We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful informal dining”
Review of Chez Olivier - CLOSED

Chez Olivier
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful informal dining”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This small restaurant by the canal has a pleasant intimate ambience, excellent service & most importantly, wonderful food. We visited on a Saturday evening in October (when they only serve their menu option at 63 Euros but were informed that alternatives are available if required) and enjoyed cooking of the highest order. There are just 2 people involved - Olivier is the chef and Ann efficiently does everything else - who provide some the finest tastes we have ever experienced. This is really great cooking. We could eat here often!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow, this restaurant is spectacular!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This restaurant is amazing!!! I diner there with my partner and we were both thrilled with the service (thank you Ann ) and also with the quality of food and presentation of same. The restaurant is quite intimate and relaxing with no air of stiffness. I'd be very surprised if this restaurant hasn't received a Michelin Star by this time next year!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best food ever”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Best food ever! A bit expensive, but totally worth it! Service was great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate-Colonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chez amazing....”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We visited this restaurant due to a recommendation in the Eurostar magazine. Well we were not disappointed! A charming restaurant, in a beautiful location and well appointed to central Bruge. The simple set menu was the best of traditional French cuisine. Every dish was beautifully presented and the wines chosen to match were exquisite. This is certainly one of the best meals we had eaten in a very long. It's worth visiting Bruge just to eat in this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Quality”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Although my wife and myself have been visiting Bruges on and off for the past 14 years, we only tried this restaurant for the first time last year. Having done
so we had to return this year. It is a small intimate restaurant with friendly,
unobtrusive service.
Last year I had the best steak I have ever eaten, so it had to be the same again. My wife also decided to have one too,and both were excellent. It is no-fuss presentation with a smattering of simple vegetables and sauce.
I had started with Carpaccio de St Jacques - melt in the mouth stuff - delicious. My spouse decided to pass on a starter. For dessert both of us went for the creme brulee and it was simple (not even a sprig of mint) yet delicious.
There is a limited menu, which might not suit some, and it may seem pricey for what you get, but you can't deny the quality of it all. We'll be back!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rapton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Olivier also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing