We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Den Gouden Karpel

Den Gouden Karpel
Ranked #100 of 713 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Excellent meal. Not cheap but high quality steak and turbot. I stuck to beer which was fine as the wine list seemed a little overpriced.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RKandMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    147
    25
    14
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Family unfriendly”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The restaurant was 1/2 full, we tried to get a table for 4 adults and 2 kids. We were told very unpolitely there is no food for kids, they don't have space for a stroller and overall we are not welcome.

Helpful?
Thank OlivierNoun
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Angouleme, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful and delicious food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you like and enjoy food is a lovely location indoors or out then 'The Golden Carp' is a great restaurant.
The menu selection is good and the food is prepared and cooked beautifully and reasonably priced. Staff are friendly and efficient and the waiters have a great sense of humour and entertain you.
We always go to this restaurant when in Bruges.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely seafood”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a lovely dinner at Den Gouden Karpel. Allready when we entered we smelled nice food. The menu was innovative and as we were with a group of 8 we tested several dishes. Everybody was happy including the kids. Service was also good and very friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amigo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Go here for seafood. The bouillabaisse was fantastic and the Dover sole Normandy style (with shellfish in a bisque sauce) was also a highlight. Not cheap, but not over priced. Service was ok, with only 2 people serving the room, but our waiter was very nice and really funny.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Den Gouden Karpel also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Den Gouden Karpel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing