We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good food,nice room ,pleasant staff very slow service”
Review of Kok au Vin

Kok au Vin
Ranked #45 of 723 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $88
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
dublin
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“very good food,nice room ,pleasant staff very slow service”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Three of us had dinner on a busy night in a full restaurant ,at the beginning the service was very good but there was a long timespan between starters and mains and it was very difficult to get the attention of any of the serving staff, The food was good but pricey enough at 50 eu a head

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackmc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    128
    16
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Imaginative”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had the set menu including wine, which proved to be very good value. The food is creative with interesting combinations in the dishes. Mussel soup, pate, plaice and duck were our choices and it was followed by a selection of desserts. The gently curried sponge with rice pudding and pineapple sorbet still stands out in its unusualness! A well-matched wine selection was provided, with an interesting Xinomavro, which I'll have to try to track down again! Definitely recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blueyedpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very, very good.”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Thankfully we'd booked. It was a Tuesday evening in mid-October but the place was buzzing. Some tables are a little close together, but the atmosphere is good. All the food was excellent and special mention has to be made of the mussel soup, coq au vin and a magnificent dish-of-the-day piece of skate. The Trio of Desserts is wonderful - you cannot help but smile as you taste the various flavours. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RooViper2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“French food in Bruges, quite yummy!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We went here on recommendations from our B&B hosts. The food was lovely, starting with generous gratis appetizers. The service was warm and welcoming and we loved sensing that the table was ours for the evening. We are returning to Bruges for a few more days at the end of our trip and will likely return to the Kok au Vin for another meal.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Runnervet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“FAB Food”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This little place, off the tourist routes lived up to the reviews. The service and food was excellent. Quality produce and professional service. A real treat.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kok au Vin also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Kok au Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing