We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food”
Review of Kok au Vin

Kok au Vin
Ranked #35 of 723 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $88
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Everything that we ate at Kok au Vin was very good. It is an expensive place but it is worth every euro! The food as well presented and was very tasty. We really enjoy going there.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank RaquelGouveia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    128
    16
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A Good Standard Of Food And Service”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Kok au Vin Restaurant wasn't far from our Navarra Hotel and on the way out of town so it's quieter than the Markt Square area - a ten minute walk away. It’s a modern dining room efficiently run by two young men handling Front of House and another two at the really busy end in the half open kitchen towards the rear. The restaurant quickly filled up but the service remained faultless and the food quality and presentation were very good indeed. My shrimp croquettes to start, followed by pasta with riz de veau, chicken and mushrooms and finally a crème brulee were excellent. My wife had very good Scottish salmon, then a fine sea bream with asparagus. The rest of the menu also looked interesting. It was a very good birthday meal experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jclimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The elusive cock au vin”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

After having this night booked for a couple of weeks we were very much looking forward to our trip to kok au vin but what a mistake we made.We had heard so much about their signature dish that we could not wait to try it only to be told that they had run out. Adding to the disapointment of the whole evening the tables were too cramped together and wine was just poured into glasses without asking us to try it and the pasta in the starter dish was overcooked.For the prices they are charging their are far more superior restaurants than this one for the equivalent price.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Archie3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well Worth A Visit”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This restaurant was superb, friendly helpful service and the most delightful food. We were away for my birthday therefore our B&B recommended and booked it for us. I would have no hesitation in recommending it. They were busy so would recommend booking in advance its a little off the beaten track but near the centre.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KateJ40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Wonderful find - superb food and a great price”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This 'bistro' is off the beaten track but was full on the Saturday night we visited. There were 6 of us for a birthday meal and they looked after us wonderfully despite being busy. They didn't have menus in English but were so helpful in filling in the gaps with our French. The goats cheese ravioli was to die for. The coq au vin was 'better than yours Sarah' - which believe me is not easy!. The pasta was the best pasta dish I have ever seen and tasted. My fish dish had foam, jus etc. etc. It was Michelin food with decent sized portions and tasted sublime! We had a couple of desserts which didn't last long they tasted so good! About a 10 minute walk from the centre I would have NO hesitation in recommending this restaurant. We paid €50 per person for 2/3 courses including wine and some coffees. Make sure you book!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kok au Vin also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Kok au Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing