We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy and reasonable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Kaffee De Passage

Gran Kaffee De Passage
Ranked #21 of 701 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $37
Cuisines: Belgian, Dutch, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Cosy and reasonable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just away from the centre but around the corner from 't Brugs Beertje, this restaurant serves some of the best value meals in Bruges.

The restaurant is rather cosmopolitan with an art deco theme, quite dark and lit by candles which all add to the atmosphere. The menu hasn’t changed since we first went a few years back but the restaurant can get very crowded so it is best to book. The service is very relaxed and friendly.

Serves traditional Belgian food along with the obligatory ribs. The chicken and fish Waterzooi were both plentiful and hot. The waffle with cream, ice cream and chocolate sauce finished off our meal nicely. Has a limited beer menu but there is something for everyone on it.

If you looking for a cosy bar, that serves traditional Belgian food at reasonable prices, then this is the place for you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    236
    34
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Every visit to Brugge is enhanced by a meal at the Gran Kaffee de Passage. It has not failed yet. No doubt we shall return again and again. The staff are very accomodating, helpful and polite and, fortunately, speak excellent english. Since we first arrived some time ago, I think that we have been through the whole menu and look forward to repeating it.
Thanks to all at GKP. Gower.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank saddpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent - well recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were in Bruges on a budget! So we asked our hotel if there was anywhere we could go that was 15-20 Euros each and they recommended this place. We checked it out on trip advisor and 10 mins later were on our way.

It's very dark inside and lit with mostly candle light and a few lights dotted around. it felt like we were in a really traditional restaurant. I ordered a traditional flemish beef stew and having read the reviews my other half went for the ribs. I then topped it off with a Belgian waffle.

The portion sizes were huge and the food came really quickly. The waiting staff were also incredibly friendly.

Our bill came to 47.50 which was for 2 large beers, 2 half beers, 2 main courses and a dessert, so we thought this was great value for Bruges!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vix_toria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“lovely little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We all had a very good mealand service, ribs were amazing and the house waffle we had for dessert was delightful, i thought it would be stogey but it was very light and the biggest waffle we had seen. Also very good value, i think max price for main was 18 euros

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

best spare ribs ever, nice atmosphere, traditional and a very good price for bruges. candle light with cozy atmosphere, very nice mussels as well, the ribs was 14.5 euro per person, bottle of white wine 21 euro..

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Valentin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gran Kaffee De Passage also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Gran Kaffee De Passage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing