We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food...excellent beer”
Review of 't Zwart Huis

't Zwart Huis
Reserve with
't Zwart Huis is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 713 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurant with Jazz, blues & soul music,friendly service and good vibes and food. The kitchen is open from 11.30Am till 11.30 Pm. Live music every 2 weeks on Sundays. Welcome, Yannic
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food...excellent beer”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Recommended to us by our B&B, this was a great little find. Great blues and jazz playing the background with great ambiance.
The food was excellent and the beer choices were quality. Not quantity. But there is something for everyone and some special brews too.
We'll definitely return. Reservations recommended on weekends for sure.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank uberjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    682
    388
    85
    32
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the black house”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

was recommended this by a local, great food, great atmosphere and great Jazz and Blues, worth taking the time to find this little Gem

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathrine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant in old building, great food and reasonable for Bruges!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This restaurant was recommended in an old guide book and by our hotel, so it's obviously been popular for a while. You do need to book though, we arrived at around 7 pm and were lucky to have a table for 2. Bruges isn't cheap but this is very reasonable for Bruges. Two beers, bottle of wine and two main courses and a shared dessert came to around 67 euros which is one of the cheapest meals we had. Food was really good especially the chocolate mousse which was to die for! We had steak and thai red curry - both great, curry a little spicy but it's always to a personal taste isn't it.

The restaurant room is lovely, slightly dark with beautiful big lights, the play jazz music and have artists performing on the weekend.

I have read on other reviews about poor service and I did observe that waiters and waitresses do not seem to have set tables so they interchange but actually they were very attentive to us and I'd rather that than wait for someone to serve us. Service was actually very good - we were offered an option of waiting half an hour for our food which we took up so we could enjoy our drinks.

I would absolutely come back here again.

Remember if you're on holiday just go with it and enjoy the atmosphere, food, beer and people.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rachelyabsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We found this place by accident and had a few drinks there. The atmosphere was good and the service friendly so we decided to eat there the following night. Good choice of food and drinks and all the waiting staff were friendly and attentive. The steaks are simply amazing and the Rocquefort sauce is to die for. Everyone enjoyed their meals so much that we went back the following night. Highly recommended

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alanyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
186 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A little overrated”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We booked a table to have a nice dinner on our last night in Brugge in 't Zwart Huis. When we arrived we were sat in a raw of tables literally glued together, we were not given choice of another place to seat. We were told that there will be live band playing and asked if we will be staying for that otherwise that there will be a charge of €5 after 9pm.
We really did not understand that. Anyway, seated like a sardines in a crushed tin we ordered drinks and food. We were served with bread roll, a tea spoon of meat pate between the two of us and sliced gherkins in a jar - I think this was a welcoming gesture... When I asked if we could have more of that pate I was simply told 'no, one per couple'...
My main was to be Flemish fish stew with potatoes (Waterzooi vis at €18.50) and my husband ordered Irish rib eye steak (at €21.90 and €2 for bearnaise). We waited for ages for the food to arrive, must have been due to the fact that the place was really packed. It eventually arrived and we did enjoy it. We were going to have a dessert too but the waitress never arrived back to us with the menu so we gave up on waiting and decided to leave.
We were finishing our drink when the band started playing (20 min late), and they played cool so we thought we could stay for another drink. And now we were told that if we want to stay we had to pay that extra €5 each. Why? On the top of what we were already going to spend? That was it. We left. Total bill came to €59.90 for food and beers. Been there, done it, will not be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shabtique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliblues_10, Owner at 't Zwart Huis, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for comming to our restaurant. As you know the evening you came i was full booked and we manege to get you a table. we also told you there was live music on that evening and there was a fee for the band. the musicians are one of the best from belgium ( very well know from television )
so i think for 5€ it's a bargin! I am sorry you had to wait for your food I tryed to tell people it would take longer then normal, i missed your table, sorry! As it was so full of people and everybody came at the same time the kitchen had to manny orders in one time.
best regards Yannic van Meckeren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 't Zwart Huis also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to 't Zwart Huis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing