly and personable. He spent time understanding what flavours we liked and coming up with cocktails to suit. He changed the ice in our champagne bucket halfway through the bottle, he brought us fresh strawberries without a request, and on the final night he volunteered to show us around some of the secret parts of the hotel. Of all the hotels I've visited in the world, Alex is one of two people who would entice me to go back to the hotel just to visit him based on his balance of persona, service, emotional intelligence and wit.

Room service was also extremely efficient, with the warm food being brought up in a mini 'keep warm' oven. Food was fresh and very nice.

The girls at check-out were extremely helpful and very warm, making up for the slightly colder check-in experience.

All in all, we will definitely return to Bruges and will only consider staying at Dukes Palace when we do so.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AaronSays_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stay at hotels approximately 100-150 days per year for both work and pleasure. This hotel is in the top 1% of hotels where we have stayed in the past couple of years. Everything from the physical property to the service to the comfort of the bed was absolutely five star quality. The location is very central (5 min walk to market square/center of town) but it is on a quite side street. The bar and lounge are well decorated but comfortable and inviting. The staff help us maximize our limited time in Bruges by pointing out the very best places to visit/eat/drink. There are a few hotels that beat this out but none at this price point. In NYC, London or Paris I would expect to pay 800 Euro per night for the standard room that we had. For a weekend trip, this is now one of our favorites.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite with the original ceiling beams near the chapel. It's incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

A fantastic, luxurios hotel in the heart of Bruges with a lovely garden and spa.
The staff was very friendly and attentive and the atmosphere was wonderful.
The room was amazing, big and very luxurios - loved it!
The only negative thing I can point out, is the breakfast, which was well over priced.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneRSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We booked two rooms two months in advance in this hotel as well as meetings, dinners etc. 2 days before our arrival, the hotel sent us an email saying that they were overbooked and could no longer accommodate us. They offered us free lunch as well as car parking as an apology, which was nice but no where near enough for us to ever book a Kempinski hotel again. You get what you pay for or not as the case is with the Kempinski! Very poor!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Dominik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel is lovely, fabulous and luxurious rooms, very friendly staff. Nice bar with prices that you would expect in a 5 star hotel, however the breakfast was well over priced which is why we chose to have it elswhere. The location is perfect very close to shops and main market square and restaurants. What really spoiled our stay was that when we checked in we were asked for a credit card as a garantee which we had no objection to. We chose before going to use my debit card to pay for our trip as our bank was not charging any oversees fees for that account. We told the staff at reception that this was a debit card they said this was fine as it was Visa. On the second day I went to withdraw some cash only to be informed at the machine that I did not have enough funds. This worried me as I thought there had been some fraudulent activity on my account so I called the bank straight away. They checked all the recent transactions on my account which I agreed to except one from the Kempinski hotel for 568 euros.I was really shocked and straight away went to the reception of the hotel. the receptionnist informed me that it was the policy of the hotel to ask for an authorisation of 100 euros per day on the top of the room rate!!!! No one informed us about this policy when we checked in which is unnacceptable. Should we had known this we would have given a credit card as a garantee and paid at the end with our debit card as any bank would set the money aside on a debit card. We had to settle any furher expenses from our stay on a credit card including petrol to return home!! The assistant manager was very appologetic, we only stayed 2 nights and the extra money taken from our account was not refunded until 2 days after our return. For that reason we will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Florence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#8 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $168 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing