We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous!”
Review of De Bron

De Bron
Ranked #292 of 709 Restaurants in Bruges
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Castle Cary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This really is the best veggie restaurant I have been to. The front door wasn't closed so we walked in and then into the restaurant room where it was busy but we found a table to share. We ordered one medium and one small size plate and waited while it was prepared. We had drinks whilst waiting and when the plates arrived their presentation was absolutely splendid. It was all so fresh, cauliflower, cooked cabbage, courgette, carrot, rice, pasta and lovely herbal mix. Also lettuce, cress, some tomato and little pieces of Feta cheese. All in all a great mixture and lovely surprise! The waitress was very pleasant and the value was superb.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColboySomersetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    18
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Closed for August!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We found out about this Veggie restaurant before going to Bruges and made a special trip to it. We rang the bell like it says but nothing happened. Some locals who had done the same pointed out a sign in Flemish saying it was closed until the end of August. This seems odd in a very busy time...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MackyM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Vegan Food”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is truly the best Vegan/Veggie food you will get in Bruges. Can't understand previous comments. I just opened the door and walked in. Once inside you order your plate size and wait for the surprise.......and do they know how to put together an excellent plate of food. so many different items on one plate. The owner who is a lovely man said they don't get many English visitors. I think if they explained their menu in English in the window it might help. I will be back on my next visit to Bruges

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Riva6321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A strange experience”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

You need to press the buzzer to get in the door. This foxed us for a good while! No menu as such just small, medium and large plates. To say there is no variation in the food, they took an inordinately long time to bring the food out. I think my experience was more about my tastes than the quality of the food. The food was fresh and very healthy, I am a vegetarian, but the food was just too vegetarian for me!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh, interesting veggie food, served with a straight face.”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to previous reviews, we knew to buzz the door, and we were automatically let in. Once we infiltrated the very clean and modern inner sanctum of De Bron, we were offered a place to sit by a rather straight laced waitress who seemed a little put out that we didn't understand the Dutch menu. She explained that they serve only one main meal in small, medium or large servings. What arrived was a plate full of fresh salad (rice, lettuce, cucumber, lentils and sweetcorn, and a green sauce containing finely sliced mushrooms, and an excellent garlic mayonnaise - all cold, and chopped carrot, cauliflower and a potato croquette - all hot.) The medium plate was ample and cost 11 euros, the apple juice was thick and home made, so much so, the straw stood on end! You pay for the meal via a desk on middle of the resturant. Our table, 14, was right next to the toilet door so, without going into unnecessary detail, try and avoid this table if possible!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annddyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Bron also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to De Bron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing