We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant in Bruges!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rock Fort

Rock Fort
Ranked #74 of 707 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $109
Cuisines: French, Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Bruges!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

One of the best places to go in Bruges, def. a must!!! It also has a great bar with tappas called Bar Salon. Awesome young dynamic personel. A great food experience,
enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bartricardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    85
    16
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tremelo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food in a vibrant ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I had dinner in the Rock Fort in Bruges on a monday evening. Expecting it to be a quiet night, we found it to be fully booked, but luckily found ourselves two comfortable stools at the bar. We decided to go for the tapas menu and ordered some white wines. The cod carpaccio was extraordinary, the tempura shrimp was excellent, and the toast with smoked eel and the salmon carpaccio were succulent. The vibrant ambiance, created by mostly local people, was very pleasant.
Service was very pleasant and knowledgeable and price was albeit reasonable. We had 7 tapas and 6 glasses of wine and paid 72 euros, which in Bruges is very reasonable and by any standard, considering the quality of the food and the service, is reasonable anywhere in Belgium.
The Rock Fort operates a registered cash register, so my check/bill was valid as a VAT deductible, which in Belgium is a plus for your taxes.
Kudos for the Rock Fort!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Something different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this place by the taxi driver from the train station. We went the next day but had to book for the next night and it was well worth.
More local people use it which is always a good sign. We were made welcome and gave us an English menu.
Everything we ate was well presented and tasted fabulous.
Do book if you want to go and makes a pleasant change from the standard choices in other restaurants.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spinks14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of the nicest meals i've had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Went here based on trip advisor reviews and we were not let down. Perfect for a special occasion. Very pricey but definitly worth it. Go for the rockfort salad for desert; amazing!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Different in brugge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a restaurant in two parts a tapas bar which is very good then the main restaurant which is pretty average. good wine selection and choice I have eaten here many times but now always sit at the bar and eat from the tapas or taster menu which is good value for brugge worth a visit used a lot by the locals

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mickmac316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Fort also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Rock Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing