We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best stoverij we had!”
Review of Bistro De schilder

Bistro De schilder
Ranked #176 of 832 Restaurants in Bruges
Price range: $4 - $39
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome The place in Bruges centre to eat good at an honest price
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A lovely warm fire, excellent beer and local cooking that is not to be missed. And the waffles were very good too.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank CrinklyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (690)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 690 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2019 via mobile

The setting was nice and everything seemed to be going well. We ordered two meals which came with chips but only received one small portion. This was queried with the waiter only to be advised that it was a portion for two. After finishing our meal I got up and noticed the portions other couples were getting. At least three or four times the size. The restaurant advised that the waiter was new but it was a bit late. We had finished our meal.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank P3167AGbarrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2019 via mobile

Having last dined here about five years ago and then enjoying our meals and ambiance greatly, this was one of the most disappointing meals I’ve had in Bruges for a long time.

The ambiance was poor, the food even worse. Poor and lukewarm shrimp croquette to start. Okay rump of beef with mediocre frites for mains and okay dame Blanche for dessert.

Wife’s half roasted chicken was dry, cooked some time beforehand and far below what I’d eat if cooking at home. As this restaurant is well away from the main square I thought it would be half good. If you like tasteless food you’ll love the place. If on the other hand you appreciate well cooked Belgium cuisine with top quality ingredients then go elsewhere. My advice. AVOID.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank 969jonathand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2019

We stayed at the Biskajer hotel just around the corner ( which was also fabulous) we ate at the Bistro de Schilder both nights we were in town. Billy and his team provided great food ( good varied menu ) and relaxed but good service
Heartily recommend both in this beautiful place.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank AUSFRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2019

We ducked into this bistro just as the sky opened up with rain. We escaped the rain and found ourselves in the best possible place for dinner! The family atmosphere reminds one of a French country cafe. A small and attentive staff and d outstanding food that is honest and not over prepared.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Donald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro De schilder also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Bistro De schilder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing