We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand cuisine!”

Gran Kaffee De Passage
Ranked #22 of 716 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $37
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Grand cuisine!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We went here for dinner on our first night in Brugge, and what a way to start off with some traditional Belgian cuisine, the food is delicious!

We chose this place as we had just got to Brugge and as it was recommended by lonely plant as good cheap, slightly student place serving quality food at a reasonable price it sounded like a good place to start.

The review by lonely planet doesn't give enough credit to this place, the food was the best we tasted all week in the end! And it was very reasonably priced compared to other restaurants in the city. The atmosphere inside was great, nice and relaxed. The service was excellent with the helpful waitress giving good recommendations. It was by far not a student type place, it was very well furnished giving a nice relaxed eating experience.

The dish i recommend you try is the traditional Flemish stew! Packed full of juicy meat and bursting with flavour! Enjoy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wedgey888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    264
    34
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas City, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fabulous food!!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We went on a recommendation of a local....it was a wonderful tip! All of our dishes came out quickly, steaming hot and wonderfully presented! My daughters spaghetti bolgnese was topped w a heaping of cheese, my sons ribs spanned the width of his plate, my Cobb salad was beautifully presented and the Flemish fish stew was pipping hot. All the food tasted as good as it looked. Our waitress was friendly and helpful. The ambience was nice in a dimly candle lit decorated room that reminds me of an old saloon.
I'd recommend stopping by here while in Brugge!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hulacowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Home cooking at its best!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Really nice restaurant. Unpretentious and low key. Yummy food. The ribs were amazing and the apple pancake was excellent.Too bad they didn't have mussels but despite that, it was a great, very affordable experience which I would highly recommend!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Smurfette17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Cosy and reasonable”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just away from the centre but around the corner from 't Brugs Beertje, this restaurant serves some of the best value meals in Bruges.

The restaurant is rather cosmopolitan with an art deco theme, quite dark and lit by candles which all add to the atmosphere. The menu hasn’t changed since we first went a few years back but the restaurant can get very crowded so it is best to book. The service is very relaxed and friendly.

Serves traditional Belgian food along with the obligatory ribs. The chicken and fish Waterzooi were both plentiful and hot. The waffle with cream, ice cream and chocolate sauce finished off our meal nicely. Has a limited beer menu but there is something for everyone on it.

If you looking for a cosy bar, that serves traditional Belgian food at reasonable prices, then this is the place for you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Every visit to Brugge is enhanced by a meal at the Gran Kaffee de Passage. It has not failed yet. No doubt we shall return again and again. The staff are very accomodating, helpful and polite and, fortunately, speak excellent english. Since we first arrived some time ago, I think that we have been through the whole menu and look forward to repeating it.
Thanks to all at GKP. Gower.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank saddpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gran Kaffee De Passage also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Gran Kaffee De Passage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing