We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a Fish Supper”
Review of Den Gouden Karpel

Den Gouden Karpel
Ranked #100 of 713 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Auckland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place for a Fish Supper”
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

What a great restaurant. The food is plentiful and well cooked. Fantastic oysters and lovely sea bass. The service was friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere buzzing. Definitely worth another visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Waggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    147
    25
    14
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sydneybean06
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious meal, great service”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Absolutely delicious meal - we had soup, followed by Dover Sole which was really good. The service was great - highly recommend this lovely restaurant.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sydneybean06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“excellent value for set lunch”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This fish restaurant is annexed to a fish-mongers and is located in the Fish Market. During the day they do a set lunch of soup of the day and fish of the day for 16 euros. It was excellent: a big bowl of pumpkin and tomato soup that was full of taste, followed by 3 fillets of Weever fish on a bed of vegetables. Beautifully cooked, beautifully presented. The a la carte menu looked pricey.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Delicious fish and seafood”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Simply delicious! Fresh. Tasty. Great service. Oysters, combined seafood plate, bouillabaisse with oyesters mmmmmmm.....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
215 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“The best fish stew I've ever had!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

OMG! Thi restaurant should be number 1 on the trip advisor in Brugge!! The whole experience from the start to finish was perfect. i dont think i was ever so pleased with the restaurant,staff and FOOD!! The restaurant was a lucky find during one of our walks in Brugge. one side of the restaurant is a fishmongers (very handy and almost guarantees you get fresh fish when dining) and on the other side of the building there is a lovely restaurant. We didnt book so we went there at 6.30 when they just opened and several tables were already reserved. the place quickly filled up after 7pm so either book or come early to avoid disappointment. we were greated by a very nice lady and 2 smartly dressed waiters who took our coats. The lady was also very helpfull when explaining the menu and recommending the wine ( the house white wine was beautiful! the bottle is about 25 euros but soooo worth it). After a long time trying to select our food we went for Stew of fish “Bouillabaisse" and oh my lord what a treat!! first of all the amount of fish and sea food you get with this is absoultely mental! crab claws,languistine, several thick pieces of different fish( i had 4 kinds i think), then snails, mussles and all come in a very tasty broth which was delicious. My advice is not to order a starter if you are having this dish as you will not be able to finish. We are big eaters and we just managed to finish the dish.The table is immaculately laid out and the service is very attentive but without being too pushy or intruding. they all seem to have a good sense of humour. at first you might think it's expensive but in my opinion it is not at all. the amount of fish and the quality of food you get is definitely worth it. Just to give you an idea, we paid about 90 euros for two main courses and a bottle of wine (you also get a frfee starter) Well done and thank you to all the staff in this place. they made our stay in Brugge. Thank you.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Girondoluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Den Gouden Karpel also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Den Gouden Karpel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing