We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beer & Food”
Review of Den Dyver

Den Dyver
Ranked #233 of 710 Restaurants in Bruges
Price range: $22 - $56
Cuisines: Belgian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beer & Food”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

You always hear about 4-5 course meals with matching wines but for the beer lovers, this is a nice alternative.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CaptainMcHolicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    108
    44
    22
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun pairing beer”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Enjoyed the experience pairing food and beer (beyond the usual pizza and beer). It was Sunday night and very quiet. We had walked by on Saturday night and the place was really hoping.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MLH-AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good indeed”
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Great service and great food. An up market place good for a special occasion where you dine in hushed tones! We had the steak and the salt encrusted fish. Both were excellent. We would go back again!

Helpful?
Thank Chickoo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique experience for special evening”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Had dinner with my wife yesterday and had a great evening! It is a unique experience and really liked the 3 course menu (eur 55) and the beer selection you can get to go with it.

Very especial, although not cheap as you can imagine.

Really liked the back garden for those warm summer evenings.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Arrogant and expensive but the food poisoning was free!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have eaten at this restaurant 4 or 5 times over the last few years. Previously it was good but on our last visit both myself and my wife suffered food poisoning which could have only come from this restaurant. As a bowel cancer sufferer this was particularly dangerous for me.

We ate the pork for starters, pike-perch main course and blueberry for deserts together with the complimentary courses, on the wine menu.

We are medically qualified and know how to diagnose food poisoning as well as how to treat it and how to identify the source.

We notified the restaurant by email immediately we took ill asking them to look into the matter, not least to safeguard other customers, and to consider a refund of the 164.50 Euro bill.

To my astonishment they never replied initially. I only got a response once I chased it up with them. Their eventual response was so arrogant that we could barely believe it! No concern for us, no apology but a very simple brick wall saying that this could not have possibly happened at their restaurant!

They even maintained this position when we asked them to reconsider matters.

We have eaten at top restaurants all over the world. We are not the sort of people who complain lightly and only once before have we experienced food poisoning and the restaurant concerned then behaved totally responsibly - unlike Den Dyver whose behaviour was totally irresponsible showing no concern either for us or the potential risk to other customers whatsoever.

Eat there at your peril.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Den Dyver also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Den Dyver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing