We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing goes ever wrong”

Restaurant Patrick Devos
Ranked #110 of 709 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $134
Cuisines: European, French, Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Restaurant Patrick Devos is housed in a historic building in the heart of Bruges. According to earliest sources available, dating from around the year 1300, the house was a refuge of the Ghent-based Saint Peter's Abbey. Behind the beautiful late-Gothic facades one discovers authentic Art Nouveau and Art Deco salons from 1900-1935, something which is unique for Bruges. The Art Deco dining room was completely designed by the renowned Ateliers d'Art de Courtrai De Coene Freres. Adjacent to it is a breathtaking Louis XVI salon. Behind the house the intimate winter garden can be found dating from the early 1900's and laid out in an Arts and Crafts style. These treasures of the interior arts form the setting for your gastronomic experience in Bruges. The Restaurant Patrick Devos serves seasonal dishes which stand out for their inventiveness, attractive presentation and harmonic blend of tastes. An exceptional method is used to compose the menus: first the wines are selected, and then a matching dish is created for each wine. Patrick Devos thus succeeds in achieving an optimal harmony between the wine and the meal. Patrick Devos has already won two awards for his carefully developed wine cellar, primarily stocked with New World wines. In 2000 he was named Wine Ambassador of the Year.
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
101 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nothing goes ever wrong”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Luxurious restaurant, classy, chandeliers, fire place etc ........ We had a five course meal with wines included. SUPERB ! Very good service . We had only one problem, and that was finding the place ! It's situated in a small little street, but Find it, it is worth the effort.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JEPOLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    34
    17
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
201 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Too formal”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We wanted to spent our evening with dining in a very good restaurant. Due to the positieve reviews of this restaurant at several internet sites we did choose for this restaurant. When you enter the restaurant you are astonished by the beautiful interior. And the reception was formal but ok. The amuses were wonderful. But after that the feeling becomes worse. The dishes were very small and good, but the quality was not one would expect in such a top class restaurant. The service was ok but very formal. And the wine arrangement was far too expensive. So the final feeling is one of disappointment.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nc0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Part of the Bruges conspiracy....”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

...over a 3 day period we wondered if there was a plot to assassinate visitors by continually pressing delicious food on them until they expired. This attractive restaurant with its log fire within and its prettily lit garden without, was most welcoming on this January night. We chose the "3 courses with wine" menu. As we enjoyed our aperitif the smiley waitress brought us 3 mini bites which truly "amused the bouche". And then a little cup of scallop cappucino. All 3 courses were delicious, as were the wines, and our glasses were refilled as necessary. The Sweetbreads were the standout dish, cooked to perfection, and the "forgotten vegetables" (including a Brussels Sprout sponge which was a featherweight mouthful of pale green) which accompanied my Sea Bass were an event in themselves Even though the portions are not overwhelming, we were still absolutely full, so were slightly horrified to see yet more food arriving with our icy cold Oud Genever digestif and coffee - yet not horrified enough not to polish off a delectable plate of chocolate temptations. Dining outside during the warmer months must be a treat. A delight.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Did Not Stay After an Uncomfortable Experience”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Please note: We did not stay for dinner but only drinks and a small plate from the chef, so I cannot really comment on the food quality. This review is about the overall service and atmosphere of the restaurant. We were quite excited to try this restaurant on our last evening. We made an on-line reservation, which was perfect. When we arrived, we immediately loved the decor. Beautiful interior, with stained glass and tons of character. We were greeted and asked if we wanted to enjoy a cocktail before being shown to our table, which sounded nice. We were seated in the lounge area and waited for 10 minutes, with no service at all. Servers came and went, made eye contact with us, but no one ever came over. We finally got the greeter's attention and asked for the drinks menu, only to be given the dinner menu. When we tried to clarify, it became clear that she didn't understand, even though she had offered us the option of a cocktail. So we asked to just go to our table. Feeling a bit embarrassed in the small restaurant, we were shown to our table (a few feet away from the lounge), only to then have a waitress come and tell us our drink options. The whole experience was ridiculous and felt like they were trying to be very formal, but without the trained servers to support the overall approach. We ordered drinks, but we were so uncomfortable that we decided to leave afterwards. When we told them, they asked us to move back to the lounge area. They did bring us a small appetizer from the chef and it was very nice, but we were so uncomfortable that we just wanted to pay our bill and leave.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Almost trying too hard!”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Yes - amazing interior. Yes - designer food. Yes - attentive service. Yes - high prices. But not a totally relaxing experience somehow. It felt as if the staff were on their very best behaviour, which made the evening a bit stilted - and other diners seemed to feel a bit self-conscious. A pity, because the outlook into the pretty courtyard garden was lovely, and the food was interesting.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzygirlMacclesfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Patrick Devos also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Restaurant Patrick Devos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing